We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My friend and I enjoyed a pleasant one-night stay here at the end of our trip to Costa Rica. The location was safe and very convenient as it was a short drive to and from both the international airport and Pavas airport. The lobby was stunning. We were able to check in early when we arrived about noon. The room was pretty and comfortable, but it had a bit of an odor. The pool was nice. We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast here; the food was good, but the service was very slow and the help was rather apathetic. The front desk staff and the concierge were very friendly. We found it convenient to be able to pay our departure tax at the front desk. It may seem trivial to some, but our favorite part of the hotel was the gift shop. Perhaps the two of us were having withdrawals from shopping after an incredible ten days of outdoor beauty, adventures, and nature in Costa Rica. But, we really appreciated the large gift shop on the premises which sold Café Britt coffees, candies and other nice souvenirs.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2009

Very pretty resort. It's away from downtown so you'd have to take a cab or car to see San Jose's sites. Rooms were in line with what you would expect from a Marriott. Our room was a little musty but otherwise we enjoyed our stay. The ham and cheese empanda's from the cafe were awesome. The rep at the tour desk was very helpful and friendly. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The food was good at the restaurant and the view was amazing. The local steak in Costa Rica is tougher than in the US, so be advised.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Architecturally - this is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen. By night, the hotel has a magical quality and the spanish restaurant downstairs is especially charming. Enjoyed the 2 classical guitarists that played and our meal was not bad. The pool was nice, a little small. Overall a nice stay, things were a bit pricey, staff was nice (not amazing). If I had to stay in San Jose again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamPacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott for two nights just prior to leaving Costa Rica. The front desk was most helpful even arranging connecting rooms for my sister and myself. After a week of enjoying Costa Rica's sights, it was very relaxing to spend the day at the pool enjoying the beautiful grounds. However, the best part of the stay was the collagen facial from the hotel spa. I have never had a more relaxing facial. It was the perfect way to end a wonderful vacation. We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Excellent property located 20 mins from San Jose. The location is close to the airport and secluded enough for a getaway. The rooms are nice. I stayed here twice, once in an avg room and the next time in a Master Suite. Both rooms were really nice. The beds are comfortable and the baths are some of the best i've seen and I travel quite a bit. While I only used the TV while getting dressed, the channel selection was very good. The pool and hot tub was excellent. The views from the rooms were amazing overlooking the pool, or golf couse and the rolling hills. Breakfast can be very expensive and even drinks are pricey. Free Wifi in the restaurant with purchase of a drink otherwise the internet is $15 USD. The concierge is very helpful and I recommend Kianti's about 3 miles away. The food is amazing and affordable. Currency exchange here is fair and paying the departure tax is a lot easier here than at SJO.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IamPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed with wife and 11 year old son here, prior to leaving for more adventurous ports of call in Costa Rica. The hotel itself is not in a main area, but that's probably a plus for San Jose, which is not known as the world's safest city. The Spanish colonial architecture was very well done, and the place was cozy and cute, and the staff made us feel comfortable. We ate at the Spanish Tapas restaurant for dinner, which was superb. A totally positive experience!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodmaster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

OK...some of these reviews are correct. The pool IS cold. This is NOT in an optimal location. However, it is not a bad place. I would say this is perfect for somebody that is doing many excursions or a pre-flight destination.

The property is nice. The rooms are slightly aged, but most hotels are. I will say that we used Marriott points for this, but I am a seasoned traveler. I would say this is a decent value. The grounds are nice. The service is strong. They really try hard.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnwalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,399 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,004 reviews
15 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,308 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $167 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover striking architecture and impeccable accommodations at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose. Our luxury hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica offers a magical backdrop for a leisurely or adventurous stay. One of the best hotels in Central America, as rated by Condé Nast, our hacienda resort sits nestled within a 30-acre coffee plantation and offers views of the mountains or the San Jose skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing