We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise by Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise by Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We just returned from spending a week at this Marriott and could not imagine a more perfect experience. Rooms were spotless, beds comfortable, and service friendly and eager to please. The grounds were exceptional--beautifully landscaped with coffee and citrus groves, tropical gardens, and an expansive lawn with fig and passion fruit trees. The veranda for restaurant and bar made outdoor dining a pleasure. And the breakfast buffet was second to none in the variety and quality of food--exceptionally good, fresh tropical fruits. With a tour company right on site, we found it easy to book excellent tours each day to major natural and city sights, and were always happy to come home each evening to the comfort of this grand hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location and they will put you in the ideal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    428
    98
    49
    28
See reviews for
370
461
61
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

April 20th to April 25th, 2012 – My wife and I had the opportunity to spend a short, five night vacation at the Costa Rica Marriott hotel just outside of San Jose. Every aspect of our stay was wonderful!

Much of the credit for how great everything went goes to Ms. Boniche in Guest Services at the hotel. We corresponded via email and she arranged virtually everything that needed to be arranged before we left home. Her recommendations for tours were perfect for us.

Ms. Boniche arranged for us to be picked-up at the airport. Our flight from Miami was late, but when we exited customs Alexander Morun, was there, holding a sign, waiting to pick us up. He must have notified the hotel of our imminent arrival, because literally when we walked in the front entrance we were greeted by name checked in. That was really appreciated because we had flown all day and did not arrive until after 10:00 PM.

I had requested a quiet room with a view and that is exactly what we received. Our room was #604, on the top floor, overlooking the swimming pools and the hotel grounds. It was a very quiet room which both my wife and I appreciated. The room had a small French balcony – just enough room to sand on. The king-size bed was very comfortable and the pillows and linens all very fresh.

Elite status with Marriott allowed my wife and me access to the executive lounge on the 4th floor. Even if we would have had to pay extra for access it would have been worth it. The breakfast buffet each morning suited us perfectly and the service in the lounge was excellent. The buffet offerings were much more extensive that in domestic concierge lounges and the lounge was open seven days a week. And, while the buffet was self-serve, the friendly lounge staff was constantly asking if they could get you anything.

Ms. Boniche had arranged two full-day tours for us; one to the west coast to do a zip-line tour and the other into the mountains to do the La Paz waterfall tour followed by a visit to the Dokka coffee plantation. Roy Morun, Alexander’s brother, drove us to the zip-line tour and the next day, Alexander drove us to the mountains and rainforest. If you are going to be at the Marriott, I can strongly recommend asking for Alexander or Roy as drivers and tour guides. We really enjoyed their company.

Our room was perfectly clean when we checked in and the housekeeper left it that way each day when she serviced our room. Nightly turn-down service left chocolate as well as freshened the bathroom.

We had the specialty buffet in the Antigua restaurant the one night we had dinner at the hotel. Each night seems to feature a slightly different version of barbecue. We did the Argentine night and had a four or five meat choices. There were too many salads and side dishes to mention. The buffet dinner was a very reasonable $30 per person.

The Kuo spa at the hotel is beautiful. My wife and I did the couples massage. The two-level pool is very nice, with plenty of lounges on several levels. It was cool during our stay and only a handful of guests used the pool. There is a driving range at the hotel, but not being golfers, we did not use it.

The hotel is located close to Intel and Bridgestone which worried us. However once you enter the hotel property it is like you are in the country – very peaceful, quiet and lush. We enjoyed watching a pair of wild parrots in the palm trees right outside of our room each day. We were worried about insects, but there were literally none. We kept the sliding door to our room open throughout our stay.

Service at the hotel was really excellent. Everyone single hotel associate that I came in contact with was friendly and helpful. I can highly recommend the Costa Rica Marriott for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have the best views. Executive lounge is wonderful and worth the extra cost. Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LakersFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valinhos, SP
Level Contributor
552 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever been, with a special note on the services, as everybody is very attentions and helpful, and also the nice location and stile. it really looks like you are in a colonial coffee farm. Prices are not cheap for activies and purchases, so watch out.

Room Tip: All room are quiet, as you are far, but I suggest the ones with view to the back, where you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aguywhotravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

So you have one night in San Jose before you head out on your Costa Rican adventure. Stay here!

The rooms are spacious, there are several great restaurants and a wonderful outdoor patio to enjoy the evenings. Typical Marriott amenities: pool, room service, wi-fi (though you have to pay), a/c, ATM. The wine list extensive which I appreciate, albeit a bit pricey. One night they had a Mexican buffet which had an incredible amount of food and diversity. We left too early in the morning for our flights to sample breakfast, but if dinner was any indication, I'm sure it was nice,

This property has all rooms around a central courtyard which makes it feel like you're away from the noise of the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurousColorado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Kenzie, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We loved the Marriott Hotel near San Jose. The city and traffic in San Jose are very stressful and this was the perfect place to unwind and relax before heading home. We stayed two days after visiting Dominical. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It was expensive but worth it. Our room was standard but nicely appointed. The food was wonderful although rather pricey. If you're on a tight budget, this probably isn't the place for you but otherwise well worth the money. It was a perfect ending to our vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetotravelforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My family (two adults and a teen) chose this hotel as first stop in Costa Rica after our flight over the Atlantic Ocean and it is ideally located for this purpose, only 5 minutes by car from the airport and in a quiet although rather strange setting for a hotel (industrial zone). Nevertheless, it was quite a nice experience to arrive there because the building and the grounds are beautiful (hacienda style). Employees at the front desk are friendly and helpful but we had to wait quite a long time when checking in and out. We had booked two rooms of the cheapest category as we only stayed for one night. They were just like all the other rooms you usually find in a Marriott hotel meaning rather basic. This is the case most notably for the bathrooms, as one of the previous reviewers mentioned to the point, there are simple shower/bathtub combos. We had dinner at the tapas restaurant and were pleased with the offered food. As we were very tired we went to bed quite early (about 10 p.m.) which turned out to be not a very good idea as there was quite a hustle and bustle in the hallways (we were on the first floor to the front). I would recommend a room on an upper floor and maybe going to the rear (pool). We had breakfast on the porch which was pleasant and the buffet is worthwhile ordering. Overall, a good stop when flying in or off (the hacienda styled building is gorgeous), but I wouldn’t recommend it for a longer stay.

Room Tip: go for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had the opportunity to upgrade to an executive suite at check-in and we did. What a great room.. and the executive happy hour and breakfast were both delicious and worth the $50 upgrade (along with the wifi!). Great gym, beautiful pools.. such a nice little splurge after 80 days of more budget-range accomodations..

That said.. if we spent more than a day there it would have been pretty pricey to eat at the restaurants..

Room Tip: 440 was awesome..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing