We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
GreenLeadersGold level
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel October 2013. The hotel is older but clean and very nicely decorated. Our room was small but adequate considering we did not plan to spend a lot of time in our room. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome The pool area was beautiful and very clean.
The hotel is close to the airport, shopping and restaurants. We ate at one of three restaurants in the hotel which also served an excellent buffet breakfast.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wintergetaway131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely message. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your positive comments about: the room; the location; the swimming pool area; etc. were greatly appreciated. I hope that when you have another opportunity to visit Costa Rica, we will again have the pleasure to serve you.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    284
    183
    64
    49
See reviews for
126
229
56
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel smelled initallly entering hallway where room was located but must admit no longer did the following days. Wi Fi access was great everywhere I went. Gym was small and just ok. Breaksfast buffet was more than adequate. Plenty of fruits. Meats were salty to my taste but appeared satisfying to others. Hotel staff was excellent entire time. Sushi restaurant had shallow depth of sushi. Cab needed to get to San Jose. Beach is 2 or more hours away.

Room Tip: may want to avoid lower levels. Music can be loud but did not stop me from sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing and sending your comments about our hotel. Different fresheners are used in the hallways every day. I am glad that usually you found them to be quiet agreeable. We are pleased that our staff served you so well, that you enjoyed your breakfast buffet and that the internet worked well.
We hope to see you again in the near future, whenever you visit Costa Rica.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple months on a business trip. this hotel seams nice but we experienced a few thing that is completely unacceptable, we understand that costa rica is full of wild life, but finding a scorpion and a rat jumping out of the toilet was what we experienced at this hotel. the pool isn't really clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony_potenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. I have never before received a comment such as yours. I will definitely talk to housekeeping and investigate this issue. With regard to the pools, they are cleaned daily. Should you visit us again we are sure that you won´t have any problems.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level Contributor
204 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is located aprox. 5-10 minutes from San Jose´s International airport.
A complimentary shuttle bus is provided by the hotel.

I decided to book this place as it had a very good rating on Expedia - which I don´t share at all after I had stayed here:

I arrived at night; the check-in was quick.
My room was on the ground floor: spacious but moldy-smelling.
Some maintenance work is required here (at least in the room I stayed in). See pics.
A lavatory - and no plug!
No manual water-tap with hot/cold water - only a contact-free "switch".



As I found out later, the sliding door to the terrace DID NOT LOCK!

The room´s furtniture was an absolute tasteless collection of furniture - a shame for a hotel of that category (see pictures). 3 stars - at its best.

I went to the "fitness facility" which was the next nightmare:
2 smelly rooms - disgusting.
Almost dark - thanks to several defective lights - and some old workout equipment.
Management: you should either shut this section down or bring it up to date!

In front of the hotel - like 30-50 meters,
construction work was going on: a Hard Rock Cafe is built.

It´s a 10 minutes walk to the Plaza Real Cariari Mall with some dining and shopping options.

Breakfast: A selection of fruits and sweet foods.
For being a tropical country, the juices were disgusting! Artificial sweet sugarwater!
Asking 3-4 times in order to get a cup of coffee - I wonder how the service is when the place is busy.

From the outside, the hotel looks nice - including the lobby.
The room, corridors, gym etc. are far below this level and needs some brush-up.

The location of the hotel is nice - and it´s a challenge for the management to
get it up to date so that visitors can fully enjoy all potentials.

I´ll look for a different place next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments. Your compliments regarding the outside of our hotel and the lobby were much appreciated. The constriuction of the Hard Rock Café has already been completed and it is now open for business.

We are sorry that you were not pleased with your stay. I have spoken to the operations manager and giving him a copy of your message. Your pictures made it possible for him to fix the demage which had been done behind the door and which was an oversight.

Here in the tropics it is very difficult to avoid any musty smell you mentioned due to high humidity such as we have in Costa Rica. Our rooms are aired frequently.

In your pictures I noticed that only one room of the gym was shown. I wonder if you saw the other rooms with the other equiment. With regard to the lighting I have not hear about this problem before. So we will definitely check into it. Usually the Tropicala restaurant has at least three fresh fruit juices available every morning. Indeed, many clients have complimented us on the quality of our breakfasts.


I should like to provide you with my direct email address ( mruiz@wyndhamherradura.com), if you return to Costa Rica it would be my pleasure to make sure that you receive a room which is to your liking and to show you the full extend of our installations and how to take full advantage of them.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Excellent service and facilities. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Alexander,

Thank you for your very pleasant and affirmative message. It is good to know that you had a memorable visit, and that everything was to your satisfaction.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Costa Rica.... Pura Vida!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Purpose of our visit here was a business conference for my husband, and some touristy things.
We arrived in early, and were checked in with efficiency. Our luggage was stored until our room was ready. The whole process was painless.
We were given the meandering tour thru the maze of accommodation wings to the restaurant, and enjoyed a great meal by the hot tubs. Prices were not exhorbitant, and the food was tasty.
Our room was ready and we settled in. Fortunately we were put in the newer section of the hotel, where key passes are required to use the elevators...so we didn't have issues with roving bands of drunken partiers. However if said people had just gone to the far end of the stairs...they would have found that the stair doors were always open, so really the key pass security was pointless. Also I watched a young child jimmy the stair door close to the elevator, which was actually locked and closed, but not securely latched, and gain access to the secure area that way. Sure made it faster to get to our room.
Our room was spacious, clean, and had a view over the pools...just lovely.
We did hear some raucous one evening in the hot tubs, but hotel staff were quick to disperse the partyers and it was quiet again.
It was nice that there were two tourist information offices in the hotel...near the lobby. I made good use of both these establishments and will review my tours there as well...the 3 in one tour with Marbello Tours; the Britt coffee tour; and thru Grayline...the Jungle Tom Safari tour to Tortuguero.
We ate twice at Satsura restaurant in the Hotel...fabulous sushi, good service...just wasn't expecting to have sushi in Costa rica...I try to taste local foods as much as possible. However..it became quick knowledge that the nearby Italian restaurant was sub par...and we did explore some restaurants around the Hotel...we were just limited by space, and distance.
Pools were continually cleaned and maintained...wonderful...debris from thoughtless guests quickly collected...gym facilities rather warm, but the fan did help...all machines functioned well.
Breakfast was extensive...to say the least...all very tasty..highlighting local favourites as well...lots of fresh fruit...and if you like coffee...it was tremendous. Staff hard working and courteous.
Nice gift shop in the lobby...conference center a short walk across the parking lot...certainly fed the conference people well and provided a fine location for the meeting (600 people).
Location is relatively close to the airport, across from the Carrion shopping center...ha...no jokes about that...with lots of opportunity to shop/dine there if you wished. Otherwise it was a rather industrial/residential area...which could have been in any big city.
What more can I say...nothing untoward happened...it was a clean, peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive floors by the pool...marvelous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mokinator10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We are greatful for your message. We are glad you enjoyed your stay as well as the restaurants, the pools, the tour agencies and the subsequent tours. We appreciate you mentioning the fact that the star doors were either opened or easy to open, we will definitely check into this to improve security. It is good that you were not bothered by the poeple who were partying, and we are pleased to hear that our staff quickly broke up the group which was causing to much noise.

We expect to see you in the near future and trust that you will once again enjoy your stay.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#3 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
6.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel And Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing