We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Nearby Hotels
City Express San Jose Costa Rica(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
$94
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Riviera(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel(San Antonio De Belen)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Oro(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Obelisco(San Antonio De Belen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,971)
Filter reviews
1,971 results
Traveler rating
1,206
547
125
58
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
547
125
58
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee plantationdriving rangebeautiful hotelthe executive loungecosta ricasan joseclose to the airportperuvian restaurantla isabelabeautiful groundsgift shoptennis courtssports bargolf coursehacienda styleindustrial areamain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,142 - 1,147 of 1,971 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and i stayed one night at the Marriott to start off our Costa Rica vacation. It is located near the airport and had lovely grounds.

We enjoyed a late dinner in the tapas restuarant and nice breakfast in the temporary executive lounge. The executive lounge was closed for cleaning/renovation.

The staff was helpful and they also had a nice gift shop.

I would stay here again for a night or two when flying in or out of San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaronning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a very nice Hotel if you like "Hacienda Style" architecture.We stayed 4 Days, Service was great, all staff we encountered were super friendly & helpful. Hotel property well kept!

Our room was good (449) we had a nice balcony, not too impressed with the lock on the sliding glass door! Executive lounge was definitely worth the cost!

Down sides:
Essentially only one Restaurant (they do have a seperate Coffee shop that also serves Sandwiches) I was underwhelmed with the Menu, food always took a long time.
The Hotel has NO entertainment what so ever, it is somewhat isolated one cannot walk to another Restaurant, Night Club, Store, etc, this makes going out for a meal quite expensive (Taxi fares)
I was a bit shocked at the prices; everything carries a 13% tax and a 10% Service charge
Room US$ 200.00 (plus above) evening Main course in the Restaurant (either one) $ 25 - 30 plus, Glass of Wine / High ball $10.00 Beer $9.00 etc.

As I said nice Hotel, but... I probably would not stay there again because of lack of entertainment options and cost

Room Tip: 4th floor with Balcony is great
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flufdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

All the comforts of a Marriott resort with very convenient proximity to the airport. While the area around is very industrial (though some decent neighborhoods to the west for runners) the grounds are impeccable and facilities fully modern. The gym is excellent and the pools very pleasant. Staff are polite, though sometimes few and far between.

The gripes:
- The hotel can be loud at night. The format seems to carry sounds of doors and voices throughout the tiled halls, the wind can be fierce simply due to the geography and because it has event halls, if your timing is right you might catch a rowdy wedding that goes late into the night (as we did)
- the pool is frigid
- when we tried to find lunch at the coffee shop on a Sunday, they were out of the first 4 things we wanted... No salads at all, and limited ingredients for sandwiches. It was the night after a large wedding, but to run out of food was surprising.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasonfcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Definitely recommend the hotel, especially if yoy want to get away of the city noise and pollution. It has all the needed accommodations, a coffee plantation that can be visited anytime and excelent service. Besides, the whole infrastructure is a marvelous colonial house-type.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lali_Lopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night before flying out from San Jose. The building is gorgeous, but the actual guest rooms are awful. We can't wait to go back to Costa Rica, but we would never stay at this hotel again. The staff is mildly interested in helping, but certainly not customer oriented.We had some snacks and drinks at the lobby bar and we waited nearly an hour for our food. The waitress came once to bring us our first drink, and then disappeared. The only time she apologized for the wait is when she brought us our food and told us the kitchen was behind. No kidding? That would have been nice to know before we sat here waiting and being ignored.

My husband is a Platinum Elite, and they stuck us across from the elevator, even though his profile specifically says not to. Needless to say, we heard the elevator all night from room 555. There is also absolutely no other sound proofing in the rooms. We heard the guy next door call for his 5 am wake up call and then of course heard his 5 am wake up call as well. Good thing we had to get up early too... We hardly slept all night because the hallways were so loud and echoe-y. We heard noises from the central courtyard all night- a party let out and we heard everyone leave and the staff start disassembling the tables from 5 floors up. Then we also heard people walking and talking in the hallway all night. It was truly awful. In addition, the shower in the bathroom was super, super slippery and I actually fell. There was a non-slip mat, but it only covered part of the shower. The whole experience at this hotel was awful. I was so happy to check out and leave.
The only plus is that free parking was available around the side of the building.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mack09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews