We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Life is good here! (Pura Vida)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Debbie King's Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heredia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Debbie King's Country Inn
Save
You added Debbie King's Country Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 10 Heredia B&B and Inns
shreveport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Life is good here! (Pura Vida)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Excellent location. Close to all, yet quiet. Perfect setting for a good taste of Costa Rica.
Beautiful views, extremley comfortable climate, great place to kick back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bay0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    11
See reviews for
3
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

I had a fabulous time after coming back for a second time .... place was comfy and Debbie couldn't do enough for us. Thanks Debbie see you next year. xx

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula_peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We have just gotten back from a 3 Night stay at Debbies B&B , very tranquil and quiet. There are 7 dogs and 2 cats. The rooms are clean and there is hot water . Dogs did not bark all night. It is located about 25 minutes from the airport and about 25 mins from San Jose at an altitude of about 4000 ft. the weather is perfect even in the rainy season .
Debbie can be a wealth of information.The inn is located on a 3 private acres I definitely would stay there again. This is not the place for people who stay in box hotels with no flavor or character.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank captainterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

My wife and I always stay with Debbie while on a trip to Costa Rica. We usually stay in other areas of CR also on a trip. We actually resided with Debbie at her Finca for three months a decade ago. Anytime you spend a long time with anyone, their are differences of opinion, but Debbie was always fair. She'd like you to take her advise as she's been a local in CR so long, but she does not make you feel uncomfortable if you choose another route than that she suggests. She is a great person, with lots of great stories. Yes, I was stung by scorpions at Debbie's place over a three month period, but there was so much good there I didn't care. That so called, "psychologist or psychiatrist" is a wimp. All you have to do is take precaucions and you can avoid these little pests. Remember, we are living in THEIR territory. I walk everyday in the mountains of Sonoma, and know if I encounter a mountain lion or rattlesnake, it's THEIR land, and I am there knowing the risks.
Debbie King's Country Inn is a special place NOT to be missed if you plan a trip to the beautiful Country of Costa Rica!!
Scott

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WainakuMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arilikeairy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

I wouldn't recommend staying here to anyone! I say the following only because I don't want anyone to have to go through what I went through.

The place was dirty, there were scorpions in our apartment, the cat we lived with had bugs on her, the dogs barked all night, the metal roof was very loud in the wind. The host was deceivingly nice at the beginning, but lied to us about how close it was to other locations - which was important in our choice to stay there.

There are much nicer, safer, cleaner, and cheaper places, look at other reviews online before living here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank arilikeairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heredia hotels

thecrooks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We read an amazing review of Debbie King's in a travel book (Open Roads) and so we booked 2 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon and 1 at the end.

We arrived after taking a red eye, and Debbie picked us up at the airport (she gave us the wrong directions to get out of the airport). She spent the whole ride back to her place (at least 30 mins from the airport) telling us that we have made a terrible decision booking trips to Arenal, Monteverde, and Tamarindo (all of which were better than Debbie's).

The room was average, but she has "suicide" showers, which means no running hot water. Debbie was trying to be helpful, but we were trying to spend some time alone together as it was the beginning of our hotel.

The town is not that close, and getting a cab is very difficult in the rain (it was raining all the time).

I can sum up this review by saying that we booked a different hotel on our return trip to San Jose, even though we had already payed debbie.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank thecrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

Debbie King is a kind guide and host. She met us at the airport and whisked all of us through the hills of Central Costa Rica. Her Country Inn is tended with care from the interesting local flora to the decorations on the walls. She made us a vegetarian dinner according to our specifications. and delicious breakfast (pinto y gallo and more). Debbie drove us to local sites and gave us many tips about what to see and what to skip. If you want to stay in a big hotel, don't come here: This is a place to taste the local flavors.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — ants
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
3.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
5.8 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
3.9 mi away
Villa Zurqui Hotel
Villa Zurqui Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Josecito
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
11.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Debbie King's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Debbie King's Country Inn

Property: Debbie King's Country Inn
Address: Concepcion de San Rafael | 500 meters sour *sur of Pulperia store, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Country Inn Heredia
Heredia Country Inn
Debbie King's Country Inn Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing