We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not what I was expecting for an airport stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting for an airport stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am used to staying in the Marriot family of hotels and am very aware of the differences in the quality of accomodations when you are dealing within the brand. This hotel is a very pleasant surprise. The location in relation to the airport is excellent, the grounds and building are beautiful and the staff are welcoming and friendly. The rooms are somewhat standard but spacious enough for short stays. The breakfast included with room was fantastic with selections of local and american cuisine, lots of fresh fruit and fantastic coffee. My only issue was the noise transfer through the doors is terrible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReggieDunlopCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    429
    99
    49
    28
See reviews for
370
461
61
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was working as an international volunteer in Cartago for a couple of months and living hostel style in bunk beds, so weekends off were my chance to see the country and/or relax away from our home base. I decided to stay at this Marriot resort as a treat, and it was so lovely, comfortable, beautiful and restful that I returned two more times including the weekend I was leaving to go home. There are two restuarants on the property, I ate at the tapas restuarant twice and it was wonderful. I thought it was a good idea to get the "club" rate because there was a breakfast included each morning, snacks and non-alcoholic drinks available all day and most of the night, and the evening happy hour would easily suffice as a meal for most.....an economical way to eat here. There is also a lovely coffee shop on site with an attached, and very comprehensive gift shop (a little pricey, but hey.....) The coffee shop also served sandwiches and tico versions of lunch foods as well as amazing deserts and pastries. All in all,
I felt it was worth the expense....use your Marriot rewards membership and/or AAA to get a really good room rate online. Trust me, this will be a lovely respite and great place to stay before a long airplane ride home.

Room Tip: All south facing rooms have lovely views. Pool rooms are nice if you plan on using the pool a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, WI
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is one of the nicest Marriotts I have stayed in. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, quick checkin, easy upgrade at a modest charge to large suite with connecting room that was worth it. Really enjoyed the tapas restaurant. We had a larger group (16) and they did a great job bring out a sampling of everything in a seamless way. We had dinner in the main restaurant as well. Food was simple but good. Very competent wine selection. Everything is very clean and organized. pictures on the website are a good representation of the property. I had a massage which was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side were a bit noisy on a Saturday night. Presidential suite is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeqonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We chose the location for its proximity to the airport. It's far enough away to not hear any planes go overhead. It's close enough where taxis can get there for $10 with tip.

The moment you enter the compound, you are checked in by a guard, then a bell men brings in your luggage. You go to the back and check in (was done with ease) and led to room (632) great views.

We went to explore the hotel grounds and were surprised by the nice lit paths, pool areas, hot tub, coffee house, work out gym, gift shop, coffee house and dining hall.

We had the buffet. 28 dollars a person. Very enjoyable. Good service there as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mseries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is on beautiful and spacious grounds that make it a nice oasis within 15 minutes of the airport. The rooms were very nice and the pool area in particular was extremely welcoming for our family of five. We had a delicious pizza at the restaurant and enjoyed a great breakfast buffet the next morning.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ace65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Costa Ricas most super service-nice hotel located in pura vida beauty hills. Love this place, I could write a commercial about it with no worries. Been here a dozen times of the past seven years. Some of the same staff still work here.
The soft, humble and service minded staff welcome you and will serve you like any Asian top hotel. The breakfast buffet and the gorgeous view on the hills across will make any fast talking city girl - tranquilo.
On top of this, the KUÖ spa and tennis courts put a royal feel to the place. Thank lord its not crowded (yet) and fair room prices.
Love love love to this Costa Rican pearl!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaAasberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here my last night in Costa Rica as it is close to the San Jose airport. Check in was seamless, staff is very welcoming , and the food is quite good ! I had the guacamole and the seafood platter-tasty! The grounds are quite picturesque-the rooms reminded me of a Medieval Spanish castle-dark wood , heavy furniture, wrought iron in the hallways. The bathroom was ok-nothing special. As a Marriott rewards member I was given free wi fi which was a plus. I had a standard room on the third floor-my only complaint was lots of overhead noise-maybe it was my location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
2.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
5.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing