We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here our first night in Costa Rica before heading off to Arenal. It's so nice that it set the bar pretty high for the rest of our trip. It's expensive, but worth a stop if your flying in or out and need a very nice stay before embarking on or from your adventure. Unless you have a car, it's difficult to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timshel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Have stayed here three times and each stay was a pleasure. Excellent service, bi-lingual staff, excellent food. Close to airport (perfect for overnight connections), beautiful grounds, architecturally pleasing. Good security made sure we were supposed to be on property and kept an eye on everyone very discreetly.

The only reason I will not rate five stars is that it can be pricey with food and beverage charges. If cost is a factor, try the Courtyard in Escazu.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have beautiful views, but not as tranquil as garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maminaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Came here Christmas Eve for one night before flying home on Christmas day. Very nice hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful - excellent. Hallways are noisy (open courtyard and tile floors). Had a buffet dinner, which was fair. Near airport, not near downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisdr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, impeccable service & delicious food. All staff I encountered is bi-lingual. Located close to the San Jose Airport, this hotel is great for spending your arrival night or last night. Love the tropical, plantation home style! The main building is built around a great Courtyard and is surrounded by coffee plants. Heavy wood furniture, tile floors and fresh flowers everywhere. Nice gift shop and business center. Also, this hotel is located close to several business parks for US and European Businesses. Great place to stay if you are traveling to San Jose on business.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I have stayed here twice and have been very pleased with the level of service and the architecture of the hotel. Very close to the airport and conceirge level has alot to offer.
Beautiful mountain views as well, the only problem is the tile floors produce alot of noise when walking with luggage so be aware you might be awaken if you are close to elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjw08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The hotel and its customer service were excellent, and, if you're coming here for a wedding (like my wife and I were) or because it's convenient to the airport, which it is, you'll be pleased with your choice. However, if you are here because you want to spend time in San Jose or are here for a business conference, probably not the best choice.

Room Tip: higher floors provide great views - we liked to see the city lit up at night and saw it, in the dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidvoyager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Like a lot of reviewers, we used the hotel as a first night entry into Costa Rica. It is 3 minutes from the airport and although less than a kilometer from a large tyre factory, you would never know it. A relatively new hotel is built in the classical Spanish Mission architecture and certainly evokes a bright sense of Spain. The walls are bright yellow and the floors are tiled with marvellous floral patterned tiles. The staff are very hospitable - plenty of smiles! The whole of the hotel is orientated towards the hills off the south and the grounds are sheathed from the surrounding commercial district by the vegetation.

Their are three or four dining options within the hotel which makes the stay here even more appealing: despite our late evening arrival we still ate in a restaurant where the food was very good.

The hotel does have a significant wedding catering business and on our Saturday night stay there were at least three weddings going on, but this certainly made the place buzz.

Plus: fabulous staff, restaurants, architecture

Minus: ostensibly it's a hotel airport which is a fair distance from San Jose or Escueza

Overall: probably the best airport hotel I have ever stayed at

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,450 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
5.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
920 reviews
1 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $172 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover striking architecture and impeccable accommodations at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose. Our luxury hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica offers a magical backdrop for a leisurely or adventurous stay. One of the best hotels in Central America, as rated by Condé Nast, our hacienda resort sits nestled within a 30-acre coffee plantation and offers views of the mountains or the San Jose skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing