We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It's ok. ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chalet Tirol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's ok. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The place and gardens are very nice.
The rooms are ok. Bath Not great, room kind of smelly , They should upgrade it to The level of the gardens and buildings.
The breakfast is very good.
Resturant for dinner is salty but ok.
The place could be very nice for events of any kind.
Kids can enjoy the tree house.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank שני ט
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    53
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
124
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotel Chalet Tirol is a beautiful place. The grounds are immaculate with a lot of hydrangea flowers. You can take a nice scenic walk around the grounds and enjoy the clean air.
The restaurant was terrific. I had the Sea Bass while the service was very good.
I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarstenVardas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Although we did find it a little difficult to find- forget finding it without a GPS- once found, we were delighted. We were hoping to shorten our trip to the Poás Volcano the following day by staying at the Tirol, which is located between the airport and the volcano, but ended up having to drive back towards the airport and then taking another route up to the volcano. No surprise, this is the way it is in Costa Rica!
Once at the Hotel, we were greeted by friendly and professional staff all of whom spoke at least 2 languages - Spanish and English. Our room, upstairs in chalet #1, was lovely. It had a king size bed, a decorative fireplace, a tv, a large bathroom with a heart-shaped tub with water jets and a balcony off of our bedroom. We would have appreciated having a refrigerator and a larger table in the room. The restaurant was charming as was the staff and the food was very good. The European atmosphere was delightful and as we walked around outside, the surrounding mountains, the fresh air and the chalets made us feel like we were in the Alps! We would definitely recommend The Tirol to our friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Although finding this little gem of a place in Costa Rica may be difficult for tourist like myself, the arrival is awe inspiring and worth the maze-like-drive. The Alpine theme is so beautifully captured you can almost spot a gnome wondering the garden. The woodys design is carried throughout the hotel grounds. The rooms are lovely too. Spacious two bed rooms, and amazing family rooms. My travel group was lodged in a two floor suite; it had two beds and a bathroom on each floor within the room, absolutely perfect for families with kids.
The food is DELICIOUS!! All the dishes we tried were very flavorful. Staff was wonderful and accomodating. My favorite part was the pianist and violinist who played a wide range of music during dinner. This hotel was a trip within our trip in Costa Rica. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you have kids, the suite rooms are great since they are very large and spacious. Double bed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We went to the hotel as a weekend get away. The food was great we tried the antipasto mixto and it was incredible for an afternoon snack. The weather was great and we actually read out in the gardens part of the day. An also spent time walking around the grounds.

The bad.

The people upstair had a baby with them that cried in the morning and woke us up.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a great little hotel about an hour -- and a world away -- from San Jose. The room is wonderful: comfy king-sized bed, nice bathroom with toiletries, and a little balcony off the back. The grounds and gardens are lovely. We were only an hour away from Volcan Poas and a 30-minute drive from the airport. Staff was very helpful. A continental breakfast is included.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank East_Coaster28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Fuimos este fin de semana al hotel el Tirol para recibir información del lugar como locación para nuestra boda. El Gerente General en persona nos atendió y nos dió un recorrido por el lugar. Rodeado por altos arboles de cipres y bosque nuboso, con casitas pintorescas, este hotel parece salido d una aldeita de cuentos. Entre bosques, jardines y plaza, hay tres ambientes diferentes afuera para disfrutar. Además hay una sala de eventos adentro y un restaurante.
En general es un hotel muy hermoso, con muy buena atención, y está entre nuestras primeras opciones para realizar nuestra boda.

This weekend we went to El Tirol hotel while in the lookout for wedding venues. The General Manager himself took us on a tour of the facilities and the rooms. It is surrounded by tall cypress trees and, with pintoresque cottages and a lovely plaza, it looks like a fairytale little town. With a forest area, gardens and the plaza you have three different outdoor spaces. There is also a capilla-like event space and a restaurant. In short, it is a lovely hotel with very good costumer service, and for us is one of out top coices for the wedding.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LauraBerenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
8.2 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
8.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
4.7 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Tirol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Tirol

Property: Hotel Chalet Tirol
Address: Route 113, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Tirol 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel Chalet Tirol is a magical and romantic Alpine-style Villa found on the lush hillsides of Heredia, close to the capital San Jose and the Juan Santamaria International Airport. From the hotel's entrance you are transported into a wonderland of century-old evergreen and pine trees, gorgeous gardens, and outstanding mountain views, surrounded by a natural reserve full of fauna and flora and crossed by the crystalline Rio Segundo river and waterfall. Accommodation includes 10 charming two-story chalets and 13 suites with fireplace comprising 1 honeymoon suite and a choice of multi-room family suites. Attentive service in the cozy dining room with inviting fireplace and potbelly stove enhance your overall dining experience. This three star hotel with capacity for up to 120 people is the perfect location to celebrate weddings, receptions and meetings. Leisure and eco-tourism travelers can enjoy adventures nearby such as a visit to Poas Volcano, as well as any of the rich cultural and natural options Costa Rica has to offer. The restaurant Los Tiroleses at the Hotel Chalet Tirol is famed for its French fusion and international cuisine earning the Chaine des Rotisseurs Award of Excellence, an honor that it proudly holds to this day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chalet Tirol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Tirol Hotel
Hotel Chalet Tirol Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing