We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott Costa Rica for a week with our kids ages 11-17. The rooms were nice but the girls wished the washroom had been bigger and brighter. We upgraded to executive for $50/night for the excellent breakfast, free wifi, unlimited coffee and cold drinks and access to the executive lounge. Everything was very clean including the pools although they were a bit cool. The 300yd driving range was $20 then $8/bucket of balls. We used the tennis facility, but not much because they charged too much for something that should have been free. Food at the hotel was pricey but good. The hotel is beautiful and sits on 100 or more acres so the boys loved to explore in the safety of the grounds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The travel agent there can book most any excursion for you but they do tack on a significant fee. We had a rental car and parking was free. I will say if you are going to rent a car, you MUST have a Costa Rican program loaded from NavSat or Trackit on your Garmin before you arrive or you will not survive. I do NOT recommend most people drive there. The absolute best GPS program is Waze for your iPhone or Samsung Galaxy. But it does use data which is very pricey unless you have an unlocked phone and put a $5 SIM card in it in Costa Rica. Overall it was a very nice hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGDprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    447
    99
    49
    29
See reviews for
380
470
65
369
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Beautiful Property! Located in Heredia which is just outside San Jose. Besides the Intercontinental, this is probably the only other property in san Jose of this caliber. The rooms were clean and well laid out. We had a nice room with a small balcony facing out into the pool area. I higly recommend asking for a pool view as the views from this direction are fantastic.

I walked the entire grounds which include a historic church, driving range, and running path as well. We used the spa while there and the services were nice, although not amazing.

the only downside to this property is that food service, in the restaurant and around the pool, is not good. There is always a long wait (Expect 1-2 hours for each meal).

Room Tip: Choose pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wurldtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a great resort to relax. It is not "near" much - you can't walk to many places; the airport is about 15 min away and San Jose is 25 min. If you do want to travel the hotel will take carr of every detail. there are restaurants and sites not that far away. But for beauty tranquility calmness - this is the place. This is NOT a party hotel. The large resort is an old coffee plantation, so large there is a small golf course. service is great and very curteous. The 2 restaurants are fine, service again is good - food is......typical. The bars are nice amd you can hear yourself. Oddly the hotel always seems empty but in the mornings the restaurants are packed so I'm not sure where they are hiding everyone. The rooms are big, king size beds, large tub. The closet to hang your clothes could be bigger but that's a little not picky because the dressers are large. There are some events on the weekends that can go late into the evening so just be careful - it probably best to get a higher floor room and off to one of the wings. Nice pool though unheated and really nice jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Every time we come to Costa Rica we stay here first to relax and plan the next few days! It is a beautiful hotel in the Spanish Colonial style with very nice rooms and good food! The pool is lovely and there is a spa and a nice gift shop! Sometimes we stay here before and after our trip!

Room Tip: The upper level rooms overlooking the mountains are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. 3 nights, food and drink fabulous. Nice pools / spa. Located in a strange area, nice, but near industrial area. You dont know that once our at the hotel and its not an eye sore, just odd. Close enough to downtown San Jose for museums, $20 cab ride each way. Staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose this hotel because we had Marriott points; we were expecting just an American chain hotel, but this is a pretty spot with a nice colonial feeling to it and great views. It's a beautiful property with coffee plants out front, a gorgeous pool, and trees full of bright green red-lored parrots. The service was excellent, and the rooms are very comfortable. They have a spa and a great little coffee shop where you can order all kinds of coffee drinks and coffee shakes, as well as beautiful little desserts. The breakfast buffet was very good with everything from eggs to gallo pinto to bacon and fresh fruit. Dress was more upscale than we were expecting after touring the rest of the country. We were there on a weekend, and my husband was the only man not wearing a tie at breakfast, and all of the women were in dresses or skirts. This hotel seems to get a lot of business travelers. I wore a casual dress, but my husband was in shorts, and he definitely felt under dressed. The hotel is very convenient to SJO airport and great for a last night in the country. We used one of their drivers to take us to the airport, and he was fluent in English and very friendly. We would definitely stay here again on a future trip for a first or last night to be close to the airport.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fifth floor overlooking the pool. It had beautiful views, and we had bright gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank volcanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 7th trip to Costa Rica, but first time to stay at this hotel. Upon arrival, the air conditioner wasn't working in our room. A repair was quickly made, but 2 days later it broke again. We were told there was another room so we packed up and brought our bags to the lobby only to be told that the new room was no longer available. Another room was found about 15 min later. No accommodation for our inconvenience was offered. Free Internet would have been a nice gesture or it would have been nice to offer free breakfast for our remaining two mornings. There are better hotels offering a better personal experience and whose location is not so removed from restaurants and other activities. Choose better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STLbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing