We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Fake-O American Glitzy for Me and Far from the ACTION” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
san francisco
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Too Fake-O American Glitzy for Me and Far from the ACTION”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

When I recently traveled to Costa Rica I wanted to be IN Costa Rica - well you definitely aren't going to get that at the Marriott - you are like at the Airport..far from town ( a long taxi ride though taxies were easy to come by) -- and you are surrounded by rich americans -- which is fine, i don't mind them with their fake tans and fur coats and "i'm so much better than you" attitutdes, but on a vacation is the LAST thing I want to be around. Why travel to this amazing place just to sit in a big fancy hotel far from what makes costa rica so amazing.
I checked out and stayed at the De Oro hotel which is the BEST in san jose. and you are right int he middle of the city which is after all why I went to costa rica.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    473
    107
    51
    29
See reviews for
401
518
70
391
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

This is the most amazing Marriott I have ever stayed in. My husband and I chose the hotel as a starting point for our trip to Arenal...one night at the beginning of the trip and one at the end. It had a free airport shuttle which I liked. The shuttle driver was right there to greet us and was a wonderful ambassador to the hotel. He put us in a cab (for free) because the shuttle driver was on lunch break. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by 4 concierge. 2 of whom unloaded our luggage, 1 who opened our cab door and one who greeted us "Welcome Mr. and Mrs. Antony. We've been expecting you." He had our room keys all ready in his hand! We were treated with so much care. The room was stunning...first floor with a stone stairway to the pool area. I have never seen such beautiful architecture mixing the outside with the inside. Everything is very open and gentle breezes filled every place in the hotel. The dinner was one of the best of my stay in Costa Rica. Try the sugar cane skewered shrimp! We danced in the courtyard under the stars to the music from the piano on the 2nd level. The infinity pool was beautiful and clean as was the jacuzzi which is located by the spa in amongst the trees...very romantic. The staff was always helpful and attentive. I also loved the wood. Everything was made of solid wood. It was the most beautiful decor. You will love this hotel...my only regret was not staying longer!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank HollyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

My fiance and I LOVED THIS PLACE!! It is truly luxurious...we had just gotten done with an 8 day trip to various parts of Costa Rica w/o TV, phone, etc and this was just the place to relax and unwind before having to go back to the U.S. Upon our arrival, the service was impeccable and it was probably the best service I have ever had anywhere in the world. The rooms were large, modern and the beds were so comfortable...turn down service every night and great bathrooms.

The only thing were the kids from the local club/gym who were running around the pool and being very obnoxious. I could have done w/o that.

Other than that, we totally loved this place. The restaurant has an excellent breakfast buffet and my fiance loved the choice in various ceviche offered. We also felt very secure as there were security posted toward the exterior portions of the grounds. Wonderful place to walk around.

The hacienda style architecture is so appealing that we thought this would be a perfect place for a wedding. bottom line, stay here if you want luxury and amenities in San Jose.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank happymama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Costa Rica Marriott for two nights in March, 2006 for a total of $686 including all meals, taxes, service charges, etc. The hotel is very attractive and the grounds are lovely. The pool area was especially appealing and a very pleasant area to just sit and relax or read a book. However, the public areas and the rooms are ordinary with somewhat spartan furnishings. I realize the Marriott is meant to resemble a Spanish hacienda but I would think even the Spanish dons lived in plushier surroundings. The most attractive feature was being able to sit on the veranda of the Villa Hermosa Restaurant for breakfast or in the Castilla Bar for a late afternoon drink, both very open and airy areas, and enjoy the ever-present sunshine, the ever-present breeze and the ever-present wonderful climate (about 75F with no humidity) while gazing at the lush tropical vegetation. The full buffet breakfast in the Villa Hermosa was very good (about $14), dinner in the Villa Hermosa not so good (about $50 for two), dinner in La Isabella was much better (about $100 for two) where we were entertained by three female Flamenco dancers and two guitar players on a Friday night. The hotel is off by itself and nothing is within walking distance. Even if there was, there are no sidewalks and almost all of the homes in the surrounding area are guarded by sturdy fences. A taxi ride to the main shopping mall (Multiplex), which is across from the Intercontinental Hotel, cost $12. All in all a very pleasant stay at the Costa Rica Marriott. And that wonderful climate.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dianders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2006

We stayed here the day we arrived in CR. It was less than a mile from the Dollar Rent A Car, so it was incredibly convenient once we rented a car to find the hotel. We are loyal Marriott customers for business and pleasure, and have stayed at a full assortment of Marriotts in the U.S.. This definately rates as high as any other we have stayed in. The property is gorgeous, and our view from our balcony was beautiful... of the mountains and golf course. The pool is a two level vanishing pool. We wish we had stayed our last day to enjoy it! We ate at the Tapas restaurant, and the food was good. The bar area is great for hanging out at night with lots of comfy chairs and couches. We drove from the Marriott to Poas Volcano area the next day, in less than one hour. The concierge at the Marriott was very helpful in making arrangements for the continuation of our trip to the Osa. She arranged a driver to and from the Nature Air terminal (a 45 minute drive). We left our extra luggage from the first part of our trip at the Marriott due to the weight limit on Nature Air. We stopped back by the Marriott before our flight back to the U.S. for a few hours, and enjoyed their outstanding Sunday brunch. The Marriott was a really nice way to transition into and out of the trip.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank OBXBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2006

As far as big box hotels go this one is a gem. Absolutely not your usual Marriott Hotel. Lovely setting, great pool and very attentive staff. The food was better than average and priced reasonably. It is a good stopover if your flight gets in late in the afternoon and you don't want to attempt the potholes in the Costa Rican roads at night. It is right around the corner from the AVIS Car Rental Facility. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tvkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, mo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2006

This is a beautiful hotel, Spanish colonial style. Very convenient to the airport, with a free shuttle. Great place to stay the night before flying home. The service and restaurant La Isabella were also excellent. The people in the salon went out of their way to schedule manicures. The spa is small but very nice.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank litotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing