We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE THIS HOTEL!”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I recently stayed here for three nights and it was a great decision! The vast majority of the other reviews that I read on this site were completely accurate in rating this hotel as "excellent". Jose and his family are so friendly and the hotel is a hidden gem. From the time of being picked up at the airport, I felt at home here. I loved the free airport transportation as well as the free breakfast each morning (a very nice spread I might add). Also, there is a full kitchen which you can use. If you don't speak Spanish, it is not a problem (however, making an effort is always appreciated!). Jose speaks English well and will speak his Spanish very slowly to help you understand what he is saying. The hotel is very clean and the staff is always available and very responsive to any requests. Price for a room in this hotel is incredibly reasonable as well, especially considering all the additional benefits. If you are looking for a place to stay in Heredia, you will not find a better experience than this hotel!!! - Alex and Amanda

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
40
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hojarascas on our way out of Costa Rica and we have a hundred things to compliment and not a single one to complain about. The owner, Jose, is extremely friendly and personable and yet he didn't talk our ears off or intrude on our time or privacy in any way. He gave excellent recommendations for lunch and dinner restaurants and arranged our reservations and taxis for us. He has functional English and when speaking Spanish with us he was very good at speaking slowly and clearly to ensure we understood exactly what he was saying.
Breakfast at the hotel was very excellent - Jose served homemade tomales in addition to toast, fruit, cereal, coffee, etc.. The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable and the bathrooms are extremely nice. There is free laundry and internet available, and Jose was very helpful and enthusiastic about providing suggestions for and helping to arrange our activities in and around San Jose, as well as transportation to the airport.
The hotel itself is very clean, well run, brightly lit, and comfortable. It sits right in the middle of downtown Heredia which is a pretty active shopping, dining, business, and nightlife center - mostly for locals it looked like.
The price was only $72 for the two of us to stay one night, and the hotel covered the taxi to the airport. We felt it was a truly quality place to stay with amazing service and an unbeatable price. Honestly can't think of a thing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZacharyFerris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Jose, the owner, and his family are excellent hosts!!! They picked us up at the airport in San Jose, free of extra charges. They were waiting just outside in the taxi area with our name (printed with a computer in large, block letters) on a sign. The entire hotel is very clean. There are washer/dryer available free of charge. They allow guests to use a kitchen area, including the refrigerator. A supermarket is just across the street, and many restaurants are within close walking distance. Breakfast was included with the price, which was very reasonable. We are experienced world travelers who have stayed in everything from five star to a grass hut on bamboo mats, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scodougle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This small 12 room hotel is located in the heart of downtown Heredia near the Los Angeles Park. It has easy access to a convienent store , taxi and bus stops. The manager, Jose Omar, welcomes you and quickly makes you feel like a family member. From the time he picks you up at the airport, he is ready to provide a wealth of information for most tours and destinations in Costa Rica. The rooms are small but adequate and are clean and economical. A healthy breakfast is included. Internet and laundrey services are available. Guests get the service of a 5 star hotel at no additional cost! This hotel provides the best personal service we have experienced. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmunguia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is the perfect place to start your Costa Rican vacation. It is safe, secure and located in the centre of Heredia. Right across the street is a very good grocery store, first night go and get some beer, or wine, or soft drinks, snacks, relax and make yourself at home, believe me Jose will insist on this. I felt so comfortable and safe. I spent a month travelling around CR, I left a big bag at the hotel, no extra charge, and then with a smaller day pack travelled around CR, going back and forth between the hotel and other locations. Easy to get the bus into San Jose, easy to organize tours, etc. There is some noise, but then that is Costa Rica, bring some good ear plugs. The hotel, great value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cagru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel looks rather ordinary from the outside but the inside is very well designed.
The owners are extremely welcoming. They genuinely want to help you have a great time in Costa Rica.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms small but comfortable.
You really feel at home very quickly in this hotel. We only planned to stay one night but returned twice during our stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soketamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

this hotel, not special in its location or amenities, is a gem, because the nice guy running it goes all the way to make it a pleasant stay for his guests. There's nothing we know about that he didn't try to do for us (and other guests), from picking you up at the airport, over cooking a wonderful breakfast, to calling national parks, places of interest, ... that you might want to visit, or having washing machines and tumble dryers at your disposal - all free of charge. We actually were so delighted by his service, that we decided to give him a little present when we left. And he was clearly moved, another proof of his dedication. Try it, it is a good place, even if you want to visit San José, it's 20 minutes by bus.

Room Tip: Try some Spanish, the host will love you even more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janneman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
5.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 7 in Heredia
58 reviews
14.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
407 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
987 reviews
2.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas

Property: Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Address: 4, 6 Street, 8 Avenue, Heredia 1530-3000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somos: Un Hotel Familiar, Administrado por los Miembros de su Familia. Hacemos de Este Lugar, Su Casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas Costa Rica/Heredia
Boutique Hojarascas Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing