We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is an expensive stop, no doubt about that. But relative to what you get in North America for 300$, it is totally worth it. The rooms are amazing with a cascade in each of them and 2 hot tubs. You also get access to the hummingbird feeding zoo, which is quite an experience for the kids (and the parents) I would not stay there more than 2 or 3 nights. It's a good base to go visit Poas and the numerous chutes in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isabelle_larose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

The staff and management of Peace Lodge thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our property. We are most delighted that you found the Lodge and exhibits up to your expectations and found your experience with us memorable. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent a night up here for our anniversary and loved it, we wished we had more time to enjoy it. The rooms are luxurious and clean while at the same time providing you with that 'lodge' type atmosphere. It's a great mix of modern amenities and creature comforts. Big king sized canopy bed, fire place with rocking bench, flat screen TV with DVD player, mini bar, and of course their famous balconies with rocking chairs and outdoor Jacuzzi. The bathrooms nearly steal the show as they are spacious, have large walk in showers, a bathtub, and a separate room with the toilet.

Apart from the rooms themselves the Peace Lodge is unique for all that it offers to guests. It is home to the famous La Paz Waterfall Gardens as well as nearly every mammal, butterfly, snake, and bird native to Costa Rica - all rescued or orphaned. They also have several pools and a large trout pond where you can fish and cook your catch. The waterfalls themselves are still beautiful and as popular as always. Overall, it's a great weekend getaway if you live in San Jose or a great spot to start or end your vacation if you are visiting.

Room Tip: The standard and deluxe rooms are nearly identical, only the Deluxe Rooms have an extra Jacuzzi with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Public Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Kaacee201,

The staff and managment of Peace lodge want to thank you for your stay and kind reviews about our property and tours, we are more than happy to hear that your family had a great experience in our hotel and we are looking forward for your next visit.

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The resort is beaufiful and the rooms are lovely. The service at the restaurant was top-notch, although the front desk staff was only 4 star (not 5). The waterfall gardens has animals and plants and was a great way to spend the afternoon. The rooms have fireplaces and hot tubs in them and are beautiful.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest class of room and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for making Peace Lodge part of your Costa Rican experience, and taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you found our Lodge, restaurant, park and animals to your liking and are making every effort to ensure your entire experience will be 5 star should you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We only stayed one night at the end of our trip, but this place deserved more time. The room was lovely, views from the balcony were amazing. The food in the restaurant wasn't cheap but the quality was good. Breakfast was served a la carte in a lovely location on the terrace, whilst enjoying gorgeous views. I really liked my Costa Rican breakfast dish. The grounds and park are stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed the wildlife. One of the real highlights was the nocturnal frog tour, a bargain at $10 each. Wish we had stayed a couple more days to have more time to enjoy all this place had to offer. All staff we spoke to were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wolvesblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Warm greetings from the staff and management of Peace Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your brief visit with us. Our frog tour is "one of a kind" with knowledgeable guides and it is rewarding to hear you found it to be a highlight of your stay. Thank you for all your kind comments . We would be delighted to welcome you for a longer duration should you wish to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a trip of a lifetime. The setting is spectacular, the service friendly, and the activities unforgettable. We are just ending our stay at this amazing resort. My family (husband, two boys, parents) and I just stayed three nights here. We loved it! The highlights: frog night tour, toucan feeding, butterflies, hummingbird feeding. The boys also loved the trout fishing and I enjoyed my piña colada watching them. All of the people were so attentive. Jose Maria at the fishing taught my son how to fly fish and took the fish off the hook, plus put the bait on. Lady Diana in the butterfly exhibit took the time to explain the life cycle of the butterfly and teach my sons how to properly handle them. John who checked us in and took us on the frog tour went above and beyond - so patient and friendly. Daniel delivered food to our villa on several occasions and was so serviceable. The lady at the hummingbird feeding was so nice. Jeison and the other handler in the toucan exhibit went out of their way to make the experience memorable for my sons. The truth is that as soon as you walk into Peace Lodge, everybody goes out of their way to make you feel like family. We stayed in the Villa Lago which is beautiful, spacious, and has a spectacular terrace. Every thing was very clean and well cared for. This resort lives up its name and the Costa Rican catch phrase - Pura Vida!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Bsomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Public Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Bsomi

The staff and management of the Peace Lodge wish to express our gratitude for your complimentary comments about our property and employees. It gives us pleasure to hear we lived up to your expectations and that you and your family had a great time in our hotel.
We hope this will be one of many more visits to our country and property.

Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had our family at the lodge for four nights over grandchildren's spring break. It was a wonderful experience. Stayed in two connecting deluxe rooms with roll away beds provided for children. The rooms are large, the bathrooms are huge......two showers, one tub, two sinks, separate toilet. Hot tub on the balcony. The kids fed toucans, hummingbirds, milked cows, saw amazing frogs and watched jaguars and others being fed. They caught rainbow trout and the staff cooked them, so we got to eat their catch. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful and always with a smile. We also went horseback riding and took a zip line through the rainforest, all arranged by the front desk employees. This was a magical time making great family memories and the Lodge and ALL the employees were a great help.

Room Tip: The deluxe are on the second floor, which means great views, but on previous stays we have been on f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2smokycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Your kind review of Peace Lodge, our activities, tours and staff is very much appreciated. It is most gratifying to hear your family had a magical vacation with us and we wish to thank you for choosing our property in which to enjoy the rain and cloud forest area of Costa Rica. We would be honored to welcome you if you should return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The uniqueness of this 1st class boutique hotel is hard to beat! Its setting in a rain forest along with the most beautiful environmentally decorated rooms I have ever observed outside of Africa, makes this place a "must stay", at least for a couple of days, if you are visiting Costa Rica.
The animal habitats, and tours thereof, were remarkable & quite memorable, to say the least. The nature walk along a winding path through the grounds behind the hotel itself, will remain vividly in your mind for years to follow. The restaurant is also first rate…we strongly recommend this place to anyone we know visiting this wonderful country, as a 'must-see" at the beginning, or the end of their vacation, since it not far from the San Jose Airport. My wife's sister and her son will be spending a couple of days there as his mother's graduation gift from Bucknell University later this year...per our recommendation, and we have no doubt they will be thanking us upon their return!

Room Tip: They do not have many, so book in advance not to miss out! I would assume any & all rooms are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLodge, Gerente at Peace Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear John B,

Staff and management of Peace Lodge wish to thank you for posting such a great review. We are pleased to know we were part of your memorable trip.

Thank you for sharing your experiences!

Jorge Alvarado Herrera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
255 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
725 reviews
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
920 reviews
15 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,881 reviews
22 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range: $322 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing