We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why leave home?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Why leave home?”
Reviewed January 10, 2008

If you want your vacation to be just like home--full of fellow Americans eating gringo food--go to this Marriott. It's a lovely property with sparkling pools and comfy rooms but it was like we never left home. I'm not sure of the point of this property if you want to experience Costa Rica.

The food was uniformly okay to bad and not a good value. I don't expect hotel food to be cheap but it should be of a quality to match what you are receiving in the way of other amenities on the property. Luckily this was only a stopover on the way to the rest of our trip so we were able to enjoy Tico cuisine at it's best.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank getsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    490
    110
    53
    29
See reviews for
421
537
73
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed at this beautiful property for the beginning at end of our Costa Rica trip to be close to the aiport for arrival and departure and it was the smartest thing we could ever do!

Our flight arrived very late that evening and the courtesy airport shuttle was right there to pick us up. When we arrived at the hotel, although late at night, the hotel was staffed with plenty of employees to accomodate everyone checking in. Very smooth process.

All employees we dealt with were extremely professional and helpful.

The hotel is in mint condition and is just beautiful - probably one of the nicest Marriotts I've ever seen. The conceirge room is very nice with a wonderful coffee/expresso maker, very large and plenty of snacks through out the day. Excellent food for breakfast and lunch and an excellent assortment of beverages.

The rooms are spotless and very well appointed. The hotel offers excellent views and the grounds are beautiful. Food at the hotel was delicious and beverages are $2-3 less expensive than at the other Marriott in CR.

Excellent gift shop as well.

If you have a chance stay at this property - you will not be disappointed. It was such pleasure staying here.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank TX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitou springs, co
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed here one night before leaving back to the U.S. from San Jose. We're super happy with our choice. It is very close to the airport and offers free shuttle service. The hotel grounds are amazing with great mountain views, awesome pool area & hot tub, driving range, and numerous other amenities. They offer a few options for restaurants and bars, which all were good. The wine and tapas bar was fantastic! The place has all open air stairwells and has a very nice layout for a huge hotel. The rooms were very well-appointed. The gift shop was one of the nicest I found in San Jose. After staying one night at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica, this hotel was a complete turn-around for the better. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank jon-in-colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marleasil
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed at the Marriott San Jose in Costa Rica - Dec. 24 and 25 - left for the San Carlos Area and returned for a second stay from the 28th - Jan. 1. An excellent, excellent decision to stay at this hotel! The week between xmas and New Year's Eve is the busiest in Costa Rica. This hotel is a luxury property but not too large to be overwhelming and impersonal. The weather was superb - and we were told by locals that the climate generally here is better than in other parts of CR. The service was impeccable with a genuinely friendly staff. We participated in two tours - our favorite was to La Paz Waterfalls - terrific tour. *** During our stay a major sports celebrity was also a guest . The staff treated him nicely, but with the same respect and courtesy they gave everyone else. This person can stay anywhere - and chose this hotel which should say something! A delightful stay at a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank marleasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

At $172 + tax per night, this was a good choice, but after spending 5 days (what were we thinking?), we realized, there is NOTHING to do in San Jose. We were hoping for some sun/pool/relaxation before heading back home, but it was cloudy, cold and rainy all five days. BLECH. The food is VERY overpriced, and we actually had to fight with the manager to empty the minibar so we could use the fridge to store some water from the supermarket. This is definitely a nice, clean hotel (comfy bed and sheets), but do yourself a favor and only stay in San Jose for the nights you need to.

  • Liked — Nice hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing to do in San Jose
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank abbache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

We chose this hotel mostly as a staging ground to get to the airport and to avoid San Jose. We paid $185 (+ tax), which is a bit pricey for the budget minded, but the location can't be beat. The property is gorgeous and our room was large, clean, and comfortable. The internet was overpriced ($8.00 for 1/2 hour), but was expected for a business hotel. Self-parking is free.

The pool looked really nice and there is a small walking path around the golf course. The more low-key option for dining is the lounge with outdoor seating and a view of the city lights. The food was tasty and the wait staff were extra nice. For breakfast there is a "Starbucks" type cafe where you can sit outside.

This hotel has a nice location to the airport, but it is a bit of a splurge and you get what you pay for. It is a really nice hotel, but definitely not an inexpensive one.

  • Liked — Hotel property and grounds
  • Disliked — Overpriced internet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NekoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

This hotel is gorgeous and the service was remarkable. There are a lot to do within the property itself, so you could totally spend a whole day. There's a nice coffee shop in the premise and you've got to try the empanadas con queso. Then there was the goat cheesecake at La Isabela, the spanish restaurant at the hotel. This was my first goat cheesecake and it was absolutely fantastic!! The salmon ceviche at Antiqua, the other restaurant, was also delicious, made with fresh shaved coconut meat and ginger.

If you're planning to stay in San Jose as an anchor location, then this hotel is perfect. I would recommend to avoid San Jose downtown area - not too safe, quite dirty, and no beauty to see.

  • Liked — Very comfortable bed and goat cheesecake!!!
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Yuliana_Candra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,319 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,336 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing