We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jose takes immaculate care of the hotel and his customers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jose takes immaculate care of the hotel and his customers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

The hotel was close to the school I was attending. Jose gave good advice on restaurants and tours. The breakfast was wonderful each morning. I look forward to going back and seeing my Tico "family" once again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mif31258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
40
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

Jose, the host, is top notch. Spotless rooms, great hot and cold breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, a variety of fresh breads and of course Costa Rican coffee. Room in the refrigerator for your wine (supermarket right across the street) and wine glasses! Jose addresses your every concern and bends over backwards to help you. Free high speed internet. Some reviewers complained about the low volume hot water. Jose uses the standard instant on hot water-which we found everywhere we went in Costa Rica, but his worked. Petty, but if you want lots of hot water, stay at a $200 to $300 American chain, and miss all the ambience. Free and efficient transport to the airport in a new SUV. The hotel is central to most of the Spanish for English speaker schools in the area. We stayed at the Hotel Hojarascas three times and loved every minute. Great value!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

This hotel provided the best service I have ever received. Extremely friendly staff, they made sure that all our needs were met even before we articulated them. Heredia is very close to San Jose, it is a quiet, friendly and safe little city. Stay there to avoid the hustle of San Jose, and stay at this hotel to receive the best service of your life.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarekOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Friendly, helpful host, clean rooms and halls, but very limited hot water in the shower (which had such limited pressure I almost couldn't get the soap off), our room had no window to the outside, only one to the stairwell, no a/c and the place itself is incredibly difficult to find even challenging for a taxi driver.
The price was right and the host was sweet, but for business or pleasure I probably wouldn't go again. Might send a vacationing college student with lots of adventure spirit and a limited budget.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLab-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Two friends and I stayed at this hotel off and on in April and May, as we traveled around Costa Rica. It was a great home-base, with a great staff (Jose, Jose Omar, and their sister, and LOVELY and sweet mother), and a delicious and healthy breakfast every morning. This place is such a bargain: free internet access, free breakfast, free airport pick-up/drop-off, free luggage storage while you travel, and free use of washer/dryer. The hotel is located in Heredia, kinda of a dingy, but charming college town that is only 10 minutes from San Jose and million times better. Try to get one of the rooms that is further from the town bell that seems to toll at the crack of dawn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary123401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

The architecture of the hotel is amazing! So light and airy! I found the hotel to be totally charming. We had use of the washers and dryers during our 2 week stay. Breakfast was amazing with fruits, cheeses, meats, breads, jams, yogurts, cereals, etc. Twice Jose made us omelets. After class my friend and I used the kitchen to study. We also could buy food from the many shops in the area and bring it back to the hotel and eat there. We met lots of guests from other countries and had interesting conversations with them. The hotel is immaculate for those of you who are 'clean' fanatics. The bus into San Jose is a block away and costs 80 cents. Taxis to great restaurants are about $3.00. I especially loved Jose who was our official greeter and guide. I can't say enough good things but this is a great hotel to have as a base if touring Costa Rica or studying in Heredia. Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

This hotel located near the heart of Heredia. Most places fo interest are no more than a 10 minute walk. The bus to San Jose is 1 block to the east. There is super market across the street. If you are attending the languge school Intercultura, it's just 4 blocks away.
The free beakfast are wonderful. Lot's of fresh fruit, fresh bread, yogurt, juices, cereal, cheese, ham & turkey slices and too much more to mention. There are two washers and dryers availble for the the guests use. They offer free transfer from and to the airport, will arrange tours and accomodate you in every possible way. That bings us to the staff. They are friendly and professional. From the start, their goal is to have you come back again. I can reccomend Hojarascas whole heartedly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonDiegoNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
5.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
14.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apart-Hotel Roma
Apart-Hotel Roma
#5 of 9 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas

Property: Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Address: 4, 6 Street, 8 Avenue, Heredia 1530-3000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somos: Un Hotel Familiar, Administrado por los Miembros de su Familia. Hacemos de Este Lugar, Su Casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas Costa Rica/Heredia
Boutique Hojarascas Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing