We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Fantastic”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I only stay at the Doubletree Cariari while in Costa Rica. Great food and awesome staff....clean and comfortable rooms. The hotel is in a convenient location and close to the mall and other stores. It is my home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank kmkvech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for staying here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose . We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    510
    160
    57
    33
See reviews for
285
383
70
442
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asuncion, Paraguay
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good quite hotel for conference and congress. Cannot write more than this. The location is good to be near the airport but no to go to downtown San Jose, because of the heavy traffic all day. Since we were in a conference all three days inside the hotel, we could not go to downtown area to learn more about San Jose. but, I think you should compromise with quiteness and privacy of a conference. Is a nice country to visit. I have been before long time ago in San Jose, downtown area, but now the city looks like has expanded and the city is much bigger. The traffic problem is the same as in many urban areas of the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Took an hour and forty five minutes for airport pickup. Hotel is ten munutes from airport. Hotel management very disappointing. Probably will not stay here again. Food in Hotel was good. Honors privileges were not evident.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. I am so sorry that our shuttle bus took a long time to pick you up. I can assure you that this is very rare to occur; however I can empathize with your frustration and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. I thank you for bringing this up to my attention so that I can follow-up with our shuttle crew. We make every effort to provide our guests with a speedy and efficient service and I truly apologize for any inconveniences you went through.

Please know that we value your business and will work hard to earn your trust once again. If you should have any further questions, please feel free to contact me directly.
Jorge Gutierrez, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I hosted an event of 150 people at this hotel and most guests were very pleased with the instalations and accomodations. I thought the food was great and the staff from the restaurant/ housekeeping/ luggage helpers and some from the reception desk was superb. I stayed at this hotel 9 nights and i felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We appreciate the opportunity to host your group and, as always, appreciate your business. If there’s anything you need, let us know. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I haven't had much experience with Hotels in San Juan but I would say that this hotel was pretty good but not excellent. The food was relatively good and the room service staff very good. For a conference, which was what I was attending, they provided good solid service. It was close to the airport. There was a shuttle and a taxi (expensive-$23 1 way) if you wanted to go to town. The rooms (I had a double) were very large and the bathrooms nice. My view was pretty bad (garden view but looking at what looked like staff quarters). In all, an okay experience. I wouldn't really want to stay here on vacation- the pool was right in the middle of a courtyard where everyone, including restaurant eaters could see you and the ambiance is more conducive to a short business trip than anything else. I saw no kids around and it didn't seem very kid friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nyaneba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry you were unhappy with your experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We appreciate hearing from you and wanted to let you know that we work continually to improve our falicities and services, and your comments will help us improve. If you travel again to our area, we hope we have the opportunity to show you our improvements. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

First of all I'll say that this is not a bad hotel at all. The problem is that its quality does not match the expectations you may have regarding its price. In such a high-standard place you'd expect everything to work smoothly, but that was not my case. My room had several leaks on the ceiling, and the sink dropped water on my feet every time I was washing my hands. Also, I had to wait more than one hour before checking in my room the first day because it was not ready on time. And that fact did not prevent the personal of the hotel from making me leave my room at noon on my last day, even when my conference (on the same hotel) was not over. This may be a good place if your looking for fancy things (the restaurant, the pool...), but if you want a good quality/price rate I'd recommend other options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I understand that you encountered some maintenance issues in your room and that you were dissatisfied with our prices and that you found them to be too expensive. I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that we do all we can to create a great experience for each one of our guests. We are actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for your comfort and convenience and will definitely keep you review in mind.

Again, I do thank you for your review and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have gone through. I hope that the next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us at again. Jorge Gutierrez, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The room was very clean, two sinks - one in the bathroom and one right outside which was very convinent.
First time doing the Hotwire mystery deal and got this place, very happy and close to the airport. Easy check in and check out, and secured parking is a major bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Whenever you’re in San Jose, stop by the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We’ll take good care of you. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
955 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,424 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing