We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Mitzvah at Peace Lodge”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Niskayuna, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bar Mitzvah at Peace Lodge”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The whole area is simply amazing! Our family of 5 plus 2 guests and a cantor experienced the Bar Mitzvah of a lifetime in the butterfly habitat at Peace Lodge. The staff was more than accommodating and helpful; the meals were great, and the rooms even better. Make sure to do the nighttime frog tour and visit the falls.

Nothing could possibly beat the experience we had at Peace Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    117
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
423
577
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is one of the best. the rooms, the view, the park and above all-the staff.Renald Melvin and Daniel from the restaurant and Allen Perez Cordero-Room Manager. To be honest, all the staff was nice and helpfull

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilyza_herzeliyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Peace Lodge is Paradise! We stayed just one night wish we could of stayed another! the resort is spectacular - the rooms are so unique and beautiful - jacuzzi in the bathroom and on the deck! Just such a special place. Food and service is unbelievable - the friendliest staff - will do anything to help make your stay the best! we learned so much about the country, the area, the people in 24 hours! All the animals at the animal reserve are great to see! The waterfall hike is so beautiful! Could not ask for a better way to start your costa Rica vacation and only an hour from San Jose Airport!
PURA VIDA!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelagentcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Peace Lodge was an amazing experience. Besides the fact that it was much different than the usual NY life, it was spectacular! It was very nice to get away from the constant stress and just relax. The rooms were extraordinary. The balcony had something I did't even know they could put on a balcony, which was the hot tub. The hammock was also nice because it gave the room a layed back feel. The bathroom had everything in it. From a nice sized jacuzzi to a beautiful shower. The fireplace was a nice touch as well because it makes guests feel right at home. The beds could not get any better. They were big and so very comfortable. The view of the rainforest was breath-taking and it made you feel like you were in paradise. I am planning to definitly come back in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriella_T204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June 2013 with our 18 month-old daughter. We absolutely loved the place. It is definitely expensive, especially for CR, but there were so many things to do on the site that you have to stay the night. A ton of animals, great walking trails, the waterfalls and fantastic rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carocora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Head of the Harbor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Upon arriving at Peace Lodge, your first impression is an enchanting oasis in the canapy of the rain forest. Only an hour from the airport (San Jose), you arrive to the tranquil sounds of birds,
insects, and frogs singing nature's harmony. My daughter (14) and I were immediately swept away by a warm and gracious staff, served a fresh tropical drink, and escorted to a luxurious room with our name carved in wood. Now that's first class! The room is immaculate with exquisite details such as stained class, carved wood furniture, hand painted sinks,and a stone
fireplace and Jacuzzi. My daughter's favorite feature was the hammock outside the porch so she could watch the hummingbirds feed. Mine, of course, was the stone Jacuzzi (rock knobs) nestled in the corner overlooking the Rainforest. The mattress and sheets were AMAZING-LIKE SLEEPING ON A CLOUD!!!

If your daring enough to awake at sunrise, its a bird watchers dream! During breakfast we enjoyed watching the native birds fly in to dine on fresh fruits. The staff is so eager to please and helpful in naming the birds we spotted. BTW the food is by far the freshest and best we have
ever had. If you order the trout for dinner, it was literally swimming 10 minutes before it reached our plate!

After breakfast we fed tucans out of our hands and kissed the whiskers of an adult male Jaguar(class partition). MOVING EXPERIENCE to say the least!! I was so impressed with the staff's care and cleanliness of the enclosures as well as the enrichment for the animals.
The butterfly observatory is and educational "must see!" Don't forget to checkout the frogs at night-they glow in the dark!!

Overall this hotel in every area outshines any five star hotel we have ever stayed in. Hats off to the staff for their excellent service,and sincerity.

The time we spent at Peace Lodge has forever been imprinted in our hearts. We would like to thank the owner for creating this "Garden of Eden" in Costa Rica! Your a genius!!

WE WILL RETURN ANUALLY FOR OUR MOTHER/DAUGHTER GETAWAY!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This location is perfect for a peaceful environment where we could lay on the hammock on our balcony listening to the soothing sounds of the rainforest. Or we could sit in the jacuzzi on our balcony. Awesome. I know, only one jacuzzi...don't worry, there's another one in the bathroom. Even staying in a luxurious room I still feel like we got the outdoorsy Costa Rican experience. Everything is made to look like wood or stone to give you the log cabin feel. One thing I loved was that they have hummingbird feeders everywhere including the balconies so that hummingbirds are constantly fluttering above you when you're on the hammock. The bed was astoundingly comfortable, I don't know how. It was a nice touch that they had signs outside the rooms displaying our last names. No complaints about the service and the food was great. Get the 'typical Costa Rican meal' with rice and beans, plantains and the whole assortment. We hiked the trail next to the trout bar and saw some cool stuff (it was an easy hike). The animals on the property are all very active and entertaining. Their vivarium is the biggest I've seen and it gives a lot of information about the metamorphosis process that I thought was fascinating. We got a chance to hang out with their toucans and let them perch on our arms. All in all a must stay if you're ever in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in were conjoining and the beds on each side were against the dividing wall. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
237 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
22.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
3.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing