We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Last Night Near the Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great for a Last Night Near the Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose this hotel because we had Marriott points; we were expecting just an American chain hotel, but this is a pretty spot with a nice colonial feeling to it and great views. It's a beautiful property with coffee plants out front, a gorgeous pool, and trees full of bright green red-lored parrots. The service was excellent, and the rooms are very comfortable. They have a spa and a great little coffee shop where you can order all kinds of coffee drinks and coffee shakes, as well as beautiful little desserts. The breakfast buffet was very good with everything from eggs to gallo pinto to bacon and fresh fruit. Dress was more upscale than we were expecting after touring the rest of the country. We were there on a weekend, and my husband was the only man not wearing a tie at breakfast, and all of the women were in dresses or skirts. This hotel seems to get a lot of business travelers. I wore a casual dress, but my husband was in shorts, and he definitely felt under dressed. The hotel is very convenient to SJO airport and great for a last night in the country. We used one of their drivers to take us to the airport, and he was fluent in English and very friendly. We would definitely stay here again on a future trip for a first or last night to be close to the airport.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fifth floor overlooking the pool. It had beautiful views, and we had bright gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank volcanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    416
    96
    48
    27
See reviews for
356
447
56
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 7th trip to Costa Rica, but first time to stay at this hotel. Upon arrival, the air conditioner wasn't working in our room. A repair was quickly made, but 2 days later it broke again. We were told there was another room so we packed up and brought our bags to the lobby only to be told that the new room was no longer available. Another room was found about 15 min later. No accommodation for our inconvenience was offered. Free Internet would have been a nice gesture or it would have been nice to offer free breakfast for our remaining two mornings. There are better hotels offering a better personal experience and whose location is not so removed from restaurants and other activities. Choose better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STLbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Business trips to San Jose always include a stay at the Marriott, this past one was no different. As always the staff and service were excellent and the room was clean and neat. Because my company has travelers here often we usually get an upgraded room. Mine was off the back of the facility overlooking the grounds with a covered balcony on the 3rd floor. Great place to have a drink in the evenings and watch the lights of the city around you. No complaints and will def stay here again.

Room Tip: higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXdirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited this hotel in February of 2013 after a three week adventure in Costa Rica. Most of the trip we traveled without an itinerary so at the end of the trip we were tired and in need of some rest and relaxation. This hotel is beautiful and the room was very nice, I highly recommend the Spa as well. We stayed on the executive level and had access to the executive lounge. The lounge has breakfast in the morning and light appetizers in the evening, definitely worth the extra money to have access to this amenity. The grounds are beautiful, the spa amazing, the restaurants fantastic. The pool area is beautiful, but the pool is chilly in February and is not heated. The tapas restaurant in very intimate and delicious. I will say that the service around the pool is horrible, there are a few waiters and waitress walking around but they NEVER seem to notice a customer and can't be bothered by the customers around the pool. If I were the management of this hotel I would fire all of the bar and pool employees and start over, but that is really my only complaint of this fantastic property. I would visit again anytime...just bring your own cooler to the pool!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranhar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent our Last Day of a roundtrip through Costa Rica here. We enjoyed ist very much. If you travel to the rainforest and beaches be aware that the dress code at the Marriott is a bit more elegant. We ate at the Hotel restaurant and had the salmon. It was very tasty and the service was top.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwe371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall good stay, good service, good gym, good pool (water too cold), good jacuzzi. Fair price ifyou have a corporate rate, if not too expensive.

Areas for improvement: corridors too noisy!! Very difficult to sleep when people talk in the corridors... Not to mention when guests walk with their carry ons... You can hear those wheels on the corridor tiles!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jfduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose the Marriott for our last night in San Jose for its close proximity to the airport. In that regard, it was a good choice. They provide a taxi service at the hotel which was easily able to accommodate our party of seven and lots of luggage. The airport was only about 15-20 minutes away.

The hotel was very clean, the grounds impeccable, and the rooms spacious and comfortable. However, the tiled hallways reverberate with sounds from rolling luggage to conversations between guests.

We went to the restaurant downstairs for dinner. They were clearly not prepared for the number of guests that turned up that night. We were seated in the bar area and had to wait so long for our food we considered leaving.

The gift shop was quite nice and the food in the concierge lounge tasty. The front desk personnel were helpful, prompt, and professional.

I rated this hotel as average only because of the hallway noise and our dining experience; otherwise, we found this Marriott to be very high quality and a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuttie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.0 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
3.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing