We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and nature combine in a family-friendly resort”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are gorgeous, with lovely Costa Rican stained glass and jungle views. Don't miss the hummingbird and toucan feedings. Trails are well-maintained and take you past several waterfalls. The food on-site isnt cheap, and breakfast is unremarkable, but dinners at Poas Vista are excellent. The restaurants unfortunately all play Kenny G in the background, but this is easily forgiven.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Sarahdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Amazing!!! The room was clean, large and comfortable. The view is spectacular and our balcony was equipped with an outdoor jacuzzi, hammock and personal hummingbird feeder. The room also has wifi (but you'll only want to use it to post photos of the fabulous surroundings!)

We liked the room so much that after we toured the park we checked in, and stayed in. Room service was very good, prompt and delicious. We ate in front of the in-room fireplace, which was perfect. The lodge also gave us a bottle of wine as a celebratory gift.

It was magical to lay in bed, look to the left and see, through the glass balcony doors, the tree tops and mist, directly in front of us was the glowing gas fireplace, and to our right was a beautiful bathroom light fixture that, when dimmed, looked like stars.

Our only regret is only staying one night (it's also close to SJO airport)!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LASH22201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our first stop on our tour of Costa Rica. The room was more than I could have even asked for. Beautiful canopy king size bed fire place rocking bench mini fridge and a bathroom made for a king!! 2 showers and a Jacuzzi tub! Also a Jacuzzi out side on the giant balcony! The hikes were very casual and the view of the waterfalls were great. All the staff was very kind and the zoo was a big surprise. My favorite part was being able to feed the hummingbirds! My least favorite was the fishing. Its not much fun when all you have to do is dip your hook into the water and you pull out a fish, literally thats all I had to do. No casting or anything. But in all the property was amazing and I wish I had made this my last stop in Costa Rica cause it would have really made my trip end perfectly. Instead it just began perfectly!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cassie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Casual Elegance at every turn. The rooms are incredible! You'll find a waterfall in your shower. Two soaking tubs, one was out on our balcony overlooking the green hills, yet totally private. Brilliant! Romantic, yet full of adventures. The couples massage was the perfect way to relax. But there is lots of family fun there too. The staff couldn't have been more caring and attentive. The restaurant and bar were exceptional. The food was amazing. Breakfast out on the terrace when they feed the local birds fresh fruit is a must. The location is fairly high in elevation -4500 ft so you'll want a jacket or sweater for evenings.
The preserve was so well done, with all the animals in natural habitats. They are really well cared for! The hike to the waterfalls was easy and the 3 waterfalls are gorgeous. We did the park and waterfalls tour and our guide was so incredibly knowledgeable it made it much more interesting. Thank you Peace Lodge for a wonderful stay, we will be back again and again for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

this place is located in the mountains about an hour drive from the capital san jose. the bungalow type rooms are large and come with a small waterfall(which you can turn off) ,a hammock, and multiple hot tubs. there is also a large unheated pool and a small heated pool and communal waterfall. the best part of the place was the excellent small zoo which included an excellent aviary(toucans will perch on your arm), jungle cats, frogs, snakes, butterflies, etc. the place is expensive and the dinners more so-the food was good but not great. the local volcano is worth the visit and be sure to try the local roadside strawberries and see the sunsets over the san jose valley. my wife loved the massages included in the package.

Room Tip: can't miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We loved this hotel so much! The location, the quality, the service - all top notch.

Location - the hotel is quite isolated. It is about 45 minutes north from SJO, and is built into the hillside above la Paz waterfalls gardens park. To get anywhere you have to drive at least 15 minutes, and these are not roads you want to drive on after dark so you are "stuck" there in the evenings. For us, this was fine; but others may not like it. The drive from Alajuela is fine. Very twisty and hilly, but a gorgeous drive and there was lots of signage to help you out.

The hotel - what can I say, the place is gorgeous. It is built to blend into the natural surroundings and it does so beautifully. It is built into a hillside so there are ALOT of steps. I would not recommend it for anyone with mobility issues. There are no elevators or ramps. Even luggage is an issue, there is a note in the room saying it is unacceptable for guests to carry their luggage, they offer luggage carrying as a complimentary service. We were travelling with a baby (10 months) and had a lot of luggage so we gave the guys a decent tip anyways. The hotel has 3 restaurants, 1 bar, 3 pools (1 heated, 2 unheated), 2 hot tubs, and a stocked fish pond. You also get free access to la Paz waterfalls gardens which is on the same property. The unheated pools were freezing. my husband got in for a few minutes just to say he du, but it was not fun. i imagine it would take a lot to heat it up. The heated pool is lovely though. It is a small infinity pool that overlooks the smaller of the two unheated pools and then on out over the park. The good hot tub is right beside it. The best part is that the heated pool and good hot tub are covered so you can enjoy them when it's raining. Which it did, every day we were there! With the baby, we left the stroller in the car, there were too many steps for it to be useful, we either carried him or used our backpack carrier. Our room was right above the heated pool which was really convenient. When the baby was sleeping/napping we would take the monitor and go out to the deck, or pool or hot tub. It's great to have those options when you're travelling with a baby and not be confined to your room.

The room - we had the deluxe room and it was AMAZING. I'm not sure words can describe exactly how nice these rooms are. They have a gorgeous 4-poster king size bed with a sheer canopy, huge stone fireplace with this very unique carved wooden rocking couch in front. The deck is large, with a beautiful view of the park (and Poas volcano on a clear day). It has a jacuzzi (NOT a hot tub) made of ceramic tile and stone on one side, a hammock on the other and a table and chairs in the middle. There is also a hummingbird feeder, and hummingbirds were there all the time. Then there's the bathroom. Oh my what a bathroom. It was bigger than some hotel rooms I've stayed it. It is all done in stone (well, concrete made to look like stone, but whatever) with a huge skylight, big wooden vanity with neat ceramic sinks and what I'm pretty sure were living trees and shrubs. The main room housed the vanity, a second jacuzzi, and a waterfall. Off the main room were a toilet room and 2 showers - one a regular/rain shower and the other a regular/waterfall shower. The waterfall shower was kinda cool but not really functional. More of a novelty. Same with the actual waterfall, it was beautiful and super cool, but also kinda loud so after taking a few pics we turned it off. The bathroom was so big that we basically used it as the babies bedroom, just put the pack and play in there.

Restaurants - there are 3 restaurants at the peace lodge and 1 in the park, but they are not all open for every meal. Breakfast is only served at tortillas, lunch is served at tortillas, the big trout bar and colibries (in the park) and dinner was only served at Poas vista. Each resto has set times, and my only, only issue was that if you wanted to eat between 4:00 and 6:00 pm there was nothing open. Pretty minor complaint. Breakfast was not included, but reasonably priced - most expensive menu item was $12 and you get a good big breakfast for that. The pancakes were to die for. We had lunch at the big trout bar once and colibries once. Both were good, the serving size at big trout bar was kinda small though, but I think that was just what we ordered. Colibries is a buffet and was delicious. The other park guests and tour groups also eat here so I think it can get crowded, but it wasn't d when we were there. We had supper 3 nights at Poas vista and really enjoyed it. Like the rest of the hotel, the restaurant is gorgeous and the service is impeccable. The first we walked in the waiter looked up and said "you must be Ms. Williams, we've been expecting you", then took this wooden placard with our name on it and asked us which table we wanted. From there, it keeps getting better. We got to know all the wait staff and them us. They took the time to talk and get to know us, to play with the baby and give us advice for our trip. They are truly the nicest people we have met so far in Costa Rica (and there are ALOT of nice people here). Our last meal there, they all hugged us. It was pretty amazing. So Rinald, Danny, Melvin and Byron - thank you so much for everything, you guys are pros! We also got to meet Carole, the customer care rep (a fellow Canadian) and what a lovely lady! Every night when we left the restaurant the baby would cry and bang on the door to go back and play with his new friends! Oh, the food was also great! Some other reviewers/posters have commented that it is expensive and it is a little pricey (especially when you consider you have to eat there or go into town before dark), but considering the caliber of restaurant we didn't find it that bad. Entrees ranged between $20 and about $35, which is about the same as we'd pay in Canada at this type of restaurant. Service is included in your bill (10%) but you can add an extra tip if you like.

I guess the final thing I should say is that this is not a cheap hotel. It is this good for a reason! We had a groupon so we got a killer deal, in fact I think it was the cheapest we stayed at on our visit! However, if it is within your budget, or if like us you find a deal, I would very very highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank ladybug269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Peace Lodge brings an additional meaning to the word, lodge. Upon entering our room I felt as if I was embarking on a 5-star excursion in the rainforest. (See my review of the La Paz Waterfall Garden Park.) Private outdoor/indoor Jacuzzis, rainfall showers (two in our room), fireplace, minibar, were just some of the amenities in our room. Each staff member is extremely professional, personable, and dedicated to ensure you have the best experience possible. My mother and I especially enjoyed meeting our dinner/breakfast hosts, Melvin and Byron. As guests we were allowed to walk around the grounds at dawn before visiting hours of the park. Being bird enthusiasts this was especially nice for us. If you are planning a visit to Costa Rica, definitely include both the gardens and lodge on your trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
250 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
709 reviews
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
15 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,854 reviews
22 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range: $333 - $727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing