We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conferences? High End business deals? "Wow" them with a classy hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

About two weeks ago I spent a full twelve hours at this hotel during a conference of missionaries who came from throughout central america for a series of discourses, fine room and fine dining experience. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have a B&B near the airport, a small place but clean and quiet. Many of my friends stay for a a night or two at the Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, conduct their business, the they come to my place for a week or two. Why don't they just stay at my B&B the whole time? Because, they tell me that their clients are impressed by the opulence and class of this hotel, and they give a better deal while negotiating as developers, etc. if they see them at this Marriott. They wine and dine them, close the deal, and then come to my place to enjoy the rest of the time here. Great idea!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank userme1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,791)
There are newer reviews for Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport, which makes it ideal for catching the flight back home. The taxi ride is $10-$15 each way. The food was excellent, especially the sea bass on their dinner menu. Koyle cabernet is a great wine choice, even with fish. The breakfast buffet provided a wide assortment of yummy dishes. Our room location was at the back of the hotel overlooking a soccer field and cows in a pasture. There was no cow odor. It was not a barnyard, just cows in a pasture...very peaceful. The gift shop had a small deli and a wide variety of memorabilia to take home or send home. We took advantage of sending 10 bags of coffee home @ $99.00, shipping included, to share with friends and family. We placed the order on Saturday and the coffee was delivered the following Friday....less than a week!!! There was a small coffee plantation on the premises to tour. A great overnight stay, close to the airport, on our way home.

Room Tip: If you like quiet and a peaceful view, Room #480 - #482 are a good choice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ms_happycentralTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed here a few other times years ago and really enjoyed it previously. This time, not so much. The property itself is very nice and the pool and restaurant areas are very relaxing. The staff is helpful and accommodating. The breakfast is delicious and they have a really good spread.

My issue with the hotel was the noise. At first we were taken to a nice room facing the pool in the new Wong of the hotel. The bedroom is spacious, but it had a connecting door to a other room. The room had only tile floor, no carpets, so when you move chairs, it made that loud dragging noise. Now imagine that, but now it's coming from next door. Aside from that, the ppl staying next door were being extremely loud, so we eventually requested to change rooms. The next room was in the normal part of the hotel in the executive floor. This room had carpet, a much softer bed- which was great and had extra accessories like a flower next to the bathroom sink, but the room was not cleaned properly. Thoughout the night, I did not get a decent sleep because there were hotel guests that were loud drunks hanging out in the halls late at night and all the halls have tiles so everything echoed into the rooms.

If you are fussy about noise, I don't suggest this place, but other than that, if you spend your time outside during the day, it can be relaxing anda nice getaway from the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poysoniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott Costa Rica for a week with our kids ages 11-17. The rooms were nice but the girls wished the washroom had been bigger and brighter. We upgraded to executive for $50/night for the excellent breakfast, free wifi, unlimited coffee and cold drinks and access to the executive lounge. Everything was very clean including the pools although they were a bit cool. The 300yd driving range was $20 then $8/bucket of balls. We used the tennis facility, but not much because they charged too much for something that should have been free. Food at the hotel was pricey but good. The hotel is beautiful and sits on 100 or more acres so the boys loved to explore in the safety of the grounds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The travel agent there can book most any excursion for you but they do tack on a significant fee. We had a rental car and parking was free. I will say if you are going to rent a car, you MUST have a Costa Rican program loaded from NavSat or Trackit on your Garmin before you arrive or you will not survive. I do NOT recommend most people drive there. The absolute best GPS program is Waze for your iPhone or Samsung Galaxy. But it does use data which is very pricey unless you have an unlocked phone and put a $5 SIM card in it in Costa Rica. Overall it was a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGDprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Beautiful Property! Located in Heredia which is just outside San Jose. Besides the Intercontinental, this is probably the only other property in san Jose of this caliber. The rooms were clean and well laid out. We had a nice room with a small balcony facing out into the pool area. I higly recommend asking for a pool view as the views from this direction are fantastic.

I walked the entire grounds which include a historic church, driving range, and running path as well. We used the spa while there and the services were nice, although not amazing.

the only downside to this property is that food service, in the restaurant and around the pool, is not good. There is always a long wait (Expect 1-2 hours for each meal).

Room Tip: Choose pool facing room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wurldtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a great resort to relax. It is not "near" much - you can't walk to many places; the airport is about 15 min away and San Jose is 25 min. If you do want to travel the hotel will take carr of every detail. there are restaurants and sites not that far away. But for beauty tranquility calmness - this is the place. This is NOT a party hotel. The large resort is an old coffee plantation, so large there is a small golf course. service is great and very curteous. The 2 restaurants are fine, service again is good - food is......typical. The bars are nice amd you can hear yourself. Oddly the hotel always seems empty but in the mornings the restaurants are packed so I'm not sure where they are hiding everyone. The rooms are big, king size beds, large tub. The closet to hang your clothes could be bigger but that's a little not picky because the dressers are large. There are some events on the weekends that can go late into the evening so just be careful - it probably best to get a higher floor room and off to one of the wings. Nice pool though unheated and really nice jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Every time we come to Costa Rica we stay here first to relax and plan the next few days! It is a beautiful hotel in the Spanish Colonial style with very nice rooms and good food! The pool is lovely and there is a spa and a nice gift shop! Sometimes we stay here before and after our trip!

Room Tip: The upper level rooms overlooking the mountains are very nice!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,391 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,355 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $162 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing