We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Reviewed May 12, 2014

On reading previous reviews I started to wonder if this was the same hotel. But yes - the one near SJ international airport. I stayed one night at start of a tour and two nights on completion. Both times from the moment of arrival I was made feel welcome and staff were immediately responsive to any queries. Though the hotel is unprepossessing from the exterior, with a fairly plain lobby, both my rooms were large and well furnished. My last room on the 3rd floor was reached via a glass elevator and provided an expansive view from the pools to the mountains. Breakfast was ample. I ate across the road for other meals. Visited Quattro restaurant one but strobe light offputting and red wine of dubious quality so did not venture to try their menu. The hotel is a long way from anyplace except the airport but I understand shuttles are available and the public bus stop for San Jose downtown is very close.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel so much. As you mentioned, unfortunately, we sometimes receive negative reviews. Therefore, it is nice to hear that you apprecited the cleanliness of your rooms, the breakfast buffet, the view of the hotel and its surroundings, etc.

Please visit us again the next time you are in Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed for one night at the Wyndham hotel at first it looked a wonderful place.
The entrance and the reception are very welcoming. The checking was smooth. The room simple and not well organised there was no working space only a small table. On the bathroom tiled floor there were some hairs which gave the bathroom an unclean feeling. It was pretty much the standard of the hotel. Although only open for an hour the breakfast room was dirty, it was not cleaned after the evening service. From the floor to the cutlery, cups napkins... You had to look for something clean. It is a shame it can easily be checked since the cutlery was rolled by hand in a napkin.
It 's a shame that that Wyndham doesn't check there hotels better. It could be a nice place to stay if they managed it better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adnila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing to us. We are pleased that you liked our newly renovated lobby. We are sorry that you had some issues with the cleanliness of your bathroom. Obviously, I will bring this matter to our housekipping manager´s attention.

With regard to your comments about the condition of the restaurant for breakfast, we will centanly investigate everything you mentioned in order to ensure this situation does not occur again. In reference to both your room and the restaurant, I must admit that this is the first time I have received this type of comments, specially about the cutlery in the restaurant.

All the dishes, glasses and cutlery are cleaned in automatic dishwashers and they are checked when they are removed. As you mentioned the cutlery, is rolled up in a cloth napkin. When this is done, our staff polishes the silverware before wrapping them.

We hope to see you in the near future, and trust that you will not encounter any problems.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice lobby. Very pleasant staff at both bell desk and reception. In fact, it was the excellent service by the bellman, before I ever thought of staying here (just came to meet someone and have dinner) that encouraged me to stay here later on, on two occasions, during the summer of 2013.

Problem with the first room -- the poolside door would not lock properly -- led to a complimentary upgrade to a much nicer suite.

Liked the breakfast enough to go back and have dinner in the same restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcjoemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complementary note about our hotel. It is always a pleasure to know that our staff always offers such excellence service that they inspire visitor to come back as guests. We are sorry about the problems you had with the door in your first room. However, we are glad that you were pleased and very satisficed with the upgrade you were given.

We hope to see yoy again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Wyndham Herradura is close to the San José international airport but distant from the center of town. So the location is good for some, bad for others. It's good for, say, business meetings that benefit from easy airport access, but not so good if most of your planned activities in the city are downtown. It worked for me in this case, as I stayed there one night along with other members of my group who needed to get to the airport quickly the following morning.

The hotel comprises a mixed bag of older and newer sections, and unfortunately the members of my group were placed mostly on the second floor in an older building, to which access was available only by climbing up a long stairway. Either that wing was constructed before the invention of the elevator or the contractor was saving money, since there is no escalator, no passenger elevator, and not even a freight elevator to get people or materials up to the second floor. When I arrived at the hotel limping along on my gimpy knee, a bellhop kindly carried my heavy suitcase up the 15-step flight of stairs. But when I departed there was a delay in getting service so I had to drag it down the stairs myself -- one step at a time, which is the only way I can manage a staircase.

Other than getting to and from my room, the hotel had many positives. The lobby area was modern and impressive, the garden and landscaping were attractive, and the restaurant served good food with exemplary service.

Although it was a chore to get to my (literally) “upstairs” room with my injured knee, once there I found the room to be large and comfortable -- complete with desk, sofa, and two end tables with lamps next to the king-sized bed. Lamps were also strategically placed elsewhere in the room, perhaps to compensate for the lack of overhead lighting. There was an air-conditioning control on the wall, a large and easy-to-use in-room safe, and a flat screen TV offering around 80 channels including many in English. The room provided ample drawer and closet space, along with free wi-fi that benefited from a strong signal, although frequent repeated logins were required to reconnect.

On the downside, I had a truly ugly view from my second story room -- all I could see was a tin roof covering what appeared to be a utility shack in a maintenance area. And although the bed was comfortable, it was difficult to get to sleep on a Friday night as my room was continually penetrated by loud noise from a dance band -- with a heavy beat -- that persisted far into the night.

The bathroom was mostly OK. It provided quick warm water, although it was not always very hot. Amenities included a shower cap, wash cloth, tissue dispenser, and hair dryer. There was a full bathtub that contained a simple, excellent shower with a grab bar for safety, along with a retractable clothesline.

The Wyndham Herradura seems to be making a strong effort to attract business travelers and conferences with its upscale rooms and suites in the newer Tower section. But to appeal to the everyday traveler on a budget, who is likely to be relegated to the older wing, management should do something about the noise and would be well-advised to install some mobility aids in that building for baggage handling and less-mobile guests -- perhaps an automated ramp if adding an elevator or escalator is out of the question.

Room Tip: If you are assigned to the older section with no elevators, request a ground floor room. Or better y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonKVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that for the most part you were pleased with our facilities.

We are very sorry that you found being on the second floor so difficult. We have several rooms allocated for the handicapped, as well as ramp,s grab bars for the bathrooms and other aides for anyone who is handicapped, using a wheelchair or a walker. If we are informed in adavance that a person has certain difficulties with their mobility, we arrange for their room to be convenient as possible. I am not sure how you made your reservation, but it is possible to ask for a handicapped room when you make said reservation online or by phone. Most of the two story hotels in Costa Rica do not count on elevations or escalators.

As you mentioned some of our buildings are older than others. However, we are in the process of remodeling all our instalations. In order to aviod inconveniencing our guests this must be done slowly and inobtrusively.

We hope to see you again in the future and hope that you will make the necessary notes on your reservation in order to guarantee you a pleasant stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank 138blairh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
700 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,825 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel...
#6 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
204 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 Miles South of Intl Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $82 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing