We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice hotel for business or pleasure in San Jose CR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for business or pleasure in San Jose CR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Marriott was a great place for us to rest and finish our trip to Costa Rica. We had been in the rainforest for 10 days on a wonderful adventure and returned to San Jose to catch our flight. We stayed 2 enjoyable nights at the Marriott. The room was well appointed and very clean. The restaurant and Executive Lounge offered excellent service and food.

We also learned that for an extra $5, we could pay our Costa Rica Departure taxes at the hotel desk rather than standing in the long line at the airport. You can do this the night before you leave and fill the form out in advance. This can save you a lot of time at the airport. Only the larger hotels like the Marriott offer this service.

The grounds and the hotel were beautiful, and we enjoyed our time there. We will stay there again when we return to San Jose.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the golf driving range have a very nice view and are quieter than the ones ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyinLife99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    429
    99
    49
    28
See reviews for
370
461
61
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great hotel close to Airport - beautiful grounds. Food at hotel was excellent, but a little expensive. The pool was great, but a little cool and all areas in the hotel and on the grounds were very clean.

Room Tip: Room overlooking golf range had beautiful view of gounds and mountain range
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. Very close to airport but, feels miles away. Service was good not great with the exception of Melisa, who was extremely helpful :). Beds were comfortlable and views were great. Food was good. They have a nice souvenier shop. My only dislike was where our room was located. We were woken up every night by either people arriving at night or the bar closing. DO NOT get a room on the 3rd floor (same level as reservation desk).

Room Tip: Make sure your room is located above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We landed in San Jose on the first leg of our CR adventure. Very nice hotel. A little in the outskirts but for approximately $20-15 you can get to town easily. Beautiful building, nice breakfast, very nice people on staff and wonderful rooms. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler123451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I really enjoyed the 2 nights we stayed here. There were multiple eateries on site, with excellent food. Fitness facility was very nice. Excellent selection of items at the gift shop. Rooms were clean, perhaps could have used a little work in the shower/bathtub area. Spa was a bit overpriced for the service received. Nice pool area. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Skip the facial and go for the pedicure, a much better value at the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

After 10 days in a vacation rental (house), it was wonderful to come here and be waited on. The property itself is very cool in terms of layout and decor-- kind of a sprawling ranch-style. The pools are well-positioned for sun, although the water is very cold. The restaurants were so/so. Service was great- we arrived at 8AM and they were able to find a room for us to check into early. Great that there are empty mini-fridges in the rooms for traveling with kids. We had a room overlooking the golf course with a tiny Juliette balcony. (I think all the rooms have Juliette balconies.) Wish I had planned ahead for a spa appointment- hard to get day of appointments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughter stays here when traveling on business, as do her coworkers. I tagged along during a recent trip and brought my golf clubs, as she insisted they had a hotel driving range and practice green. She was absolutely correct! I spent the days on the range, practicing my sand shots, chips, and putting. I also golfed at a local course 6 miles away. If you are a golfer and looking to just unwind and shake off some rust from your swing during the winter, you are going to love this place. Range balls are $8 a bucket, but when you see that a local walks out on the huge range and picks up the balls, you'll get a chuckle.

I also spent a bit of time in their top notch workout facility, which is as good as any gym I've worked out in. Top notch equipment, free weights and machines if you are so inclined.

Rooms are very nice, and the service is great. I wouldn't have any problems staying here again and would recommend it to anyone. If you are a golfer, bring your clubs! They also have some rentals available if you just want to swing some clubs.

They have a very nice spa on the grounds also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
2.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
5.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing