We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel with prices to match”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel - close to airport, perfect rooms, food, coffee, staff, spa.

Even by Marriott's great standards, this hotel is super.
It helps that it is owned by a family who are very experienced in the Tourism business, as well as
frequent travellers!

A pity the price was over $300 per night, though!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and great feedback, we are very happy you had a fantastic experience in our beautiful property.
Looking forward to host you again in the near future.


Oscar Bolanos Vargas
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at here as part of a business trip, because it is located very near to several high tech companies. While this may sound like a sure downer, it was completely opposite. The hotel had beautiful grounds, pools and a spa. The restaurants were fantastic, and the staff were all exceptionally friendly and made every effort to get to know you. There were several excursions available from the hotel through various tour companies, and it was very easy to get to many different places. The spa was lovely as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are very happy that you had the chance to enjoy our facilities.
Looking forward for having you again in the near future.


Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Maybe this is my first 5 star review.
The colonial style architecture is very well balanced, the lighting, everything in this hotel looks beautiful.
All the staff is very service oriented and nice to talk to.
The food is excellent.
The spa and fitness center is well equipped and maintained.
One thing that I found weird is the charges for gratuity in the bill. Maybe it's a Costa Rican thing, but if I'd knew this before I wouldn't have tipped in cash to the waiters, you know, I paid "double gratuity" because of this.
I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone, close enough to the airport, close enough to the city, yet peaceful and away from the noise.

Room Tip: Any room is good in this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinuxGonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and also thank you for your great feedback .
We are looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed as part of an adventure trip. The restaurant and patio have good food, service, and views. Not quite sure about the golf course. Fitness facility and spa are good additions, and pool is very pleasant. Lobby staff access seemed a bit confusing. The hotel architecture is really charming. Reliable choice

Room Tip: Try for a garden view - good green expanse to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Our fitness , Spa and pool area is a great amenity to the hotel , that is why we are considered the best resort in the area.
We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We needed a one night stay in San Jose before continuing our travels. This Marriott was lovely. We found it to be clean, quiet and very friendly. The suite was comfortable enough for our family of four. We loved the courtyard style, design and décor. The lovely grounds, pools and Jacuzzi helped us to pass the day. Poolside lunch and drinks were fresh and satisfying. Our dinner at La Isabela was delightful. Complimentary breakfast w/the suite was well done. The location of the hotel was convenient to the airport-- 15 min taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmGrlJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscarbolanos, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, we love the fact that you could enjoy our property in a very short time, hopefully you can stay the next time longer with us , we are looking forward to serve you again

Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

As a business traveler, I try and stay at Marriott's for the cleanliness, safety, excellent service, ease of registration and locations in many of the cities I travel to. This year, a good count of Latin American, Europe and North American Marriott's have been home for me after full days in business.

The Costa Rica Marriott continues that vote of confidence in so many areas but I must note, something has happened to the food service at the Tapas restaurant at this location that I have not experienced on any other property.

First, the service was excellent, wine was chosen, food ordered, I settled down to review my notes for an upcoming presentation on the iPad when my first "Tapas" were delivered. Actually, all my food was delivered at almost the same time! I did not have time to finish the appetizers when the main course was delivered. In fact, the waiter brought a cart to hold some of the dishes as the 2 person table was not large enough for 6 plates.

The shrimp was over cooked, the Bruschetta had large herring strips laid across them and by the time I was half way eating, the meal was cold. I must admit, the single small roasted Garlic and Mushroom were excellent and standouts in a surprisingly poorly prepared and and timed meal

I love Latin Music but they insisted on having a music recording of a male banshee yelling with with little regard that the music should be in the background, not dominating the audio spectrum.

I did communicate my feelings to the maitre d' and he credited off the shrimp so you can tell, they care!

Disappointing to say the least and to some degree, I feel I am wronging the hotel as everything else is top notch.

Oh, one other recommendation, change the wheels on the luggage carts to pneumatic tires. With tiled floors, they will be nice and quiet, not the noisy hard rubber you have today that thump down the long echoing halls.

Cheers

Bob

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback , this will give us a great opportunity to improve the overall experience in the restaurant , we appriciate your business with us and are looking forward to host and serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Comfortable Stay and nestled away from the hustle and bustle of San Jose or Airport Traffic. Great restaraunts on site and closer to the airport than hotels in San Jose. Very comfortable and accomodating and I can't really say enough about this hotel to do it justice.

Room Tip: opposite side of hotel from any construction that may be going on. probably want to ask first becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans_Freeley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments , we are looking forward to host you again in the near future .

Bert Bloem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,423 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,365 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $176 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing