We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Misleading, Unsanitary and Felt Unsafe” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Debbie King's Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heredia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Debbie King's Country Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Heredia B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Misleading, Unsanitary and Felt Unsafe”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a few years ago and had a rather frightening experience. Similar to other reviews, Debbie was all 'niceness' on the phone and even as she picked us up. Once we were on the property, the tone slowly shifted. It was nearing the end of the season perhaps, so we were the only guests (a fact that concerned us once we discovered this). She gave us a long list of do's and don'ts, spoke very rudely about the locals, and told us how she was out of everything because her previous guests cleaned out her kitchen. The place was not clean and seemed to have a layer of dirt/dust all over, and the property in general was not kept up. We probably could have chalked all of this up to just a poor accomodation selection and left it at that, however the conversation with Debbie that night is what really got to us.

She kept asking us if we wanted a drink in the evening, and neither of us are big drinkers so we declined. She then opened up a bottle for herself and started chatting for what lasted hours (we did not know how to excuse ourselves despite some not so subtle hints). She talked of her ex husband who she claimed was out to harm her, hence why she keeps her property locked up, she talked of her evil twin sister and the horrible things she did, she talked of the fame and fortune she had in the UK as an actress (some of this may be true as she has some pictures of herself with a few people up on her wall), she talked of the evil local people and how they are not to be trusted, and she went on and on about how all her guests love her and how they keep coming back. The more she drank, the more her personality changed and we felt progressively uncomfortable. I found it eerie that not one guest was there while we where there. When we finally went to bed that night, must husband said to me, 'i wonder if that sister even exists or is a figment of her imagination'! It freaked me out.

It was a creepy stay and I hope this will help others to avoid a similar experience.

Room Tip: don't go here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank mntu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    11
See reviews for
3
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

The roof leaked, a dead rat welcomed me and Debbie was less than gracious. I had to call the police to get out. She forged my name on a receipt. Go anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Clg131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heredia hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had read favorable reviews of Debbie's Inn, and made a reservation with her for the first night of our trip to Costa Rica. We arrived without trouble, but upon meeting Debbie, we were greeted with nothing but negativity toward any plans we had to travel anywhere else in Costa Rica. She told us how Arenal was so far way--at least 6 hours (only 2.5 when we actually made the trip)--and it would be best just to stay in the Central Valley (and pay her to arrange trips for us, of course!) Anything we mentioned--Monteverde, Guanacaste, even Manuel Antonio--she highly recommended against. Thank God we didn't listen and got out of there the next day to enjoy a fantastic traveling around Costa Rica.

Debbie would not help us, and would not allow us to use her phone because it was too costly to her. We had to go out to the town of San Rafael, make our own connections and arrangements in an internet cafe. She could not have been less accommodating. When we told her of our plans, she told us we should not have talked to Costa Ricans, because you absolutely cannot trust them (yet she has lived in this country surrounded by people she cannot trust for over 20 years).

Furthermore, Debbie's Inn is quite a ways off the road, which required us to trek about 100 meters through the mud since she doesn't have any kind of drive with our luggage and all (couldn't she have been a bit hospitable and offered to drive us to the gate in her RAV4?) The shower did not warm up at all--ice cold--even though I waited for a good while. The inn is dusty and dirty, and after I left, I noticed my clothes were full of pet hair. We did not have the pleasure of eating there because since we were leaving so early (7 AM) the next day, she said she wouldn't be cooking because breakfast was at 8:30. I asked for a banana or something, but she told me they were out of season--even though everywhere else we went we found plenty of bananas. She told us we were on our own.

I highly recommend you look elsewhere for accommodations in the Central Valley. Debbie charged us $135 + we paid our own taxt to her place (around $25) for one miserable night at her inn. The woman is crazy and you will not have a pleasant experience. Take this advice from someone who has traveled frequently in Latin American, and my husband, who grew up in South America--there are much more peaceful, pleasant (not to mention clean and accommodating) places to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ihearttravel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

We had no problems. She upgraded us to a suite for free. We had no dog or cat problems. The food was ok she took us to the Volcano, picked us up from the airport, dropped us off,. no problem. Our suite had a sitting area that had a great view of San Jose at night. I have zero complaints.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessicaandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shreveport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Excellent location. Close to all, yet quiet. Perfect setting for a good taste of Costa Rica.
Beautiful views, extremley comfortable climate, great place to kick back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bay0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

I had a fabulous time after coming back for a second time .... place was comfy and Debbie couldn't do enough for us. Thanks Debbie see you next year. xx

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula_peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

We have just gotten back from a 3 Night stay at Debbies B&B , very tranquil and quiet. There are 7 dogs and 2 cats. The rooms are clean and there is hot water . Dogs did not bark all night. It is located about 25 minutes from the airport and about 25 mins from San Jose at an altitude of about 4000 ft. the weather is perfect even in the rainy season .
Debbie can be a wealth of information.The inn is located on a 3 private acres I definitely would stay there again. This is not the place for people who stay in box hotels with no flavor or character.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank captainterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
3.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
11.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Zurqui Hotel
Villa Zurqui Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Josecito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Debbie King's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Debbie King's Country Inn

Property: Debbie King's Country Inn
Address: Concepcion de San Rafael | 500 meters sour *sur of Pulperia store, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Country Inn Heredia
Heredia Country Inn
Debbie King's Country Inn Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing