We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Coronado, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
211 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We, too, were recommended this hotel by Vamos. The grounds were lovely & the staff friendly. One of the reasons that I only gave 3 stars is because the room is just OK. There are 2 bath towels but no hand towels & no bath mat. Also, only one glass & one cup for the in room coffee. This is minor but would be easy to fix. Also, I agree with a previous reviewer about the lack of a mattress pad. We also felt that it is one of the noisiest places we have ever stayed. We were in #5 which is by the pool & guests were partying when we wanted to sleep. Traffic noise started up with a vengeance at 5am so no wake-up call was needed.
However, on the good side, we really enjoyed sitting outside & enjoying the lights of the city. It is a short walk to little shops. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent & we thought breakfast was, also. Beer & wine & cheeses were available at reasonable prices at the deli attached to the hotel.
As we travel frequently to San Jose we will give this hotel another try. We will ask for a room away from the street & hopefully they will upgrade the linens. Oh & I forgot to compliment the speed of the WiFi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltspringsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia A, Propietario at La Riviera, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas tardes,

Quiero agradecerle por los comentarios hechos, los vamos a tomar mucho en cuenta.
Silvia Arias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    56
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
64
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very clean rooms/lobby/pool. Super friendly staff, especially sweet Judy in the restaurant. Within 15 minute drive to everywhere we needed to be (Hope Center at Pava, Open House church at the Intercontinental Hotel. My first trip to Costa Rica. I can't speak toward pricing, as my cost for the hotel was included in a package deal. But I know you can get an online quote. (Air, hotel and all meals was $1000 for 5 nights)

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size. 2 of us had a huge room with a patio, king bed and twin bed. I was in a fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheenasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia A, Gerente at La Riviera, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias, esperamos que su visita en nuestro país haya sido de su agrado y ojala regrese pronto!
Los estaremos esperando con los brazos abiertos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This property has been transformed in last 2 years a beautiful restaurant, bar and outdoor terrace. The breakfast bar w caramelizd plaintains was to die for.. Juan Jimenez was over and above a great waiter and concierge!! Maria in reception was so accommodating ... Only thing I did not like was bed linens ... No mattress pad and old pillows... Pool was nice ..would stay here again !! 10 min to airport and they have a shuttle

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YonnaCromeensMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia A, Gerente at La Riviera, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por sus comentarios, es un placer servirles y sobre todo que se vayan satisfechos del Hotel. Los esperamos pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for a night before leaving San Jose. The guy Max in the Vamos4x4.com car rental company recommended this place. It is about 10 minutes to the airport and the hotel offers free airport transfer.

What impressed me with this hotel was that we couldn’t make it to the breakfast because we had to leave the hotel at 6am. We asked if they could pack us some food to go and they did. We had a little sandwich and an apple to go. Good enough!

The hotel has a swimming pool, and a little marketplace next door where you can have dinner or coffee. You can also walk 15 minutes to the nearby shopping center where you’ll find restaurants, food court, pharmacy, and supermarket. The guy at the front desk was very helpful and would not hesitate to show us how to get around. He said ‘It is very safe to walk here at night, just watch for potholes.’ :-)

I like the decors in this hotel from common area to the room. I wanted to say 'Balinese style' but I think it is a true Tico style. The hotel has a little library like room with books and computer. It also has an outdoor seating area. Room is good size, with clean towels, and nice hot shower. WiFi is working in all areas.

We’ll not hesitate to stay with them again in the future.

By the way, we like Vamos4x4 as well.

P/S Pictures are a big dark because I took it at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank codebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia A, Gerente at La Riviera, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias, es un honor para nosotros saber que nuestros clientes hayan cumplido sus expectativas del lugar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very friendly staff. The bar and resturant was nice as well. The rooms were clean. I would stay again for sure...very good price as well. I enjoyed sitting at the bar and relaxing. The breakfast in the morning is very good. The airport shuttle was right on time and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Short trip to San Jose, combined business and friends gathering for MBA class reunion. La Riviera is very close to the International Airport and offers free shuttle service to an from, 10 min - 15 mins to travel. I was able to quickly access a taxi to attend a meeting in Multiplaza, for around US$ 15 and coming back was also easy an not expensive. The hotel is small an cozy, rooms are confortable, my room was close to the pool and terrace and it was fine (ground floor). The plants all around provide a great setting its fresh and green. Staff were warm and helpful ready to resolve any request. The restaurant and Deli at one side of the hotel provided a great social area to meet and greet friends for breakfast or drinks. The wine bar upstairs has a private dine and wine area within the wine cellar. This area upstairs has a great view. I highly recommend it for any type of trip.

Room Tip: Its a small hotel, so most rooms are surrounding the pool, either ground floor or 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtangulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel over 30 times and sent all of my family and friends here as well. It is comfortable and safe, has beautiful grounds and a stunning view! The best part of this place is the staff, they are always warm and helpful!

Free airport shuttle and an amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.0 mi away
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel...
#4 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
1,692 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Riviera

Property: La Riviera
Address: Autopista General Canas to San Jose | 2 Km Oeste Del Hotel Marriott, Del Cementerio de Belen 100 Mts Al Sur, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast, shuttle to the airport and WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Riviera Hotel San Antonio De Belen
La Riviera Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing