We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quality Hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Quality Excellent - The Hotel is perfectly located across a local shopping store and a block away from the city market. The owner - Jose Omar-is wonderful and takes care of you. Its a family run business that is attentive and treats their guests as friends.

We stayed in town a week to visit family in the hotel apartment which is furnished with a complete kitchen. There is a washer/dryer available and they have complimentary WIFI and desktops for guest use. Transportation (i.e. taxi, local bus) are a 3 minute walk away. Oh and local currency exchange is located across the street (same exchange value as the bank). They have complimentry breakfast which includes fresh local fruits, local style breakfast, coffee, juices, soda, water. Shower is spacious with hot water on demand.

Jose and staff are about making you feel at home and ensuring they are available to help you with any need. It's not often you find a hotel where they make you feel like you are the only one there providing you with a comfortable place to staty. Awesome, clean and comfortable place with free airport pick-up/drop off to airport 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: Apartment bunk bedroom is a little noisy since wall has no window but metal blinds that open and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooby_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    14
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
39
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I just returned from 9 days in Heredia, and I'm thrilled to be able to share my experience of Hotel Hojarascas. From my airport pick-up on arrival, I was treated as a special part of the family. I was in Costa Rica for an intense week of language immersion, and the hotel became a quiet oasis for me to study and rest each day after school. Omar is the best, always concerned with my comfort and attentive to my particular needs. He's an amazing chef, and every morning brought a delightful, fresh and interesting breakfast. The whole hotel is bright and airy, and my room was always clean and comfortable. Omar would always take the time to help me find a particular location in Heredia or help me with my language study. It was a delight to stay at Hojarascas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Hojarascas for one night after arriving at San Jose airport late before an early trek to Manuel Antonio. I am thankful to have found this hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor. It was a great value for the money, with clean rooms, cute updated decor, and a delicious breakfast. I also appreciated the ride from the airport and to our rental car shop. I am not so sure about the area, but it was more than fine for the one night we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramonaruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you are traveling anywhere near Heredia, you MUST stay @ Hotel Hojarascas! Jose Omar is the perfect host. The rooms are clean, well-appointed, and very comfortable. Traditional Costa Rican food for breakfast--local fruits and bread with the occasional surprise. Transportation from and to the airport is available, as is rental car service. A most enjoyable local experience! If I am lucky enough to get back to Costa Rica, I will most definitely stay at Hotel Hojarascas. This is what Pura Vida means!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Warm welcome from Jose and his family. Pickup was perfect after 12 hours in the air! The hotel has been beautifully designed and is light and airy. It is right in the heart of Heredia, a bustling lively safe town with a large supermarket opposite. Breakfast was lovely with the special tamales making this the perfect resting place when we arrived in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P-and-R29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Hotel Hojarascas in March and found that it truly is as wonderful as everyone says! Jose Omar is probably the nicest man I've ever met and is fabulous at his job! From the warm reception to the clean and comfortable rooms to the superb breakfasts...our stay at this hotel was...well, like we were home. We never felt like guests or like "clients" but like family. Jose guided us to local restaurants and gave us tips on some of the best sights Costa Rica has to offer! He is truly knowledgeable and talented at what he does and it shows! -Just read through the reviews!
I have only been home for 3 days and have already recommended this hotel to several of my friends! We will definitely be back to this hotel when we travel to Costa Rica in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My family and I stayed in this hotel in March 2012 and we had a great time there!! Rooms were very clean, breakfast (with delicious home made tamales) was awesome but the best part was definately the kindness of the owners, whose priority is to make their guests feel at home.
At Hojarascas you will for sure experience the meaning of the famous costa rican expression "Pura Vida"! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
5.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apart-Hotel Roma
Apart-Hotel Roma
#5 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
2.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas

Property: Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Address: 4, 6 Street, 8 Avenue, Heredia 1530-3000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somos: Un Hotel Familiar, Administrado por los Miembros de su Familia. Hacemos de Este Lugar, Su Casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas Costa Rica/Heredia
Boutique Hojarascas Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing