We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Nearby Hotels
$86
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
City Express San Jose Costa Rica(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
$73
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Obelisco(San Antonio De Belen)
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (1,946)
Filter reviews
1,946 results
Traveler rating
1,191
539
124
58
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,191
539
124
58
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee plantationdriving rangebeautiful hotelthe executive loungecosta ricasan joseclose to the airportperuvian restaurantla isabelabeautiful groundsgift shoptennis courtssports barhacienda stylegolf coursemain restaurantindustrial area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
875 - 880 of 1,946 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a large beautiful property! The location is difficult to find and you do NOT expect the beauty hiding in this industrial area.
The staff is typical Costa Rica Marriott....amazing! The rooms are large and very attractive. Our room had a view of the driving range and walk path. The only drawback was the odor...hint of mildew, all too common in a tropical climate.
This was a ladies trip and we visited the spa for services. The staff was professional and the service impeccable. Beautiful ladies lounge with all the amenities. Gorgeous waiting area full of refreshments. Absolutely the best care given to each service!
We ate all meals in the hotel and we're very impressed. The bartender was very attentive and eager to please.
Finally, the gift shop...incredible selection, found the perfect gifts to take back to the states!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimberlyt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
César S, Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Kimberly:

It is very comforting to learn how much you did enjoyed our Spa, and that you have experienced a touch of our T.L.C., when you get to our property, in your register card there is a message that says “All About Me”. It is truly our main goal to make you feel special and to thank you for choosing San José Costa Rica Marriott for your stay.

Also, it is very important for us all your comments to help us address any issue that may concern you. We will take immediate attention to your suggestions, so hopefully on your upcoming visit we will be able to meet all your expectations and make of your stay a very pleasant experience.


César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We always enjoy our stay, this hotel is close to the airport, grounds are well taken care of has beautiful heated pools, lovely spa, two restaurants and two bars. Rooms are pretty basic but are very comfortable. The hotel staff does a excellent job and are so very friendly, they are most helpful and will do and provide you with any assistance. Love returning to this very lovely hotel, wish I could return more often!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side overlooking the pool recommended , other side does have a view of a golf practice range, could use some work, seems like all the rooms are the same size, you can have one king size bed or two double beds.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leedsway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
César S, Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Leedsway:

I wish we could have you more often here at our property too. We establish, some connections with our guests and your lovely families, so when the inevitable departure time comes, we started to missed you, sometimes with a sad feeling, but always with big hopes that you will return very soon.

I am glad you have enjoyed all our facilities, that have been built with the main purpose to make of your vacations a moment to relax, indulge yourself and get pamper by all our staff.

Hopefully, your future visit will be even better than this last one, so we can be able to provide you with all our best care that somebody so special like you may deserve it.


César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here for a work conference and enjoyed a number of qualities I want to share. First the personal service is very welcoming. They have an amazing spa and their adventure tour offices did an excellent job of helping me find the right adventure excursion that I thoroughly enjoyed.

The ceviche was a welcoming daily staple. My room was clean, modern, and quiet even being poolside.

I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaGirl0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
César S, Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

The pleasure and good fortune to have you attending your work conference was ours. Every time you and your company choose our hotel to accommodate each of you, it is an opportunity to do what we do best, to provide you with the natural and friendly hospitality of a country that love to make friends.

These are one the main reasons, that all our associates truly enjoy and are committed to their jobs having this way the opportunity to make of your stay a very pleasant moment.

I hope, between work, and your experiences at our Kuö Spa and your adventure excursion, you take Costa Rica in your best memories, and hopefully, in a very near future come back and explore some more all the natural and amazing beauties of this beautiful country allowing us to pamper you some more.


César Sánchez
Guest Relatins Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel grounds are beautiful, room was great, and service was wonderful. I am a Marriott Rewards member so we got the room for pretty cheap. We only stayed 1 night before leaving for the airport to head home. After eating dinner and having 4 drinks our bill was triple the cost of the room. Pretty excessive...and the food was average.

Room Tip: Try to get breakfast included when you make a reservation. There were people who did not have breakfast included and they were very angry when they got their bill at checkout.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveNSBwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
César S, Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

It is impossible not to feel captivated by the magnificent mountain views and the peaceful ambience that you could breathe thru our old style colonial hacienda facilities and enjoy our modern Costa Rican accommodations with contemporary touches.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your dinner experience, all your comments are our best resource to improve our services, always keeping on mind our main commitment, to provide you with a service of excellence.

I can’t let this opportunity go, without extend you our best appreciation for your preference and to be part of our selective Marriott Rewards Members.

César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We always begin and end our adventure to Costa Rica with a stay in the Marriott Resort, San Jose Costa Rica. My husband is Costa Rican therefore we visit each year.
The property is very near the airport but an oasis in the middle of San Jose. It truly is a paradise rich in the Costa Rican culture of a true coffee plantation. It is a way to settle in before our journey to southern Costa Rica and a way to unwind on our way back home.
We love to stay at this resort ... it feels like a home away from home, but with lots of luxuries!

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room and stayed at this Marriott at least 10 times.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathleenLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
César S, Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Kathleen/Leo:

It is a real honor for us to host you and your husband on every visit to Costa Rica or shall I better say it your country, yes, now you could be consider as part of this blessed land!, as a Costa Rican or a “Tica”.

The term “Tica or Tica” features our tendency to add the diminutive suffix in Spanish “tico or ito”, to express a form of something very little or to show our friendliness and T.L.C.

It is really very important for us to learn about your preference for our hotel, and to always be part of such an important occasion as is to visit all your friends and family at the southern of the country.

Please, be aware that you always will have a special place reserved for you, not just at the San José Costa Rica Marriott, but also in all our hearts!!!!!!


César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews