We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This was a very nice hotel. The staff really works hard to please guests. When the ice machine did not work and we called the front desk they immediately brought us a bucket of ice. The rooms are in the midst of a tropical setting and are comfortable. It was clean and staff always ready to help. The pool was nice but you have to check out the pool towels and when you return them you leave them in a bin and place your ticket in a box. There is really no way to verify you returned the towels as anyone can say the towels and ticket placed was theirs-no one verifies the actual return-but we had no problems. The restaurant food was decent but expensive by Costa Rican standards at $10-15. There is a mall nearby with some great restaurants but expect to pay $10-15. The casino was nearly empty. This hotel is close to the airport and not in the middle of downtown. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    510
    157
    57
    32
See reviews for
280
382
70
438
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I was really hoping to stay at an independent hotel in downtown San Jose for the last night of our vacation in Costa Rica. However, I had a 6AM flight out of CR the next day and downtown is too far from the airport. So, I chose this Double Tree because it appeared to have the best reviews of all the hotels near the airport here on Trip Advisor.

The hotel was great and lived up to expectations. It's in a charming and well maintained older property. The rooms are large with extremely comfortable beds. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool was very pleasant. They even have a small casino with blackjack tables, but the casino did not make the hotel seedy. I have no complaints at all and will definitely return if I'm ever need to stay near the San Jose airport.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here for the first night of our 11-day Costa Rica trip. It was a short 10-15 minutes from the international airport. We were impressed by the friendly and helpful staff. We arrived at about noon and were able to check in early. The pool area was nice. We liked our balcony with a pool view. Our room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The casino was small, but we enjoyed it for an hour or two of entertainment. The meal at the restaurant was nice. The next morning, they had a cab ready for us bright and early as requested to head to Pavas airport – about a 20 minute ride. We will stay here again the next time we are fortunate enough to visit Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

The Thompson Twins would be proud of the front desk manager. Here's the story:

Checked in on 6/8 to catch the flight home after 3 wonderful, glorious nights in La Fortuna/Arenal. Reservation was prepaid at rate of $118.15 plus taxes. Reservation made for 2 adults. On check-in we were told that the reservation was for one adult and that the extra charge per person, per night was $30.00!! The manager said that it is now customary around the world for rooms to be quoted for one person. Yeah, right...and if you believe that one I also have arid desert land in La Fortuna for sale.

To make things worse on the "bait and gouge", the confirmation actually had one adult, when the website properly shows 2. I have attached the picture as proof when booking the room, but you can also check the site for yourself. This must be the Doubletree way of doing business... trying to take extra money from unsuspecting travelers. The manager acted like she was doing us a favor and waived the gouging.

Here are some of the other issues encountered during our stay:

1) The floor in the first room was so dirty that after about 10 steps the bottom of my foot was a light-grey. Also encountered bedbugs. We were moved (downgraded) to another room with no apology for our inconvenience.

2) While trying to sleep for a 4:20 AM wake-up, the fire alarms were blaring at 11:30 PM.

On the good side, the restaurant was reasonably priced with good food. Winning money at the casino was also a plus.

A previous reviewer commented about the sensitivity of the hot water in the shower/tub. This is very, very true. Be careful (ten cuidado).

I am over the Hilton chain. No more (no mas)...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningman5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Costa Rica. We loved staying at the Doubletree Cariari at the beginning of our stay so much that we booked another night at the end of our trip since we were flying back from San Jose again! The location is close enough to the airport but still somewhat separated from the busy San Jose crowds. If you intend to use the shuttle from the airport upon arrival, make sure to set it up before you arrive because they don't routinely pick up and drop off. We took a cab (the "official" orange cab) and it was a quick 15 minute ride to the hotel. The rooms are clean and well-maintained, and the pool is spacious. The restaurant served tasty dinners at a great price. But the best aspect of this hotel is the service. Everyone was so helpful and warm from the moment we checked in. The warm cookie is a great start :) The staff went out of their way to explain how to get somewhere, where to eat, even what to do when we were in other parts of Cosa Rica. Carla from the tour desk was wonderful because she literally drew out a huge map and told us how to spend our time efficiently. The service manager, Lucia, offered us a complementary shuttle to pick up our rental car and even gave us a departing gift. She was so professional yet extremely warm. We truly enjoyed our stay at Doubletree Cariari and look foward to revisiting our new friends there again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSpecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed here for one night upon arrival in San Jose.

The hotel was very good. The staff seemed very helpful and the room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The pool was pleasant and the hotel atmosphere was easy to relax in.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for its close proximity to the airport (but there is no airport noise).

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Plantriptoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

The Double Tree Cariari is as good as it gets for this area and almost as good as it gets for the San Jose area. I am a frequent business traveler to San Jose and have stayed at many fine places ( Intercontinental, Marriott, Marriott Courtyard, Ramada Heradura) and I have never been treated better. Some places might have a bit nicer furniture or slightly better restaurants but not much. The rooms are huge, the water pressure is awesome, the food pretty darn good, and the service is excellent. I had complete privacy and there was zero noise except for a few birds who like to sing at around 3:00 AM.. usually following a rain storm but this is Costa Rica. Go with it. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank someone_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
943 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
645 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing