We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel Near San Jose Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a delightful hotel near the San Jose Airport. It is quiet, secure, and well maintained. The rooms are large and comfortable. The service is friendly and attentive. My wife and I loved it!

Room Tip: I doubt that there is a poor room! The beds are very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 202 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

about 10 minutes from san jose international airport. a real boutique hotel.

Room Tip: the only problem: far away from down town to whom this parameter important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestsZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We spent our final night of our trip to Costa Rica at this hotel. It was a wonderful way to end a nice vacation. The rooms are spacious and the restaurant is right next to the hotel. The breakfast which was included in the room rate had varied selections and was served on the hotel's veranda.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here for two nights - one at the beginning of our trip and one at the end. The hotel is clean, comfortable with large rooms. The food at the restaurant was very good. The staff was great and we would definitely stay there again. Watch out for the traffic around the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mab917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

If you are using San Jose as your home base for traveling around Costa Rica, then this hotel is where you should stay. We arrived late in the evening after staying at another hotel in Puntarenas and walking into the El Rodeo was like walking into paradise, comparatively. The front desk staff brought us some fruit and donuts after we got to our room because the restaurant was closed. They then packed us a breakfast bag when we checked out at 4:30 in the morning since we would be missing the regular breakfast hours. The room was so quiet and clean and comfortable it was a great sleep. This will be our hotel of choice the next time we go to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Use this as your home base in Costa Rica
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaanonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Warning. The telephone system at this hotel is operated via an automated system using a credit card. In my case the hotel quoted US$ 0.65c per minute to phone UK. When the Credit Card bill arrived it was for a total cost of £108.08p. This was for a two minute call to a wrong number and two short short calls totalling no more than ten-twelve minutes. In spite of promises to myself and my bank, the hotel has conistantly refused to provide a copy of their telephone charges rendering it impossible for my bank to dispute the charges. You may draw your own conclusions from the hotels lack of cooperation. You have been warned.
In spite of being in an isolated position in an unsavoury area this is an otherwise clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weasle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

It is difficult to rate this property, because it depends so much on what you are really expecting out of it.

Is it close to the airport? Yes it is technically but it is all backcountry roads with no names or numbers and you only make turns based on landmarks (like all of CR, so be careful, or get a GPS) Time wise it may be the closest, but its in no way the easiest to get to from the airport, especially at night. One turn gets you to the highway to get into San Jose, but you do go out of your way if going back to the airport.

Is it in a nice town or area? Hard to say, the town its in is impossible to get around due to one way streets and no names on streets. There are some 'rough' areas that you find when you're lost, but where the hotel is seems pretty much like the rest of CR, not great, not bad. Just remember it is by the Panasonic factory and anyone can help you find that.

Does everyone have to stay by the airport when they are coming into CR or going?? Yes it seems the flights dictate an airport stay.

Is it worth the money?? No way. Over a hundred dollars for this? If you're ok with paying that much for a country feel to a motel 6 type inn, then go right ahead. Unfortunately we stayed at 3 places near the airport and not one of them were worth the money, so good luck finding one. I suggest using hotel rewards points since the 'americanized' hotels are very pricey in the area.

Is the service good, and the people friendly?? Absolutely. We got in very early in the morning and they had a room available for us so that we could take a nap after our overnight flight. You will not get that at a chain hotel for sure. Reception people spoke English well enough, but do not expect the other staff to be fluent.

Amenities. Room was nice and clean. The bed was definately on the hard side, although i was so tired I could have slept on the hard wood floors. We had a small fridge. Dark drapes to make it dark enough to sleep easy. Breakfast in the morning was fresh and half buffet style. Pool looked refreshing although we did not use it. Bring your own shampoo and soap if you are particular about that. I did not see the computer in the lobby as others had noted, and did not try to log onto their wifi, so verify that before you arrive if that is important. There is a large restaurant as you arrive on the property, but it is expensive (like all food in CR) we did not eat at.

Hopefully this review helps you decide what is important to your stay, and how long you will be there to decide for yourself. If I ever return to CR I will be heading out of the San Jose area as fast as my car will take me....

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Azgators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
691 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse

Address: 49-4005 | Southwest Side of Panasonic. Belen-Lindora Road, San Antonio De Belen 49-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $67 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Rodeo is a Four-Star Boutique Hotel that replaces the impersonal atmosphere of hotel chains with Costa Rican charming warmth, plus exceptional service and great comfort in a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. El Rodeo Boutique Hotel & Steak House is conveniently located 10 minutes away from Juan Santamaria International Airport, and in the heart of the latest, bustling business and commercial district, Santa Ana/San Antonio de Belen (Lindora). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Rodeo Country San Antonio De Belen
Country Inn San Antonio De Belen
San Antonio De Belen Country Inn
El Rodeo Country Hotel
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing