We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“God Rooms and Service. Poor Food. Transportation company are crooks!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
hillsboro, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“God Rooms and Service. Poor Food. Transportation company are crooks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Don't expect anything about food quality. It is overprices and really bad. The burger is half the size of the bun. The Calamari are clustered with onion rings. The salads are soggy with dressing and very small. The worse part is dealing the transportation company that handles the "free" shuttle. What a hassle and pain. they are crooks!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed with a few issues and sincerely apologize for this. I am sorry if you found our food quality to be sup-par. We are always listening to our guests and I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve the quality and selection of our offerings.
We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide with everything you are accustomed to receive. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.
Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    423
    130
    49
    30
See reviews for
227
323
59
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The room was nice with lots of space, nice pool, business center was available and I was able to get a rental car and book tours right at the hotel. A little ways away from downtown San Jose but taxis are available. The food was very good but a little pricey. Overall our stay was very nice. However I set up laundry service and they never picked up and their wifi signal was poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! So glad you were able to experience our authentic hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have stayed at doubletree a few times on my way to and from the airport in Costa Rica. The staff is great and the hotel has a very nice ambiance. It's total luxury with a feeling of being partly outside and close to nature in the city. The beds are so comfortable. The pool is fantastic as well as the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. Your comments about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon! Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The internet service is very very poor. Only the lobby has service. The bathroom amenities were very poor.
The hotel is 20 minutes from San Jose. A $20 taxi ride each way. The hotel restaurant is not bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rashuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.
I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

During the week of Easter, I had a 5-day business trip to San Jose, Costa Rica. On this trip, I splurged a few extra dollars to bring my wife and son with me. The DoubleTree Cariari is only 10 minutes from the airport (or $12 taxi). It is 25 minutes from downtown San Jose (or $22). The hotel is open and airy with great sized rooms for international travel. The staff is extremely helpful, speaks great English and went over the top to make sure our stay was a good one.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that has a balcony overlooking the swim-up pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good hotel for business traveler. Close to major businesses and has scheduled shuttle service to them. Well maintained gym, pool, and food is good at restaurants.

Schedule shuttle each day prior and the earlier you go the better. Traffic after 8am becomes a problem.

Room Tip: Request a room with a strong WIFI signal, rooms toward the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmyrnaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family stayed here for our last night in Costa Rica. Coming from the dusty back roads of Guanacaste, we were excited to see the beautifully appointed lobby. From there, however, our experience went downhill. An aging, bland room, and many little things not working. Couldn't get the water temperature right, the wake-up call didn't work, the pool had no depth measures posted, it took half an hour to get a drink from the bar, super expensive restaurant...on and on. they really need to work on the little things. Stay at the Hampton Inn instead, it's much, much better.

Room Tip: stay at the Hampton Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff of our hotel I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that your impression of our hotel were up to or exceeded your expectations. We are however disappointed to learn you were disappointed with the condition of your room and that you had some problems getting warm water was not up to your expectations.
Please be assured that your valuable comments will be shared with my team as we continue to strive to improve upon our offerings.
Thank you once more for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again at our beautiful hotel. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
3.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#3 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing