We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Lodging”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Lodging”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Peace Lodge was fantastic. Our family of four enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was extremely accommodating. They were very kind, and spoke amazing english. We took an extra tour at night with Jonathan to see the frogs of the park. We highly recommend the few extra dollars to take the trip. The waterfalls were amazing. While the main trail provides spectacular views, there are additional smaller trails that allow you to get up close to the water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    115
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
413
562
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am new to trip advisor, but really wanted to review this place. We stayed for part of our honeymoon in late July 2010 and absolutely loved it! The room had a lovely fireplace and canopy bed. The rock shower was another great feature with a waterfall setting. There was a water fall in the bathroom by the bathtub that was nice to run as I enjoyed a hot bubble bath. However our favorite water feature was the private jacuzzi on the balcony! The local artisan work from the lights to the countertops were all stunning. The La Paz waterfall gardens are beautiful and it was such a treat to see the birds and animals up close at the reserve. We went on a night frog tour which was fun and a guaranteed chance to see some of the tree frogs I so desperately wanted to see. (These were the only ones I saw on our 12 day trip). We also did the volcano and coffee tour which was really fun. The restaurant had yummy food and room service was well priced and generous with the servings. We had a great time and will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryMary08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Do you want to feel like you are in an adult Disneyland? Well if you do, then this is the place to go. We spent 2 nights at the Peace Lodge. Our room was simply wonderful. The bedroom was warm and inviting with a beautiful rock fireplace. French doors leading out to our private deck that overlooked the amazing grounds and pools had a jacuzzi tub in the corner, a hammock, and comfy lounge chair. The bathroom was even larger than the bedroom with a waterfall, a jacuzzi tub, a waterfall shower and another enclosed shower. Mood lighting and plants finished off the over the top room. The breakfast was lovely but not included in the price of the room. The dinner was very good and the service top notch. This is a preserve for animals and we did see many beautiful ones. There is a butterfly conservatory, and a bird conservatory where we got to feed the Toucans. The neatest thing that we got to do was feed the hummingbirds. My husband and I consider this the highlight of our visit to this hotel. The hummingbirds are in the outdoors, not in an enclosed space and come to feed from tiny little vials that you hold in your hand. Magic! This place has many steps and you have to be in pretty good shape to get around. Not for people in wheel chairs or walkers. The waterfalls were super and worth the walk and they had a bus to take us back to the hotel. There is a huge pool and a pond with trout that you can catch and they will cook them for you for lunch.
Bring your rain poncho, (buy the cheap ones at Target for $1.50) and your comfortable walking shoes. I am glad that we got to go here and see this one of a kind hotel and the natural setting. The staff was very good and quick to help us with anything we asked.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great and have wonderful views. Just be prepared to walk a lot and for lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Suenos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

There is no possible way that the photos or descriptions below can do this place justice. It is an experience like no other place I have ever been. The rooms are better than they look in the photos. You really do have two hot-tubs (one inside and one outside) and you really do have two showers (one enclosed and one in the huge bathroom with a waterfall for a shower head). You have a live garden in your room.

The Waterfall walking tour is safe and amazing. The butterfly garden, monkey's, large Jaguars, etc. are all better than you can imagine. We took the tour to the Volcano with John. He was very hard working and made sure our party of 5 all had a great time!

Room Tip: Get the best room you can. We did pay the extra and it was well worth it. Just awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited the Peace Lodge in March, and stayed for 2 nights, wish we stayed a few more, but this is an amazing place to stay! The property overlooks a cloud forest with a park that has exotic birds, monkeys, butterflies and other amazing animals and don't forget the breath taking waterfalls. We went zip lining in the canopy of the jungle and white water rafting and went on a private tour of the grounds with Jonathon, our guide, who was the kindest, knowledgeable and friendly and funny guide. He was great with my nieces and I was amazed with all the information that I learned. I highly recommend you request him when you tour the facility. The rooms are beautiful, the pools are refreshing and I cannot say enough about the time we spent there. We will be coming back and staying longer and bringing more family with us!!! Thanks to all the amazing people we met and again, I cannot say enough about Jonathon...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The property is beautiful, the natural surroundings great. The room was great but not something you really need to experience in this type of setting. The restaurant's food was mediocre and our waiter was indifferent. He made a great effort to push a inferior red wine on us with a price tag of 150.00 USD. We didn't take it but were put off by his diligence (All of the wine including the red wine is stored within sight and stood upright unrefrigerated). No telling how long the stock has been there. Again a great place for a special occasion but impractical if you expect to spend any time hiking in the the rain forest as you'd run out things to do in a hurry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agustinPaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just back from a wonderful trip to Cost Rica. Our first stop was the Peace Lodge which was a fantastic way to start our trip. A very easy 1 hour drive from San Jose airport but felt a million miles away! Beautiful, very friendly & attentive staff, clean & beautiful rooms. We have a family of 5 and they had a perfect villa to accommodate us -- beautifully decorated & very comfortable. The wildlife refuge was a great learning opportunity for the kids on our first stop of the trip and the waterfall hike was gorgeous! The guide they provided for a local tour was extremely friendly and knowledable. A couple of nights is probably plenty here so you can continue to explore other parts Cost Rica (they suggest this on their website too) but they will be days well spent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
822 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
640 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
22.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing