We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Doubletree was so nice we hated to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We flew into San Jose and spent one day and night at the Doubletree Cariari by Hilton San Jose. It's just minutes from the Airport so it's a good location if you are not wanted to travel too far from Juan Santamaría International Airport. I wish we had another day as we didn't get a chance to really see San Jose. We've stayed at many Doubletree's before as we always try to stay at the Hilton family of hotels and this Doubletree by far was the most luxurious one we stayed at. It is not very showy on the outside, but that like the cover and book and judging before you go in etc. Once inside the floors, walls everywhere you would find well maintained wooden floors and fixtures. That's not common at the doubletrees we've stayed in the USA. There was a large pool with a dining area overlooking the pool area. We did get a chance to enjoy the fairly large Hot tub.

The beds were ultra comfortable. We usually use the rooms to sleep, shower change and then go out so we are not that picky as far as rooms go, but this one was outstanding.

Since we are Gold level Hilton Honors members we had the opportunity to visit the Excutive lounge a few times for complimentary wine and Horderves and light dinner. Breakfast I'll have to say was one of the nicest we had while staying in Costa Rica. Lot's of fresh fruit and many items to choose from. A great way to start our visit to this Central American country.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iseektoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Your comments about your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed for nearly a month at Doubletree Cariari during a business trip to Costa Rica. The main advantage of Doubletree Cariari is its location close to the airport and to the Heredia Free Zone so its make sense for your work related travel. This is also a problem because this is quite a drive from the San Jos City hotspots so if you are looking for a little bit of city action. That said there are quite a few restaurants within walking distance. There is a mall with a food court which is also close by. Not much of a mall for shopping but more if you are ok with fast food and/ or buying provisions from a grocery store.
I was travelling in and out of Costa Rica so had to change rooms quite a few times. I have to say the room quality was disappointing. There were at least two occasions when the drainage or the shower in the rooms were not working. Also the rooms were quite different in sizes (some had smaller wardrobes for example) and some of them were not very well maintained .
The only restaurant has a limited menu but the breakfast at doubletree was truly excellent

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suvosinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose.
We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement. Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This was a transition hotel between the flight from the US and our expedition that left the next day. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the pool with the swim up bar but everything including the good was excellent. Would definitely stay there if I get back to San Jose.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

We’re happy you had a great stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. Come see us again soon – we’ve got a delicious chocolate chip cookie waiting for you! Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had dinner here a couple of months ago, and so decided to stay on our next visit to San José. As HHonors members we were able to take advantage of a $50/day services credit and $15 executive level upgrade. We got a spacious king room with access to the executive lounge for complimentary snacks and wine. Included was a breakfast buffet, which included made to order omelets and just about anything else you might want. The credit bought our dinners, so it worked out to a super deal.

We enjoyed the pool and swim-up bar, the open lobby and convenient location. The bed was comfortable and staff helpful. We even got our car washed while it was parked at the hotel!

We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a 3rd floor room. They don't have a path in front of them, but then there is also no elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pioneeraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thanks for staying here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very good service and a great location. Breakfast is a must. The pool looked outstanding and I hope to get back again to have a chance to use the pool. Eddie the bartender in the lounge is a great guy and the lounge is a great place to have a drink and relax at the end of your day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank David Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. I’m happy to hear that Eddie made your stay more comfortable. I’ll pass it on. Thanks for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed here recently for a business trip - had to check in early because I had taken a red eye flight. There was absolutely no hassle checking in, as my room was ready. My room faced a small courtyard on the back of the property, so it was very quiet. I had a nice breakfast with good coffee and a nice selection of food at the buffet. Afterward, I was exhausted so I went to bed for a few hours. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was quiet enough for me to sleep through the middle part of the day! I had to meet up with a group and needed a few things for the remainder of my trip, so I walked to the nearby grocery story and shopping center. Very comfortable and nice hotel. If I have to transit through Costa Rica again, I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thanks for your comments. Whenever you’re in Costa Rica, stop by the DoubleTree by
Hilton Cariari San Jose. We’ll take good care of you. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

always a favorite always a favorite alwayalways a favorite s a favorite always a favoritealways a favorite always a favorite always a favorite always a favorite alwayalways a favorite s a favorite always a favoritealways a favorite always a favorite

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,800 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,462 reviews
4.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: $91 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing