We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross mildew rooms, terrible food, will not return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gross mildew rooms, terrible food, will not return!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here one night between our trip in Turrialba and Santa Teresa. It was by far one of the WORST hotels we have stayed at. The updated Lobby and the pools are the ONLY thing good about this hotel. Our initial room was located directly above a party taking place on one side of the building. The room was outdated and smelled stale. After calling down to complain and ask to be moved, I was told that the party should be over by 11pm (it was 9pm when I called down). I explained to the front desk that it was our honeymoon and I wanted a different room. After arguing back and forth, we were told we could switch to a suite behind the front desk. Once we arrived at our suite, while better than the original room, we noticed a damp mildew smell. At this point we did not want to deal with the hassle of the front desk and just wanted to rest, so we dealt with it. The bathroom was outdated and worn, the bed was uncomfortable, and the smell was awful. We were starving upon arrival and decided to go down to the restaurant for food. That just added to our problems as the food was overpriced and disgusting. The next day we had half the day before our flight and opted to tan by the pool. That was the ONLY saving grace in the hotel. We will certainly not be returning. We have stayed at several Wyndhams and this one by far dropped the ball.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erika9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Most of our rooms are spacious and our clients are usually very pleased with them. I will of course mention your comment about cleanliness to our housekeeping manager, althogh rarely receive negative comments about the upkeep of the rooms.

Our plans for this year include the renovation of the rooms, so we hope when you come again you will be happier during your stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    353
    220
    88
    64
See reviews for
173
289
66
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Everything about this hotel was comfortable and pleasurable . Three restaurants, casino and three pools across from hard rock with very good music (rock of course) and great food
Spent most of the day poolside

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your letter. It is pleasure to hear that you had such a nice stay and that everyting was to your satisfaction. On your next trip we hope you will have more time to spend with us.

Truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were put up at this hotel after a flight debacle. Although Frontier Airlines was horrible with customer service, being put up in this hotel was the saving grace. The service at the wyndham was fabulous. I was torn rather to give it a 3 or 4, because the hotel is pretty outdated. The pool is awesome and the bar was really fun..service was great. The beds were super comfy, but the rooms were not well taken care of. The food was mediocre at the restaurant. All in all my stay was positive, and it's a functional reliable hotel. Not a favorite but i really appreciate the incredible service, the warm shower and the nice beds.

Room Tip: No suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely message. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your positive comments about: the room; the location; service, staff; etc. were greatly appreciated. I hope that when you have another opportunity to visit Costa Rica, we will again have the pleasure to serve you.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed for 1 night ahead of early flight. Convenience was the key selective factor following 10 days in Costa Rica (La Fortuna / Playa Samara).

Positives:
* Clean and large spacious rooms
* Free airport shuttle every hour (trip max 15 minutes)
* Amazing onsite Japanese restaurant (best Japanese we've ever had outside of Japan)

Negatives:
* Hotel a little rough around the edges considering the price
* Pool water is cold even on super hot days (very windy) and swim-up bar was not being serviced

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyandRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us. We have an eco friendly hotel and we use solar panels for the motors and heating, therefore, the water is not as warm as might be expected.

On the other hand, as we are in the tropics, many guests find it a refreshing change. I am glad that you enjoyed the meal at the Sakura resturant.

Lookin forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked the Wyndham for five days and I can't say enough about the staff, especially the front desk; they were extremely helpful. We had a spacious room that led out to the pool...They also had FREE calls to Canada (and the US) which helped me keep in touch with work. The breakfast (included) was okay, nothing special. The restaurant (Quattro) was very good, but remember; it's not TO. There's a shopping centre across the street (but if you really want to shop, go to the MultiPlaza in Escazul) and a bus right outside that takes you downtown. The pool(s) are great, but a little cold, as was the Jacuzzi. There's a coffee shop in the hotel, but you have to be very specific about how you want your Latte; it's not Starbucks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very pleasant and affirmative message. It is good to know that you had a memorable visit, and that everything was to your satisfaction.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Costa Rica.... Pura Vida!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We didn't pay for this hotel after our flight was cancelled, so can't comment on the value for money. It is exactly what you would expect from a big chain hotel with nice rooms, a choice of several restaurants and nice pools.

It's proximity to the airport is great, but I would stay closer to downtown if you want to explore the city.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are greatful for your message and your comments. With regard to the location of our hotel, most of our guests prefer to stay at a convenient distance from the airport without being within the limits of the capital city. For those who wish to visit the city, there are tours as well as taxi service for exploring the city.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Microscopic room, questionable cleanliness and a lumpy bed. The hotel is a maze, and good luck finding anything here. Asked for a decaf coffee and was offered instant in the coffee center of the world.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Most of our rooms are spacious and our clients are usually very pleased with them. I will of course mention your comment about cleanliness to our housekeeping manager, althogh rarely receive negative comments about the upkeep of the rooms.

You are correct, Costa Rica has excellent coffee. However, we seldom receive requests for decaf from our guests.

Our plans for this year include the renovation of the rooms, so we hope when you come again you will be happier during your stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio De Belen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 Miles South of Intl Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing