We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to start your trip into Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location to start your trip into Costa Rica”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is a very short cab ride from the airport, which is a welcome relief after a long flight from the US. This is actually a former coffee plantation, and you can tell the moment you arrive. I was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was, given it's proximity to the airport. But you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere.

The old style rooms are very cool - the kids liked all of the decorations around the hotel. The restaurant was OK - mostly American fare. Good for the kids, but boring for the adults. But the service was great.

If you need to pass through San Jose, on to your travels elsewhere in the country, this is a great option. Much preferred versus navigating into the city. The traffic, noise, pollution - I have done that before and I'm glad we didn't do it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saprissaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    490
    110
    53
    29
See reviews for
421
537
73
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cidra, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a beautifully hotel constructed to look like an old spanish hacienda. The staff is magnificent. Our hotel room was beautiful, but the carpet was cleaned leaving a really strong chemical odor throughout our five-day stay. We were there for a wedding, but the place is close to nothing at all. It is expensive to get out - $25 to the City. You cannot go walking off the premises, as it is all surrounded by industrial-type dwellings and empty lots; and then a hike up to the main highway, which again is all lined-up with manufacturing companies of every kind. I did not see sidewalks anywhere. The food is quite good, but you will soon tire of it, as the food in their four restaurants comes from only one kitchen! The best thing is their cocktails. They have great bartenders--who will fix you anything and then some more.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiderFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is a different concept hotel that I am normally use to by using Marriot Hotel chain.
The hotel itself is o.k., what I did not liked are the rooms, I found it old stylish.
I spent two night and went for a business trip and I did not enjoyed the additional values of the hotel such as Golf driving range (I saw it from my room and looks nice) and Pools.
The breakfast was Buffett, but it was a nice buffett.
In the near entrance of the hotel there is a coffee shop, go there!! They have amaizing dessert, the best I ever tried in my life!!

En un hotel con concepto diferente a lo que estoy acostumbrado al utilizar la cade Marriott.
Estuve dos noches y en plan de viaje de negocios, por lo que no pude utilizar los valores agregados del hotel como el campo de golf (Se veía muy bien desde la habitación) o las piscinas.
el desayuno era Buffet, pero muy bueno.
Cerca de la entrada del hotel, hay una cafetería, no se la pueden perder, tienen los mejores postres que he probado en mi vida.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totorules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tn
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place is awesome. It is less than 10 minutes from the airport. It has a great resort feel. It is a true gem nestled in the middle of the city. The staff were all great. The restaurant was amazing. Buffet but well worth the price. Try the Chef's Club for lunch, my wife says it may be the best sandwhich she has ever had. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: As for an upgrade. We were bumped up to a suite for a minimal upgrade charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sethmanand54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. It is charming, beautiful, has great views and wonderful food in all the restaurants. There is so much to do all around the area, and to come back to this hotel after a day of exploring and surround yourself with the luxury and beauty of this hotel is an added bonus.

Room Tip: You can take tours (our favorite is the Highlights tour). You can take a cab anywhere (negotiate pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookingupmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much Susan Murphy for these nice comments , we appreciate your visit and your loyalty to the Costa Rica Marriott , we are looking forward to host and serve you again .

Bert Bloem , Hotel Manager Costa Rica Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here one night on my way to other regions in Costa Rica. It is a quite close to the airport which is nice. Although it is a city hotel, it feels much like a resort. The pools and hot tub are nice and there is a driving range and putting green. There were some issues with the internet, but their technical support was able to get me on line relatively quickly. Breakfast buffet was good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank DMaselunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed one night at the Costa Rica Marriott before our tour of the country! Best choice we could of every made. We were greeted by the friendliest of staff. Loved the look of the hotel, more like an European feel. And the property was breathtaking! Got a nice room at the end of the hall, so we did not hear any additional noise in the hallways! Food there was excellent. Did the spa and enjoyed the treatments and the facilities. Dry Sauna could have been hotter and the hot tub could have been hotter, in fact it felt very cool like pool water. I overheard 2 men talking about how cold the outdoor pool was, so I didn't even attempt to swim there! The bakery on the premises was to die for! Very tasty treats. Would definitely recommend if you need a hotel near the airport!

Room Tip: get a room at the end of the hallways to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,335 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing