We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peace Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas(Heredia)(Great Value!)
$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Gosen B&B(Heredia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,368 results
Traveler rating
1,185
130
27
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,185
130
27
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfall showertrouthot tubfrog tourwaterfall gardenspoas volcanodeluxe roomcanopy bedcosta ricasister propertyla pazcloud forestour honeymoonmonarch villagas fireplacehumming birdsbig cats
Filter
Updating list...
708 - 713 of 1,368 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Peace Lodge is Paradise! We stayed just one night wish we could of stayed another! the resort is spectacular - the rooms are so unique and beautiful - jacuzzi in the bathroom and on the deck! Just such a special place. Food and service is unbelievable - the friendliest staff - will do anything to help make your stay the best! we learned so much about the country, the area, the people in 24 hours! All the animals at the animal reserve are great to see! The waterfall hike is so beautiful! Could not ask for a better way to start your costa Rica vacation and only an hour from San Jose Airport!
PURA VIDA!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelagentcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Peace Lodge was an amazing experience. Besides the fact that it was much different than the usual NY life, it was spectacular! It was very nice to get away from the constant stress and just relax. The rooms were extraordinary. The balcony had something I did't even know they could put on a balcony, which was the hot tub. The hammock was also nice because it gave the room a layed back feel. The bathroom had everything in it. From a nice sized jacuzzi to a beautiful shower. The fireplace was a nice touch as well because it makes guests feel right at home. The beds could not get any better. They were big and so very comfortable. The view of the rainforest was breath-taking and it made you feel like you were in paradise. I am planning to definitly come back in the future!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriella_T204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June 2013 with our 18 month-old daughter. We absolutely loved the place. It is definitely expensive, especially for CR, but there were so many things to do on the site that you have to stay the night. A ton of animals, great walking trails, the waterfalls and fantastic rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carocora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Upon arriving at Peace Lodge, your first impression is an enchanting oasis in the canapy of the rain forest. Only an hour from the airport (San Jose), you arrive to the tranquil sounds of birds,
insects, and frogs singing nature's harmony. My daughter (14) and I were immediately swept away by a warm and gracious staff, served a fresh tropical drink, and escorted to a luxurious room with our name carved in wood. Now that's first class! The room is immaculate with exquisite details such as stained class, carved wood furniture, hand painted sinks,and a stone
fireplace and Jacuzzi. My daughter's favorite feature was the hammock outside the porch so she could watch the hummingbirds feed. Mine, of course, was the stone Jacuzzi (rock knobs) nestled in the corner overlooking the Rainforest. The mattress and sheets were AMAZING-LIKE SLEEPING ON A CLOUD!!!

If your daring enough to awake at sunrise, its a bird watchers dream! During breakfast we enjoyed watching the native birds fly in to dine on fresh fruits. The staff is so eager to please and helpful in naming the birds we spotted. BTW the food is by far the freshest and best we have
ever had. If you order the trout for dinner, it was literally swimming 10 minutes before it reached our plate!

After breakfast we fed tucans out of our hands and kissed the whiskers of an adult male Jaguar(class partition). MOVING EXPERIENCE to say the least!! I was so impressed with the staff's care and cleanliness of the enclosures as well as the enrichment for the animals.
The butterfly observatory is and educational "must see!" Don't forget to checkout the frogs at night-they glow in the dark!!

Overall this hotel in every area outshines any five star hotel we have ever stayed in. Hats off to the staff for their excellent service,and sincerity.

The time we spent at Peace Lodge has forever been imprinted in our hearts. We would like to thank the owner for creating this "Garden of Eden" in Costa Rica! Your a genius!!

WE WILL RETURN ANUALLY FOR OUR MOTHER/DAUGHTER GETAWAY!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This location is perfect for a peaceful environment where we could lay on the hammock on our balcony listening to the soothing sounds of the rainforest. Or we could sit in the jacuzzi on our balcony. Awesome. I know, only one jacuzzi...don't worry, there's another one in the bathroom. Even staying in a luxurious room I still feel like we got the outdoorsy Costa Rican experience. Everything is made to look like wood or stone to give you the log cabin feel. One thing I loved was that they have hummingbird feeders everywhere including the balconies so that hummingbirds are constantly fluttering above you when you're on the hammock. The bed was astoundingly comfortable, I don't know how. It was a nice touch that they had signs outside the rooms displaying our last names. No complaints about the service and the food was great. Get the 'typical Costa Rican meal' with rice and beans, plantains and the whole assortment. We hiked the trail next to the trout bar and saw some cool stuff (it was an easy hike). The animals on the property are all very active and entertaining. Their vivarium is the biggest I've seen and it gives a lot of information about the metamorphosis process that I thought was fascinating. We got a chance to hang out with their toucans and let them perch on our arms. All in all a must stay if you're ever in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in were conjoining and the beds on each side were against the dividing wall. If you're traveling as a couple you may want to ask about a non-conjoining room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews