We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy for the first night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

After a 23 hour door to door flight this was just what we were after on our first night in Costa Rica. Only about 10 mins from the airport costing about $15 in a taxi. Nice big rooms with double bed each :-), very quiet and nice breakfast the next morning of pancakes, scrambled eggs etc. Not an awful lot to do in the area so you wouldn't linger here long but for first or last night - top marks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 209 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nearly impossible to find and the staff could not give any directions beyond it is close to the Panasonic. If you are not familar with San Jose good luck. Air conditioning broke after about 2 hours. Not unexpected in the tropics but this was the only place in Costa Rica we had ants and geckos in the room. Pool was dirty, hot tub cold. Overall not impressed

Definitely do not try to stay here your first nite right off a plane if you get in late. You won't find it.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cook42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before flight out of Costa Rica. I wish we had stayed here too the first night in San Jose. The hotel is very nice, comfortable and with a great location near the airport and near several other restaurants and attractions.

The steakhouse was AMAZING; the food was unbelievable and the service could not have been better. I would eat here every week if I could.

If I'm ever back in San Jose I will stay here again. It also has a playground, tennis courts, fitness

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melisa279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely looking hotel, Fromm large clean etc however breakfast not very good. Worst selection of the holiday. At reception we were not told properly where our room was just on the second floor! Tried the steakhouse when we arrived at lunchtime and has almost nothing of a light nature. Had a starter each and they were very small and not that good. Wifi didn't work in room and husband iPhone wouldnt connect at all. Has the chance to be a really great place to stay but just not friendly or welcoming and no atmosphere at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We chose this hotel for our last night in Costa Rica due to its proximity to the airport. It was very quiet despite this fact!

The rooms were spacious and clean, and the complimentary breakfast had a great selection. The grounds are beautifully landscaped.

The restaurant was large, clean and had a great selection of menu items at fairly reasonable prices. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I feel like I can't review much as we arrived quite late at night and left early morning but the room was large and clean and breakfast was very good. Reasonably close to airport. One negative was that the 2 young men at reception when we arrived weren't that helpful and only really pointed us in the general direction of our room and we ended up wandering with our heavy packs for a while trying to find it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZookeeperAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We chose this classic hotel to be close to the airport for our last night (but not close to anything else). The parklike setting with tennis court, pool and steakhouse (worthwhile experience) was very relaxing and convenient for our last day in Costa Rica. Breakfast was included with a great selection of rice and beans, eggs, plantain, pancakes, bread/toast, juice, coffee but no tea. Can't expect everything! It was very convenient to have ramps for access to our second floor room. It was huge with beautiful wood floors, fridge, coffee maker, flat panel TV. No microwave and WIFI in the room. WIFI in lobby was also poor but were advised that the system was being upgraded soon. The bathroom was also huge but strange, no shower curtain (see photo). Metered taxi ride to airport in the morning should cost about $15+tip. Sadly, Costa Rica certainly has changed with prices close to North American prices for everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
93 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,020 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
321 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse

Address: 49-4005 | Southwest Side of Panasonic. Belen-Lindora Road, San Antonio De Belen 49-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $71 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Rodeo is a Four-Star Boutique Hotel that replaces the impersonal atmosphere of hotel chains with Costa Rican charming warmth, plus exceptional service and great comfort in a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. El Rodeo Boutique Hotel & Steak House is conveniently located 10 minutes away from Juan Santamaria International Airport, and in the heart of the latest, bustling business and commercial district, Santa Ana/San Antonio de Belen (Lindora). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Rodeo Country San Antonio De Belen
Country Inn San Antonio De Belen
San Antonio De Belen Country Inn
El Rodeo Country Hotel
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing