We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the most exotic place we've ever stayed!”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely the most exotic place we've ever stayed!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

As the other reviewers have said, this is an amazing place. Each employee goes above and beyond their job descriptions. They all speak wonderfully clear English. They are extremely caring and want to accommodate your every need. We have a daughter who is allergic to gluten and they did all they could to accommodate her needs. The rooms are so exotic! Waterfalls over the bathtub and in the shower. A hot tub on the deck. We had two daughters with us and they enjoyed the entire experience. The hummingbird feeding and toucan feeding were the highlights of the trip. Also, fishing in the Trout pond and eating the fish we caught for lunch was a great experience. The hike to see the La Paz waterfall was breath taking....literally! Would highly recommend The Peace Lodge to anyone traveling to the La Paz waterfall area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Please accept the gratitude of the staff and management of the Peace Lodge for choosing to stay with us and for your favorable comments. To hear that we have accomplished our goal to provide our guests with the best possible experience is very rewarding. Your referrals are appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    117
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
423
577
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Aransas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had the BEST time at the Peace Lodge. Our boys are 2.5 and 5 and it was wonderful for them and for my husband-who really enjoyed Fly fishing in the trout lake. The room was beautiful and exotic as well. The biggest bathroom with real foliage and a waterfall! Two showers one we called the cave and the other an outdoor style with the option of a waterfall feature! Jacuzzi tub inside and one on the balcony as well. We really enjoyed the fire when the cool air came. Plenty of places to sit and lots of room to hang out. The scenery of the whole resort is outrageously beautiful. We had fun feeding the hummingbirds and toucans. The night frog tour was really cool, our boys loved being in charge of their own flashlights in the dark while seeing lots of frogs jumping around. I loved sitting in the hot pool next to the trout lake watching the boys fish. This is hands down one of the most amazing resorts we have been to. The staff was perfect and treated us all like family. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We chose the Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaacee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Public Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Kaacee201,

The staff and managment of Peace lodge want to thank you for your stay and kind reviews about our property and tours, we are more than happy to hear that your family had a great experience in our hotel and we are looking forward for your next visit.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

GREAT PLACE. Staff everywhere was amazing and friendly. Rooms really big with a super fun bathroom...kids loved it. the grounds were amazing to hike (you can do the hike without a guide easily). We had a ton of fun fishing in the pond and seeing all of the animals up close. 2-3 days was perfect if you want to add beach time in. It was chilly at times so be prepared with pants and sweater or light jacket. Highly recommend this place. Great

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abiggs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Public Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Abiggs13,

Thank you for making Peace Lodge part of your Costa Rican experience, and taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you found our Lodge, park and animals to your liking and are making every effort to ensure your entire experience will be 5 star should you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is an expensive stop, no doubt about that. But relative to what you get in North America for 300$, it is totally worth it. The rooms are amazing with a cascade in each of them and 2 hot tubs. You also get access to the hummingbird feeding zoo, which is quite an experience for the kids (and the parents) I would not stay there more than 2 or 3 nights. It's a good base to go visit Poas and the numerous chutes in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isabelle_larose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
The staff and management of Peace Lodge thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our property. We are most delighted that you found the Lodge and exhibits up to your expectations and found your experience with us memorable. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent a night up here for our anniversary and loved it, we wished we had more time to enjoy it. The rooms are luxurious and clean while at the same time providing you with that 'lodge' type atmosphere. It's a great mix of modern amenities and creature comforts. Big king sized canopy bed, fire place with rocking bench, flat screen TV with DVD player, mini bar, and of course their famous balconies with rocking chairs and outdoor Jacuzzi. The bathrooms nearly steal the show as they are spacious, have large walk in showers, a bathtub, and a separate room with the toilet.

Apart from the rooms themselves the Peace Lodge is unique for all that it offers to guests. It is home to the famous La Paz Waterfall Gardens as well as nearly every mammal, butterfly, snake, and bird native to Costa Rica - all rescued or orphaned. They also have several pools and a large trout pond where you can fish and cook your catch. The waterfalls themselves are still beautiful and as popular as always. Overall, it's a great weekend getaway if you live in San Jose or a great spot to start or end your vacation if you are visiting.

Room Tip: The standard and deluxe rooms are nearly identical, only the Deluxe Rooms have an extra Jacuzzi with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Public Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Kaacee201,

The staff and managment of Peace lodge want to thank you for your stay and kind reviews about our property and tours, we are more than happy to hear that your family had a great experience in our hotel and we are looking forward for your next visit.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The resort is beaufiful and the rooms are lovely. The service at the restaurant was top-notch, although the front desk staff was only 4 star (not 5). The waterfall gardens has animals and plants and was a great way to spend the afternoon. The rooms have fireplaces and hot tubs in them and are beautiful.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest class of room and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for making Peace Lodge part of your Costa Rican experience, and taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you found our Lodge, restaurant, park and animals to your liking and are making every effort to ensure your entire experience will be 5 star should you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We only stayed one night at the end of our trip, but this place deserved more time. The room was lovely, views from the balcony were amazing. The food in the restaurant wasn't cheap but the quality was good. Breakfast was served a la carte in a lovely location on the terrace, whilst enjoying gorgeous views. I really liked my Costa Rican breakfast dish. The grounds and park are stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed the wildlife. One of the real highlights was the nocturnal frog tour, a bargain at $10 each. Wish we had stayed a couple more days to have more time to enjoy all this place had to offer. All staff we spoke to were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolvesblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Warm greetings from the staff and management of Peace Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your brief visit with us. Our frog tour is "one of a kind" with knowledgeable guides and it is rewarding to hear you found it to be a highlight of your stay. Thank you for all your kind comments . We would be delighted to welcome you for a longer duration should you wish to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
237 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
22.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
3.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing