We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very disappointed with the amenities of the room, very poor internet service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with the amenities of the room, very poor internet service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The internet service is very very poor. Only the lobby has service. The bathroom amenities were very poor.
The hotel is 20 minutes from San Jose. A $20 taxi ride each way. The hotel restaurant is not bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rashuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.
I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    431
    130
    49
    30
See reviews for
229
327
61
361
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

During the week of Easter, I had a 5-day business trip to San Jose, Costa Rica. On this trip, I splurged a few extra dollars to bring my wife and son with me. The DoubleTree Cariari is only 10 minutes from the airport (or $12 taxi). It is 25 minutes from downtown San Jose (or $22). The hotel is open and airy with great sized rooms for international travel. The staff is extremely helpful, speaks great English and went over the top to make sure our stay was a good one.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that has a balcony overlooking the swim-up pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good hotel for business traveler. Close to major businesses and has scheduled shuttle service to them. Well maintained gym, pool, and food is good at restaurants.

Schedule shuttle each day prior and the earlier you go the better. Traffic after 8am becomes a problem.

Room Tip: Request a room with a strong WIFI signal, rooms toward the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmyrnaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family stayed here for our last night in Costa Rica. Coming from the dusty back roads of Guanacaste, we were excited to see the beautifully appointed lobby. From there, however, our experience went downhill. An aging, bland room, and many little things not working. Couldn't get the water temperature right, the wake-up call didn't work, the pool had no depth measures posted, it took half an hour to get a drink from the bar, super expensive restaurant...on and on. they really need to work on the little things. Stay at the Hampton Inn instead, it's much, much better.

Room Tip: stay at the Hampton Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff of our hotel I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that your impression of our hotel were up to or exceeded your expectations. We are however disappointed to learn you were disappointed with the condition of your room and that you had some problems getting warm water was not up to your expectations.
Please be assured that your valuable comments will be shared with my team as we continue to strive to improve upon our offerings.
Thank you once more for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again at our beautiful hotel. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I just got back from staying at Double Tree by Hilton in Cariari San Jose Costa Rica. This hotel should be rated as a five star Hotel. The staff at the reception, Kevin, Max, Juan and Karina are absolutely superb professionals, world class customer service professionals who truly care about the guest at the hotel and who are truly at the top of their game. I traveled with my 8 year old daughter and they went above and beyond to make us feel at home. The morning and evening restaurant staff are also superb and extremely attentive to every last detail while you dine in elegance and splendor. The food is EXCELLENT! I only had breakfast and late dinners at the hotel but I'm positive that the service is also world class. The pools were spotlessly clean as were the hotel grounds and the rooms where I stayed. The beds were super comfortable. Even the cleaning staff always had a smile whenever I encountered them. I wish I had obtained the names of the restaurant staff because they were world class restaurant staff! Make no mistake about it, the Double Tree by Hilton at Cariari in San Jose is a Beautiful and excellent hotel but the heart and soul of the place are people like Kevin, Max, Juan, Karina and everyone who works at this magnificent property! Thank you. I will be staying at the Duoble Tree by Hilton in Cariari every time I have the chance. Harry C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterbear3612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Your comments about your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon, Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Double Tree to start and end our vacation to Costa Rica. On our first night we found the facility to be extremely beautiful. The grounds are wonderful, the public areas are sparkling and we found the front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. We had rented an Executive room with a balcony, club access for end of day cocktails, and Continental breakfast. It was a little disappointing that they were doing construction on the room next doo, and dinner was at best mediocre. My wife ordered an appetizer that was not available, and the menu selections were half of what was on the in room menu.

When we returned 11 days later it was even more disappointing. We were told that we didn't get breakfast (that issue was resolve), the made no mention of the Executive room, and although we were able to pay our exit fees at the front desk, they delivered our papers (with our passport numbers shown) to another room (fortunately it was NOT occupied). The restaurant was STILL out of the same advertised appetizer and the food was still less than STELLAR..

For such a beautiful facility the lack of detail on several fronts make the experience of staying there less than wonderful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGS1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your insight on your recent experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We’re very sorry that our menu didn’t meet your expectations and we’re taking your
recommendation to improve it. Our guest reviews give us valuable information to deliver
the best dining experience possible, and we appreciate your feedback. Please visit us again the
next time you’re in San Jose, and tell us how we’re doing. Thank you. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here recently, after a flight into Costa Rica, which is about a 5-10 minute ride from SJO airport. The hotel is very spacious as well as the rooms. The only minus was the pool was under construction. There is a casino on-site as well as a concierge level for evening drinks and snacks, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

We are Gold members so the above was free and wi-fi. Another plus is the wildlife around the hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiana65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
3.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#3 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing