We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Family Experience”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical Family Experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Peace Lodge was beyond our expectations. The resort itself is, out of a story book-incredible scenery and the hotel rooms, so luxurious and just beautiful. No detail was over looked. My children especially loved the trout fishing pond, where our guide Jose, happily helped them catch fish after fish. Our best family vacation ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    118
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
425
577
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelter Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The rooms at the peace lodge are amazing. Big canopy beds, two jacuzzies, one inside and one on the balcony overlooking the mountains. Everything made of stone. The park is wonderful. At first since the weather was rather cool during our stay I thought what are we going to do for three days. We decided to just tour the property on the first day. This provided more than enough to do. We caught fish, hiked the waterfall trail, fed toucans, fed humming birds, got an on the house in room massage, swam in the lagoon pools and ate wonderful meals. My eight year old son was in paradise. We had to go back to visit the monkeys and the jaguars repeatedly through out our days. We took the Paos volcano and coffee plantation tour. Jonathan was our personal tour guide. He went out of our way to show us everything he loved about his country. When it was time to leave no one in the family was ready and we had a list of things we needed to do one more time. Special mention to Melvin in the dining room. He was the most gracious waiter I have ever experienced. I can't wait until we have the chance to come back here. It is a very special place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sipatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I would agree with other reviewers, this place is truly beautiful and amazing. However, if you're looking for the natural beauty of Costa Rica the Peace Lodge is not the place to find it. Entire place is man-made so it distracts somewhat from the experience. That being said, we really enjoyed our stay there. The rooms were amazing, the pool and hot tubs gorgeous, and we loved the falls and the animals. The trout fishing was fun (although like shooting fish in a barrel) and the service and staff were great. We thought that both the breakfast buffet and the lunch buffet were a decent bargain, $13 for adults and seven dollars for children 12 and under; the dinner was overpriced and not that great. Unfortunately, there's really no other place to go to eat while you're there. All in all, we highly recommend staying at the Peace Lodge during your trip to Costa Rica, but suggest you stay for only one possibly two nights at the end of your trip before heading back to the airport in San Jose.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB1969Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

There is so much to do at this 5 Star resort . During my stay I was able to trout fish, visit the La Paz waterfall garden and rain forest, and even feed toucans. There are many other beautiful animals to see on the premises. The rooms are a piece of paradise and the food and staff are wonderful. They are friendly and accommodating !!! This was a very relaxing place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Peace Lodge for the first two nights of our 10 nights in Costa Rica. Amazing starting point with great views. Truly a paradise and the rooms were one of a kind. However when we were there the grounds were VERY quiet which at times seemed a little depressing depending on what your looking for. One whole day at this resort and if you are an active traveler you will be ready to move on. All in all an amazing place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah33308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you need a hotel close to the airport before or after your journey to the rest of Costa Rica, this is the place to stay for one or two nights to relax. Not only is the place breathtaking, it makes perfect economical sense if you plan to visit the park. One day tour of the park costs $160 for two people. Booking a room here costs approx. $300 so its basically just $140 per night plus transportation ($65 from the airport). I did my research and no hotels near San Jose will offer the same luxury and peaceful setting like the Peace Lodge. As a guest, you have unlimited access to the park from the day you check in to the day you check out. Only guests will be able to feed the hummingbirds and toucans in the morning, before the daytrippers arrive (do not miss it!!). With only 18 lodges, the lodge never feels crowded - we felt like we had the place to ourselves. The deluxe suite was worth the splurge just for the washroom and balcony view alone. The service was top-notch - everyone was super helpful especially Hazel who showed us around the lodge and arranged all our transport. Make sure you do the trout fishing for lunch - it was the best $14 we spent in all of Costa Rica, the fish was HUGE and they know how to make it taste amazing (we are very picky eaters). We also really enjoyed the cheese fondue at the restaurant. Breakfast was not complimentary - it wasn't worth it in my opinion, not much selection. The view from the breakfast area was great though but you can have a drink there after walking around the park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoweeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I just got married in Costa Rica in August 2013. Our last place we stayed at was the Peace Lodge in Poas volcano for our honeymoon. I felt like they treated us like royalty. The service was impeccable, the room was a little piece of paradise, and the food was excellent. We were able to feed toucans and hummingbirds which was fun, and the natural area was gorgeous. For being a cloud rainforest it wasn't that cloudy for our 3 days there. I'm not complaining. It was beautiful, cool and not as humid as the other 2 locations we were at. We did a couple of tours. I recommend both. We did the night frog tour where we saw frogs active in there herpes pavilion. Very informative, and really neat to get close to the frogs. And for birders out there, we did the birding tour which the guide, Michael, knew his stuff. He was able to help us see new birds that we didn't find on our own. I wish we did the tour to see the crater of the Poas volcano. We heard it's beautiful. Next time. This is a perfect place for couples or families. I highly recommend the Peace Lodge.

Room Tip: Every room seemed like a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
237 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
22.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
3.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing