We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a short stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We didn't pay for this hotel after our flight was cancelled, so can't comment on the value for money. It is exactly what you would expect from a big chain hotel with nice rooms, a choice of several restaurants and nice pools.

It's proximity to the airport is great, but I would stay closer to downtown if you want to explore the city.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are greatful for your message and your comments. With regard to the location of our hotel, most of our guests prefer to stay at a convenient distance from the airport without being within the limits of the capital city. For those who wish to visit the city, there are tours as well as taxi service for exploring the city.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    353
    220
    88
    64
See reviews for
174
289
66
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Microscopic room, questionable cleanliness and a lumpy bed. The hotel is a maze, and good luck finding anything here. Asked for a decaf coffee and was offered instant in the coffee center of the world.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Most of our rooms are spacious and our clients are usually very pleased with them. I will of course mention your comment about cleanliness to our housekeeping manager, althogh rarely receive negative comments about the upkeep of the rooms.

You are correct, Costa Rica has excellent coffee. However, we seldom receive requests for decaf from our guests.

Our plans for this year include the renovation of the rooms, so we hope when you come again you will be happier during your stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio De Belen hotels

Boise
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I spent the last night of a Costa Rica vacation at the Wyndham Herradura in San Jose. The hotel is magnificently appointed in almost every respect. The staff is friendly, helpful, and mostly bilingual. I do suspect however, that I was assigned a lessor room due to my Hotwire bargain rate. I was assigned to a room on one the further reaches of the ground floor. The room was lovely, with a jetted tub in the bath, but he shower barely functioned. Water just dribbled out of the showerhead, and despite my attempts, had no adjustment. I also found a rather large centipede type creature crawling across the floor. After said critter was promptly flushed, I saw no other insects, mammals, or other life within my room. In spite of the minor inconveniences, I would gladly return to the Wyndham for a longer stay to explore their beautiful pool areas, the internal bars, and the Hard Rock Café across the parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Loren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased that you intend to return. It is a pity that you had such a short stay this time. I will definitely mention your problems with the shower to our maintenance manager.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The multiple pools were beautiful and well maintained. The tropical cafe had very good food and excellent service. The rooms however were musty smelling and a bit creepy...I felt like anybody would be able to walk in easily.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are sorry that you did not find the room to your satisfaction. Our renovation is continuing and we will be investing a lot of time, money and effort to improve our accommodations. We are glad that you enjoyed the pools, and that your meals at Tropicala were very good.

Hopefully during your next visit you will be to take advantage of all the improvements we have made and we are continuing to make.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Descent hotel near airport. Rooms are big and clean. Food is good. Staff is really helpful. They have a shuttle around the clock and a Alamo rent-a-car on site which is nice. Negatives would be that it's a huge maze, the rooms are a bit noisy and some areas are showing their age. It's a great place near the airport but if you want to be close to town or looking for a upscale, romantic getaway - this ain't it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you chose our hotel for your stay. It is good for the most part you found your visit very positive. Our hotel is definetely quite big because we host many important events and international conferences which makes it noisy at times.

However, as you noticed, the distance to the airport, our shuttle service on site car rental makes our hotel a very convenient place in beautiful surroundings for many tourists. Most people prefer to simply take a day tour to visit downtown San José.

Next time you visit our country we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night before our flight home.

The pros: All the common areas are updated and clean, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were very spacious, the view of San Jose was beautiful, and the pools were really nice. We also used the free airport shuttle.

The cons: The hotel is BIG...almost too big... we almost got lost looking for the pool. The rooms aren't as updated as the common areas. The main restaurant (Tropicana) was so-so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrilliumOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for writing. We are glad that you made many positives points about our hotel. You are right, this is quite a large hotel, indeed we hold many special events and international meetings as well as congresses. Perhaps if you had had more time to spend with us, you would have been able to appreciate the grounds, the pools, the other three restaurants, in addition to a spa and the casino.

Hopefully on your next trip we will see you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 Miles South of Intl Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing