We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Hojarascas, The Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
saettle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Hojarascas, The Oasis”
Reviewed April 28, 2008

This establishment was one of the best hotels we have stayed in, in terms of cost, cleanliness and especially great service!Jose Omar and his family-run hotel provided us with very helpful driving directions, wonderful tours, suggested affordable restaurants in Heredia and prepared a fabulous breakfast every morning. We stayed at Hotel Hojarascas for three days and by the time we left, we considered Jose Omar like a brother. When we return to Costa Rica, even if we don't stay in Heredia, we will make an effort to visit Jose Omar and his great hotel!

  • Liked — The great service, cleanliness, and affordability
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tutugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
40
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

A few of my friends and I were visiting another friend studying abroad in Heredia. The location was great; it's right across the street from a very convenient grocery store and pharmacy. While Heredia is described as a "quiet suburb" I found a much different experience walking around the hustle and bustle of markets, shops, churches and restaurants within the vicinity of the hotel.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable with private bathrooms and hot water. The reasonable price included free internet access (while slow), freshly prepared breakfasts and airport pick-up. We prepared our own dinner in the communal kitchen several nights during our stay which worked out well for our group.

The best part of the hotel by far was the staff. Everyone was so warm and inviting. They were extremely accomodating with our confusing travel schedule (all 5 of us came from different places with separate traveling plans) and gave us directions and information with whatever we needed. They even tried to help us with our Spanish skills, but they spoke English as well.

It's not a crazy party hotel for spring breakers, but it certainly suited our needs and exceeded our expectations. I would recommend this hotel to everyone staying in the area!

  • Liked — the AWESOME staff!
  • Disliked — Not convenient to downtown San Jose
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cousmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We began and ended our week in Costa Rica at Hotel Hojarascas
I know very little spanish and was coached by the delightful proprietor Jose Omar, to say "O hor as cas". This helped me feel even more at home. We booked here based on the reviews of others and were very grateful for the level of warm service. Amid the busy streets of Heredia, the family has created a peaceful, clean, welcoming environment. For first time travelers to Costa Rica (like us) this was a great starting and departing location. Groceries are across the street, great local market 2 blocks away, University close by. Church bells awoke us in the morning. The streets were busy, but we felt safe in the area. Jose arranged taxis for dinner & coffee tours, rental car company picked up our car on the last day so we didn't have to drive it into San Jose. We were also able to do laundry after returning from the mountains, the staff even took it out of the dryer while we were at the Britt coffee tour. (which was 10 minutes from the hotel and worth every penny!)
The rooms are small but immaculate. Our only complaint, My husband is 6'2" and found the double bed to be cramped.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank spankyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We arrived in Heredia in the middle of the night and also left in the predawn, both times the staff was happy and concerned for our comfort and well being. The breakfast was beautiful and excellent. This hotel helped us with the driving in Costa Rica (car was delivered to hotel) and made our adjustment to the culture smooth. We were so glad that they were there to help us and definately would go back! The location is right by a market and a taxi station. 6 stars!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank dianeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We chose this hotel based on reviews here and were not disappointed. If you seek lodging that reflects the local ambiance and are tired of impersonal chain hotels, this is the place for you. Neat as a pin and unique floor plan are just the start- it's the people who run this place that make it truly special. We left a camera in the room and are pleased to report the staff held it for us to send home. Jose was amazing and arranged a great restaurant, car rental, taxis, and local walking tours. Not a luxury destination, It's a great location to base your Costa exploration and just walking the streets outside give a great taste of the Tico lifestyle. I'll return without hesitation.

  • Liked — Family run
  • Disliked — tough one
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dav5023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

If you are in Heredia, stay here, not just for the exceptional value and prime location, but for the unbelievable service. Jose and his staff/family will take care of you with grace and kindess, no matter what the circumstances. We declared him the nicest man alive even before he sent by taxi a bag we left behind on our way to a river trip to intercept our tour bus so that we would "have our camera". If we had messages at the front desk and returned late at night, he would wake up to bring our messages to us. On our last night there, we were returning very late to the hotel and our taxi driver got lost and decided to call the hotel, before consulting with us (we wouldn't have wanted to wake Jose)- he was waiting for us at the front door and gently asked if we still needed our wake up call at six a.m. and reminded us that our taxi would be there at 6:15 to take us to the airport. Just a few hours later, he was up with us at the crack of dawn to make sure we had coffee and breakfast and made it safely out the door.
The rooms are exceptionally clean and quite comfortable, better than anything you would get in the United States for the price. Breakfast of fruit and yogurt and bread and juice every morning. Wonderful, free access to internet/computers, not to mention wifi, and free laundry. We took several excursions, and every time we walked through the front door and were greeted with smiles, hugs and kisses on the cheek, we were relieved to be home!
Highly recommended, and we hope to return, as we have family in the area.

  • Liked — Kind, exceptional service
  • Disliked — I can't think of a single thing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank melRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Great place. Great service. Very clean. A little loud but what else could you expect in a city environment in Costa Rica. Would stay there again and not look anywhere else. Jose is as good as labeled in other posts.

  • Liked — service, location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — $70 for 2 of us, bed was squeaky
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travisodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
5.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
14.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apart-Hotel Roma
Apart-Hotel Roma
#5 of 9 in Heredia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas

Property: Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Address: 4, 6 Street, 8 Avenue, Heredia 1530-3000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somos: Un Hotel Familiar, Administrado por los Miembros de su Familia. Hacemos de Este Lugar, Su Casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas Costa Rica/Heredia
Boutique Hojarascas Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing