We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely hotel, great location ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I love going to this hotel for their spa services and also a very kept secret is their Spain Tapas Bar, usually lots of guest just miss it because is near the patio area. Their sangria is very, very good and the Spanish tortilla is terrific, it's a must try if you stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments and feed back , we are very happy you did enjoy the Spanish tapas restaurant and our Spa services. we are looking forward to serve you again the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    447
    99
    49
    29
See reviews for
380
470
65
369
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay,California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The main reason I picked this hotel is its location - ~10 min drive from the airport, and close to work (America Free Trade Zone). However, I found this hotel has many other qualities that made the stay enjoyable. It is housed in what feels like an old colonial style building, with a giant courtyard. The rooms are not exactly modern, but comfortable, and sufficiently spacious. I loved the breakfast on the patio at the restaurant, overlooking the driving range. The pool area was very nice, too. The only downside I can think of is if I would be here to tour San Jose, it would probably be a bit too far (the traffic is horrendous during rush hour), and there is nothing really close by in terms of shops or restaurants, other than the places inside the hotel. But on my next trup I will stay here again - as they say: location, location, location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mibo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback , we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a nice experience .
We are looking forward to host you again in the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday and thought the hotel was great. The rooms were very spacious and the grounds were maintained beautifully. We loved the ornate iron work throughout the hotel and enjoyed the pool area as well. Many beautiful birds flew past us outside. The staff was very friendly, especially our bartender/waiter John, in the bar area upstairs. It was worth spending a few dollars more at the hotel to have our exit taxes paid and not have to wait in line at the airport in the morning. It was also convenient to book a taxi through the hotel and just give the taxi driver a voucher when we walked out of the lobby. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a higher room with a pool view (room 516) and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are happy you had an great experience in our hotel .
We are looking forward to host you again soon in the near future
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersvile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the last night in Costa Rica before flying home. The pools and the grounds were very nice. The rooms are standard Marriott rooms (clean and alright size but nothing special). The hotel had a good coffee shop/bistro that my wife and daughter enjoyed. The resteraunt was good, but a little pricey. It is close to the airport and a decent place to stay when flying in or out of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleHuntersvile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are happy that you did enjoy our hotel and we are looking forward to host you again in the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at this Marriott in San Jose for 5 nights on a business trip. The hotel in terms of service during my entire stay was just average when compared to the kind of service one gets when visiting some of the Islands in the Caribbean.

I found the staff overall to be friendly in an average sort of way but few going out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. There is absolutely no “joy” in this place and you can feel it as you go along.

The coffee shop had one absolutely super guy , a young man, whose suggestions for lunch were spot on and who also made the effort to go all the way to the main kitchen to get me hot sauce etc when they did not offer it in the coffee shop. He was the exception and provided exceptional customer service. The staff in the main dining room (especially at breakfast) was a hit and miss affair in terms of service. All depended on where you were seated and who you got to serve you. The waitress I got on both days should have been retired a long time ago. She felt that her responsibility was to dump a pot of coffee in front of you and simultaneously leave your bill for the buffet right next to the coffee pot so she never had to return again ! My buffet plates got picked up all at once when I was done on the first day. The second day I had to call her over. Eating my breakfast with a bill next to me and used plates with food al around was not my idea of a good setting. The food is expensive mercifully I was on the company’s dime so did not have to worry about the prices. A simple and solid lunch at the coffee shop is about 25$ USD, dinner in the main restaurant is about 50$ US and Breakfast (buffet) about 30$ US.

The good about this place is the following. The place is absolutely spotless. You can see how the workman really clean up the common areas tiled floors with machines and elbow grease. They absolutely sparkle. The rooms are spotless too and the maid service leaves them spotless every single day. I used the laundry service and was happy with the hand in at 10 am and return by 4 pm (even earlier the second time). The breakfast choices are excellent – fresh omelets custom made and mouthwatering everything ! Hot and cold. Attached a view of the mountains and golf course from the restaurant when seated outside. Its breathtaking. The food is exceptional too. Great tasting and variety galore to choose from. I went in too late on the Saturday night and most of the food dried out but they had fresh custom made pizza with your choices of toppings that really hit the spot. I used the gym every day and also used the SPA. The SPA is amazing, Half hour message cost me 50 US plus ten dollars tax etc that included exclusive use of the steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi. Attached pics of the Gym (SPA is next door to it)

You can put your cab fare on the hotel bill which is great for expenses. I made arrangements to see the volcano carter and the lake next to it. It was about 1 hour by car up the mountain to 2,700 feet above sea level. About a half hour walk from the parking lot to the volcano lake and about 15 minutes from the parking lot to the volcano crater. 10 US admission per person to get into the park that is Police patrolled. If you get in after 10 am good chance you won’t see any of the carter because of the cloud cover. The lake on the other hand is always visible and stunning. Attached a picture of it. Because of the thin air you will become breathless in no time walking around so pace yourself its worth it and it is truly an experience. The drive up and down is safe with some sheer drops in the occasional places but overall completely safe and paved road. The guided tours in a bus are around 110 US per person. A cab ride up , look around for an hour and a half plus return to the hotel will run you about 130US but the convinence and private service is worth it. I was not interested in eating there

All in all – good enough for business travel, close to the airport. I paid my departure tax at the hotel (they give you an official government receipt) that cost 35 US vs buying it at the airport for 29US. Was happy to save the time and go straight to the check in at the hotel.

Room Tip: The floors in the common hallway are made of tile not carpet.Very early in the morning you will alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your commnents , we really appriciate your feedback during your stay and this will help us to improve our quality of service . We are glad you enjoyed the tour and the beauty of Costa Rica , the Spa facility and our friendly staff . We are looking forward to host you again in the near future and will remain at your service .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very disapointed with our room at Marriott Costa Rica,the smell of mildew was overwelming. We complained to reception, they appologised and tried to justifie it with the rains that had been in the area. We had a ground floor room and on opening our terrace doors the smell outside was of sewer. The mildew smell was so strong it gave my wife a headache and stayed in our noses even after we departed the hotel. On the other hand brakefast is one of the best selections I have had in Costa Rica and for that matter anyware. For value / quality I find there are man other better options in San Jose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , this is great feed back in order for us to take actions inmediately and it is a great opportunity to improve the situation what you experienced during your stay. We are looking forward for having you back with us in the near future and remaining at your service .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous and the setting is beautiful. The staff is extremely helpful and cheerful. It is possibly the nicest Marriott I have ever stayed in, and we are frequent Marriott guests. The front desk clerk offered us a package which included the upper floor concierge lounge, breakfast, and snacks for $50-- well worth the price because we didn't even eat dinner after that. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us , we are looking forward to host you again in the near future , Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing