We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing! Top quality all around.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    112
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
378
526
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2005

We absolutely love the Peace Lodge...Perfect name for the Perfect room. Attention to every little detail (phone cords are encased out of view). What a relaxing spot. We travel often & would love to stay in hotels like this everywhere. Peace Lodge is a must visit. Food is average. Staff is very helpful & cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank globetrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2005

The rooms (specifically the bathrooms) are so incredible that you won't want to leave the room. We spent the extra few dollars for the deluxe room, and it was definately worth it. This is not the hotel where you want to skimp. Shell out the extra few dollars, and you'll be happy you did. Attention to detail is exemplary. Our only regret is that we didn't spend another night there. Strongly recommend two nights at THE END of your vacation. This hotel is unsurpassed. And will likely spoil you for any other hotel anywhere.

Waterfall park is beautiful, and having the after hours time to explore is great.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the dinner's were adequate. Nothing outstanding, but adequate. The other parts of the hotel were so incredible that this will likely change soon.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank findbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2005

Peace Lodge was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. The place was immaculate, and it is hard to describe our first impression when we walked in....from the spacious room, to the hot tub on the balcony, to the bathroom - and that bathroom is just too much. You have to see it to appreciate the work that went into it. The food was excellent, the service was prompt and attentive. There is plenty to see, whether walking the waterfall path or hanging out in the butterfly house. It was supreme relaxation and the price wasn't bad either. Our only criticism would be the noise level from the neighboring room, but hey, I always sleep with earplugs in any hotel, so it didn't bother me, and my wife didn't find it a problem.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank westwilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
281 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2005

This place is really amazing! The rooms are just so beautiful and thoughtful that no picture could do it justice. It is romantic and rustic yet very indulgent and luxurious. The staff goes above and beyond to be helpful. They Provide free full service breakfast (which they will bring to your room and set up on your balcony for free), a wide array of DVDs and CDs (even though you may not use them much, it's really nice having them late at night as there's not much night life) and free internet access.

The food is really quite good; although we found the buffet very limited. The dinners are served in a dining room overlooking the jungle and cost $28 for 4 courses; quite good although it can be a bit too heavy if you are staying for more than a night or two.

At the waterfall gardens, the trails are gorgeous as are the waterfalls and the hummingbirds are unbelievable. We were there for 2 nights and truly hated to leave.

The whole Peace Lodge/Waterfall Gardens experience was nothing short of amazing. I would recommend it to anyone who loves nature and adventure but also luxury and pampering.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank newjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2005

The rooms at this place are definitely cool and the service is wonderful. But, a major part of a great vacation for me is enjoying good meals. If you stay at the Peace Lodge, you basically have to eat their food because there is nothing else around. Unfortunately, they do not have a wide variety of choices for vegetarians. They only had pasta for dinner as a veggie option. And to me, this does not constitute a proper meal. Moreover, it wasn't very tasty. I was extremely disappointed, especially for the prices we were paying. I was staying here for a few nights of my honeymoon and had to eat the same bad food a few nights in a row.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lac205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azusa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2005

When I first saw the photos on the website, I was a little worried -- reminiscent of the Madonna Inn in San Louis Obispo or Vegas, at the very least. But the photos did not do the place justice. We fell in love with it the first moment we stepped in! The decor was just awesome -- especially to our kids (3&12). The room was very spacious, equipped with everything you could imagine. And the bathroom -- waterfall, real plants, rock jacuzzi tub, & 2 rock waterfall showers! The view from our balcony was beautiful, and the hammock was the perfect place to relax. I loved that there were so many attractions right on the grounds: waterfall trails, hummingbird garden (we were addicted to feeding the hummingbirds!), butterfly observatory, serpentarium, an old fashioned Costa Rican house (with a cow and old style snacks), pool, etc. The food was also very good -- from the complimentary breakfast buffet, to the lunches and dinners (Walter in the restaurant was incredible, and will bend over backwards to make evrything just right!). It was a wonderful way to end our 2 week stay in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank suncinwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.3 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
8.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing