We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Terrazas de Golf and Cecelia were our family's first landing point in Costa Rica and the experience could not have been more welcoming. From the moment we walked in to the lobby until we departed the next morning, we were treated like old friends. The space is beautiful, the small outdoor patio was perfect for our two boys (9 and 11) to stretch their legs until they could get outside and enjoy the beautiful grounds. Cecelia had wonderful recommendations, refreshments and brief tutorial for all of us on the country and surrounding area. It was an easy taxi ride from the airport and when we continued our trip the next morning we were refreshed, filled with ideas and energy and well fed.

For those of you traveling with kids, it's stressful enough coordinating things, getting the logistics right. Our whole experience with this hotel decreased our stress level, made things easy, and was a beautiful, tropical way to kick off the adventure.

Thank you for kicking off our trip with positive vibes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrazasdegolf, Owner at Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Sandra:
Thank you for taking your time and posting a review on Trip Advisor about your stay at TERRAZAS DE GOLF.
We are very pleased that your trip was perfect, and that we were part of "those positive vibes" at the beginning of your trip.
We loved meeting you and your kids. Very nice family!!!
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Cecilia Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 151 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My second stay at Terrazas de Golf and I liked it even more than my last visit. Cecile and her husband will help you with every need. In fact they will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy you stay.
This was for sure not my last visit.

Thanks to both of you for a truly special and unique experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrazasdegolf, Owner at Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thanks Pascal for coming to our hotel. Thanks for expressing your feelings at Trip Advisor after staying with us.Thanks Pascal for choosing TERRAZAS DE GOLF as your home in Costa Rica. We are very glad for it!!!
We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I found this hotel through Trip Advisor, and was a BIT leery because all of the reviews were so positive. You know the old saying, "if it sounds too good to be true................." Well, all of the reviews were correct! Hotel Terrazas de Golf is fabulous! We cleared customs at the airport, and were met by Mario and his charming granddaughter Lucy (who was holding a sign with our name). They took us to the hotel, where Cecilia greeted us with big hugs. We instantly felt at home. Cecilia provided a refreshing fruit drink and cake when we arrived. And then she provided SO much information! She arranged a coffee plantation/volcano/ waterfall tour for us, and it was great. I highly recommend it! Prior to our arrival in Costa Rica, I sent MANY emails to Cecilia, requesting info about what to do, where to go, and how to get there. She could not have been more gracious in providing suggestions. She even arranged a rental car for us! We stayed in the suite with 2 queen beds and a private hot tub on the balcony. So romantic! And Cecilia added extra touches with chocolates, candles, and special towels with "love" monograms. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Our original plan was to stay in the San Jose area for one night when we arrived in Costa Rica and to stay again on our last night in the country. However, after discovering Hotel Terrazas de Golf on Trip Advisor and reading all the wonderful reviews, we decided to extend our stay to three nights upon arrival and for two nights at the end of our trip. We're so glad we did! There is plenty to do in the area, and Cecilia is great at providing "insider" tips. If you stay, be sure to ask how to get to the chocolate factory store--it's in walking distance and well worth visiting. The chocolate is wonderful, and they make it on site, so you know it's fresh. We had an early morning flight out, and Mario was ready with a smile to take us to the airport at some ridiculous hour. Since we would miss breakfast, Cecilia provided us with bagged meals to take with us. She also gave us a bagged lunch to take with us the day we left the hotel to head to the Caribbean. Our room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. We hope to return to Costa Rica one day, and we will definitely stay here again if we do!

Room Tip: I think we were in room 10, but it's the one with two queen beds and a private balcony with a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrazasdegolf, Owner at Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thanks Susan for taking your time for this review.
We were very pleased at TERRAZAS DE GOLF to host you for your honeymoon.
We are glad that you enjoyed the courtesies that we offer to honeymooners.
Thank you for coming to Costa Rica.
Thank you for choosing TERRAZAS DE GOLF for the beginning of your new life.
We wish you the best. We wish you happiness forever!!!
Cecilia Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you are headed into or out of San Jose, Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel is a great place to stay. The owners are on-site managers and really care about you, the hotel and your stay. The hotel is new (I believe in 2012). It's beautifully furnished, warm and comfortable. There is plenty of hot water for a long, relaxing shower. The bed was great and the pillows were perfect.

I was offered breakfast with my room. The kitchen opened at 6 am. However, my flight was at 6am, so I had to leave the hotel at 3:45am. So, the owner asked me the night before what I'd like to have in my breakfast box, which would be ready for me when I woke up. Breakfast was ready, delicious and the coffee was hot! At 4 am, the owner drove me to the airport, and had a smile on his face even at that early hour.

The owner of the hotel picked me up in Downtown San Jose in his personal car when I came to stay with them. He drove me to his hotel, near the airport. He was a charming, affable man who made the hour plus drive during rush hour very pleasant, and acted as a tour guide along the way. When we arrived, his wife took me into a lounge area and brought me a drink to sip while I checked into the hotel. The service was impeccable and my overall experience couldn't have been better.

If you are coming into, or leaving from San Jose, I highly recommend this charming hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I was in a room at the street side of the hotel, and it was perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sculptor-for-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrazasdegolf, Owner at Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel.
Thank you for transmitting your feelings of a "Great Boutique Hotel".
Thanks for allowing us to serve you.
We were very pleased to do it
Cecilia Esquivel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The second you get off your long flight to Costa Rica, and make it through immigration, baggage claim and customs, you are immediately reassured to see someone from the hotel holding a sign to pick you up and take you to what is one of the most charming open space hotel designs. Remodeled with loving detail, the rooms are large and comfortable. The homemade banana cake and pineapple drink that I was offered when I arrived at about 10:30 pm was perfect to erase all traces of travel fatigue. The hotel owner is incredibly gracious and knowledgable. She is also fluent in French. I only stayed one night as a layover for my trip to Aguila de Osa in the Osa peninsula area, but this hotel was perfect for my needs and I slept very comfortably. I felt bad that I wasn't hungry enough to have the breakfast they also make fresh for guests. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrazasdegolf, Owner at Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Michelle:
Thank you for your nice commentaries. We appreciate them.
We are glad that you felt at home; we felt that we received our dear friend Michelle.
Thank you for coming to Costa Rica. Thank you for choosing TERRAZAS DE GOLF for the beginning of this "Pura Vida" experience!!
Cecilia Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica. We stayed two nights, one on the way to Drake Bay and one on our return before flying out of San Jose. The hotel, actually a B & B, is beautiful. Everything is clean and convenient and the grounds are lovely. Cecelia and Mario are amazing hosts. She provided a lot of history and stories about Costa Rica and went out of her way to see that we were pleased with our stay. Mario drove us to and from the airport. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim and Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terragolf, Owner at Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Jim and Nacy:
Thank you so much for your review. We deeply appreciate all your kind words and especially, for taking time to express at TRIP ADVISOR your TERRAZAS DE GOLF experience.
We hope that you and the rest of the group, will have the opportunity to come back to Costa Rica. You know that you have your home here!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was my first time in a B&B; it's really a home on the golf course. Everything I read on Trip Advisor was true! Cecelia is the "hostess with the mostest". I was warmly greeted by name with a hug when I arrived on the free shuttle from the airport. My room was very clean, comfortable and spacious (bathroom a little small, but functional. Overlooking the golf course, and beautiful landscaping. They can set you up with a round of golf if you like. Free wifi and typical breakfast with eggs made to order. Each room has unique character. Satellite TV with a few English channels always helps. Cecilia offered to drive me to restaurants or pick up food for dinner; she even stayed up till midnight until I returned from dinner to be sure everything was ok. There's a Hard Rock Cafe a short walk away, and other restaurants nearby. Definitely worth the stay if you come in or go out of SJO.

Room Tip: Call or email beforehand cecelia to ask her which room would be best for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EfficientTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrazasdegolf, General Manager at Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your concepts about TERRAZAS DE GOLF. Thank you for taking your valuable time to give a broad overview of the hotel
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It was an honor to host you during the Congress of Physical Therapy organized by Santa Paula University.
We loved your way of being, your dedication and commintment with people affected by physical problems.
Welcome any time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,464 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,801 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
984 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel

Address: 100 Meters South, 100 Meters West Conference Center Wyndham Herradura Hotel | Cariari #28, San Antonio De Belen 114-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $86 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable and elegant rooms in a familiar ambiance and lush nature.Our goal is to make your visit,a wonderful hotel experience. You will arrive as a guest and you will leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrazas De Golf Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing