We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay in a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay in a lovely hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed for two nights at the Marriott on our arrival in Costa Rica. A lovely hotel with a relaxing hacienda feeling. The food was good, the staff friendly and helpful, our room was spacious and clean with a table and two chairs outside. There was excellent romantic latin american live music in the bar in the evening. It was a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero20091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    497
    111
    54
    29
See reviews for
432
541
73
423
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

This was our third wonderful experience at this beautiful Marriott. We stayed at this hotel
in January and May in 2009 while in Costa Rica to research apartments to rent when we
made our final move here, which we did in June of 2009. We have just entertained our
very good friends here on their first ever visit to Costa Rica. We spent the first three
nights in the Central Pacific and the last two nights of their stay at this gorgeous Marriott
San Jose. We were so anxious to show them this property, where we ourselves are
still so impressed not only with the service and the fine restaurants and the beautiful pool area but most of all, the magnificent "hacienda style" incorporated into every
area of this beautiful hotel, the lobby, the restaurants, the conference rooms, the
rooms and baths - everything is reminescent of staying in an old but elegant hacienda
or monestary like setting in Central America. Not to mention the candles and I myself
am a bit of a "candle freak" so I am in heaven when I walk through the Marriott at dusk
and all through the rest of the evening with these magnificent candles everywhere!

The staff is wonderful and I would just like to make mention of a few. First of all,
Luis Antonio, the waiter that we had the pleasure of experiencing when we dined in
the Tapas Restaurant, Maria Isabella. The food was delicious, and the service out-
standing, thanks to our wonderful waiter, Luis Antonio.

Two gals who service the Cafe were also wonderful and regrettably I failed to make
note of their names but they deserve credit not only for their wonderful food items and
service but for their friendly attention to each and every guest.

Our friends were very impressed with your wonderful hotel, the beauty of it as well
as the wonderful staff and as for us, this was visit No. 3 but I guarantee it will not be
our last.

Sincerely

Roz Stanco-Litt and Sam Litt

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning and the end of a two week vacation to Costa Rica. It is close to the airport so I selected it purely for convenience but it was a wonderful surprise.

First, it doesn't feel like a typical North American Marriott at all. While there are banquet/meeting facilities in one area, it definitely feels like a resort-type property.

Second, while it is very close to the airport (less than 10 km), I didn't hear a single plane nor any noise from the highway (about 1 km away).

The (older) core of the hotel feels like it was built as a monastery rather than a hotel. Two large wings of rooms on either side of this courtyard have been added much more recently. Of the two wings, the west (pool) side is newer, has larger rooms - be sure to as for a room facing south overlooking the pool (even numbered rooms) on the 6th floor is best.

The concierge lounge is on the 4th floor and is very nicely done. There is a good variety of food both at the evening cocktail and in the morning. I prefer an honour bar over waiting for the server - especially as they move in Costa Rican time.

The pool and grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

The best is the large open veranda on the 3rd floor (lobby level). Every night, we were down here after sunset.

This hotel is not close to the attractions of San Jose. It is a difficult and slow drive into the center of the city. This didn't bother me at all but some might expect it to be more centrally located.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterScott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

This is a beautiful property in a quiet location. It was worth the stay. Everything from the grounds to the rooms to the staff was wonderful. Don't miss the gift shop--great items that would rival prices anywhere.
If you have a car, go to the concierge and get directions to Zoo Ave. (not the zoo itself).
This is a wonderful wildlife preserve with pretty and lush walkways and amazing animals.
We had no children on our trip and enjoyed Zoo Ave immensly.
We stayed at this Marriot twice during our visit to Costa Rica, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank July4di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Quick synopsis:
Valet - very courteous and helpful
Check in - long line with only one front desk rep but after the wait everything went very smoothly
Room - very nice, huge bed, great balcony overlooking surrounding mountains and tons of pillows on the bed!
Internet - I can't remember what the total charge was but it was $10 or $15 for 24 hours of internet and they would not budge on the fact that we checked in at 7 pm and were leaving at 7 am the next morning. Very disappointing, you would think I could get a one hour pass or something.
Restaurants - great food, great setting, fantastic patio on the main floor (same as lobby). It was overlooking the pool and garden area. Sadly the server we had was clearly not trained to be a server (I have worked in restaurant business for years) and she was overloaded with only a few tables. Waited 15 mins for a martini, dinner was nearly 30 mins after we ordered, she consistently walked by us without asking if we needed anything, couldn't find her for 20 mins for our check.
Grounds - the hotel has a very grand entrance and a nice courtyard looking over the below floors. Although it was dark during our entire stay, you could tell that the garden and pool areas were very well kept and beautiful.

This hotel is particularly helpful if you are flying out the next day, it is very near the airport but be careful with directions to the airport, it took me an hour to make it 10 mins down the road because of the lack of turn around points on the nearby highway and the lack of signs to the airport itself.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RipleysBeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

This was my 4th time to stay at the Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose and I would highly recommend it. It's VERY conveniently located to the airport. The hotel is in the middle of an old coffee plantation and is built to look and feel like an old Spanish hacienda. Be sure you ask the front desk for the "Take a Look Around" brochure they have--it highlights all of the interesting antiques around the hotel that you might otherwise miss--plus there's a bit of history about each antique. The concierge lounge is on the 4th floor with a beautiful view of the pool. The spa is wonderful--has only been opened about a year or so. You can pay your departure tax at the hotel (with a $5 service charge)--it's a great way to beat the sometimes long lines at the airport. The staff all seem very eager to please the guests. I would definitely recommend this hotel and this is the only place I'll stay everytime I'm in San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTay-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Loved the location with the excellent spa service (the tierra journey was like a reverie). The Isabela Tapas and Wine offered an exquisite list of tapas, wonderful experience after the spa.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crispark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,353 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing