We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong Mildew Smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Strong Mildew Smell”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very disapointed with our room at Marriott Costa Rica,the smell of mildew was overwelming. We complained to reception, they appologised and tried to justifie it with the rains that had been in the area. We had a ground floor room and on opening our terrace doors the smell outside was of sewer. The mildew smell was so strong it gave my wife a headache and stayed in our noses even after we departed the hotel. On the other hand brakefast is one of the best selections I have had in Costa Rica and for that matter anyware. For value / quality I find there are man other better options in San Jose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , this is great feed back in order for us to take actions inmediately and it is a great opportunity to improve the situation what you experienced during your stay. We are looking forward for having you back with us in the near future and remaining at your service .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    490
    110
    53
    29
See reviews for
421
537
73
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous and the setting is beautiful. The staff is extremely helpful and cheerful. It is possibly the nicest Marriott I have ever stayed in, and we are frequent Marriott guests. The front desk clerk offered us a package which included the upper floor concierge lounge, breakfast, and snacks for $50-- well worth the price because we didn't even eat dinner after that. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us , we are looking forward to host you again in the near future , Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel - close to airport, perfect rooms, food, coffee, staff, spa.

Even by Marriott's great standards, this hotel is super.
It helps that it is owned by a family who are very experienced in the Tourism business, as well as
frequent travellers!

A pity the price was over $300 per night, though!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and great feedback, we are very happy you had a fantastic experience in our beautiful property.
Looking forward to host you again in the near future.


Oscar Bolanos Vargas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at here as part of a business trip, because it is located very near to several high tech companies. While this may sound like a sure downer, it was completely opposite. The hotel had beautiful grounds, pools and a spa. The restaurants were fantastic, and the staff were all exceptionally friendly and made every effort to get to know you. There were several excursions available from the hotel through various tour companies, and it was very easy to get to many different places. The spa was lovely as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are very happy that you had the chance to enjoy our facilities.
Looking forward for having you again in the near future.


Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Maybe this is my first 5 star review.
The colonial style architecture is very well balanced, the lighting, everything in this hotel looks beautiful.
All the staff is very service oriented and nice to talk to.
The food is excellent.
The spa and fitness center is well equipped and maintained.
One thing that I found weird is the charges for gratuity in the bill. Maybe it's a Costa Rican thing, but if I'd knew this before I wouldn't have tipped in cash to the waiters, you know, I paid "double gratuity" because of this.
I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone, close enough to the airport, close enough to the city, yet peaceful and away from the noise.

Room Tip: Any room is good in this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinuxGonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and also thank you for your great feedback .
We are looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed as part of an adventure trip. The restaurant and patio have good food, service, and views. Not quite sure about the golf course. Fitness facility and spa are good additions, and pool is very pleasant. Lobby staff access seemed a bit confusing. The hotel architecture is really charming. Reliable choice

Room Tip: Try for a garden view - good green expanse to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Our fitness , Spa and pool area is a great amenity to the hotel , that is why we are considered the best resort in the area.
We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We needed a one night stay in San Jose before continuing our travels. This Marriott was lovely. We found it to be clean, quiet and very friendly. The suite was comfortable enough for our family of four. We loved the courtyard style, design and décor. The lovely grounds, pools and Jacuzzi helped us to pass the day. Poolside lunch and drinks were fresh and satisfying. Our dinner at La Isabela was delightful. Complimentary breakfast w/the suite was well done. The location of the hotel was convenient to the airport-- 15 min taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmGrlJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we love the fact that you could enjoy our property in a very short time, hopefully you can stay the next time longer with us , we are looking forward to serve you again

Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,335 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing