We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent to relax by the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Located near the airport and close to major highways, it is surrounded by green oasis which makes it, a very safe, nice and calm area. Food is more than excellent, breakfast buffet included is amazing. Service is neat, the pool area is nice and very sunny, excellent to relax after a visit in the city. Although the hotel is not new, rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtltravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels... Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is tropical paradise. The rooms are quite large, some having balconies while others steps from the beautiful pool. There is a swim up bar and a fitness center. The breakfast at the Executive Lounge is delicious. Staff were very helpful by making transportation arrange,nets to and from the airport as well as booking a coffee tour. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: If you want to be steps from the pool, ask for a poolside room. If you want a private balcony to en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalianTravelerLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! So glad you were able to experience our authentic hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stay at this hotel frequently while on business in San Jose. It is the one hotel in the city where you feel like you are in a Latin American country and not just in a hotel that could be anywhere in the US. The staff is always pleasant. Not far from the airport, so it is convenient for travel in and out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate your business. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our Guests. Thanks again for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Overall this is a greta hotel, very large and spaciuous rooms and pleasant staff. Has central location to get around in San Jose and offers a great pool and the resturants are good and a have a complete menue. Breakfast is a full course with an omlett station and freash fruit and juices. The fitness center is very clean, has good equipment, roomy and has free weights and aerobic machines that will allow any level of workout. The local grounds and surraounding areas are greta places to get ina walk and enjoy the weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! So glad you were able to experience our authentic hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here because of nearby golf courses but, when we weren't golfing, we were stuck in the middle of an industrial zone miles from points of interest unless you just like sitting by the pool. You must have a car for stays of longer than overnight although there are several good restaurants and a grocery store within walking distance. The facility is dated and do not bother to pay for the executive suite level on weekends as the happy hour lounge is closed. Our third floor room did not have a refrigerator, was scarcely furnished but adequate. Food was okay, free wifi available in public areas, and service was attentive.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our first time and will come again. The staff were attentive and Fernando (evening)and (Sylsa) morning from the executive lounge were the best #1. Both created " ambiente" and we could relax and enjoy. The restaurant next to the pool was also great with Edwin providing excellent service. The hotel has an open lobby and a small turtle pond. The plants and trees give it a tropical feel. We had a problem with the computer in the lobby but the staff from the front desk helped us. The hotel became a base where we took tours around the central region. We are glad we did not stay in San Jose as this hotel is peaceful and relaxing. We had to make a room change due to the fact we wanted to have a view of the pool and the administration provided it without a problem.
Ramon Salcido

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor facing the restaurant, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamonSalcido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Fernando, Sylsa and Edwin were helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with them. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel offers everything you'd expect from a Doubletree. Good rooms, lovely pool, large public areas. Really very difficult to fault at all. There is not much nearby (well, a big mall that we found impossible to reach as it was dark and pouring with rain), though there is a very nice little pizza place around the corner.
All in all, a very good place for the day of arrival or if you have an early morning flight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

I am very happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,854 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $103 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing