We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a Treat”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The roads to get there from the airport were horrible but well worth the the bumpy ride. This resort is a must experience if you are looking for a slice of the Lifestyles of Rich and Famous. We almost felt guilty staying there. The rooms are huge and full of every amenity you could think of plus a few more.. Fireplace, an inside and outside jacuzzi in your room and 2 waterfalls in your room!!!

The Lapaz water fall gardens are amazing and the trail to the 5 waterfalls is easily accessible with amazing views.

If you want to treat yourself for a few nights, this is the place to do it. Just beware that most other places you stay will pale in comparison.

2 Nights were just right for us since it's pretty quiet and you can see everything you need to in one full day.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    118
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
432
579
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Mariposa suite and the room was just beautiful. Agree with other reviewersthat the living room couch wasn't comfortable and there was a roof leak. Never saw housekeeping. Lost power and water entirely our final morning so couldn't even shower or enjoy our outdoor soaking tub, which was a bummer. You are very remote but it was so beautiful to be in the rainforest. We had no trouble communicating as other reviewers mentioned. We especially loved Melvin at the restaurant and Daniel at the Trout bar. It is worth visiting at least once and staying, afterall its an effort to get there so stay for the beautiful lodging. The beds were also extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just can not even begin to tell you how crazy unreal this place is. My wife and I are were amazed to have a real rainforest in our bathroom, 2 showers and 2 jacuzzi's, one inside and one on the deck. Could not have asked for any better service through out our stay.There was a great stereo dvd player in the room and hundreds of free dvd's to use along with free wifi. We had the pleasure to meet Michael one of the employees who had vast knowledge along with being a real nice guy. We had a lot of fun with him. The owner has thought about every detail in building this place and sparred no expense, the grounds were most impressive. I can not wait to go to their other property tomorrow, The Springs Resort and Spa in Arenal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Upon arrival for the last 2 nights of our Honeymoon we were shown our room and given a bottle of wine. We were beyond impressed with the beauty of the room - The room itself - was gorgeous. That is where the positives in this review end.

The Peace Lodge is located in a very remote area & the resort itself is tiny and extremely overpriced.
Housekeeping:
Never came during our 2 night honeymoon stay. We had to call the front desk and ask for new towels and after 4 hours later they still hadn't arrived - so we went to the front desk to get them ourselves. This was a process in itself because seemingly no one at the resort spoke English. (this was VERY uncommon for Costa Rica, the previous 3 resorts we had stayed at had all had very fluent English speakers)

"Movie Rental'
You are literally stuck in the middle of nowhere in the rainforest (so the weather is cool and rainy). There was nothing to do - so we decided to 'rent' movies from the front desk. They are all (poorly) burned copies of American movies. We literally rented 5-6 movies and not a single one would play in the DVD player. They all continually skipped.

Breakfast:
everywhere else on our 10 day Costa Rica Honeymoon had breakfast included. The Peace Lodge did not and it was extremely expensive (as was all of their food).

Lunch:
We ate at the Trout Bar on site for lunch. The menu was limited, but the bartender was friendly and the portions were decent sized for the price. The caveat is that this was only open from noon-4, so the only meal we could enjoy here was lunch.

Dinner:
We were instructed upon check-in that we had to make reservations for dinner and were given a few time slots to choose from. Upon arrival at dinner there was literally 1 other table in the restaurant. The restaurant was priced quite expensively ($35+ per entree by the time you add the 'mandatory tax & service charges'). Upon receiving our meals we were shocked and dismayed by the small serving sizes. We are two very average/thin people and we literally left the meal hungry. I think the goal of the restaurant is that you will order appetizers/salads/entrees in order to fill up - so when we only ordered entree's the servers were quite condescending and rude. We had not rented a car and we were literally miles and miles away from any form of civilization - so we were stuck.

Animal Sanctuary:
It is a zoo with about 10 animals. And not even a nice one at that.

Waterfall Garden:
Not impressive. We'd easily seen much nicer/taller waterfalls elsewhere - AND you could swim in those.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank en122912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

WOW!!!! This place was so beautiful, relaxing and well worth the pricey room rates. I wish I could show you the brochure of this place. Unbelievable!!!! There was so much to see with in this beauty , the nature park was outstanding with plenty of nature and wild life also a couple of beautiful water falls and lots of relaxation. I highly recommend this place, it is very rare for me to give a hotel 5 stars with no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursenatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

OMG!
I can’t get over this place!
It is out of a movie!
Jacuzzi on the balcony! Fireplace in the bedroom!
The staff are over the top friendly and provide excellent service.
I actually feel bad that the bell boys carry the luggage over so many stairs!
The hotel room is extravagant, with a nice combination of rustic wood with modern amenities.
You can even shower under a waterfall in your bathroom!
The grounds a very well maintained and have excellent entrances, lighting.
The food is great; the only thing we did not like was the Fondue appetizer.
But the steak as amazingly tender and the pasta was cooked to perfection!
The road from San Jose is a little rough as you get closer to the hotel but otherwise in good condition.
The Waterfall gardens park beside the hotel is a great attraction for the family, you can spend hours wandering around!
Excellent job Leonardo and staff!

Room Tip: The superiors have jacuzzis on the balcony and in the bath! Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to the Peace Lodge because it had so much to offer and it was close to the Poas Volcano. We had just left Manuel Antonio and we arrived at the Peace Lodge on Christmas Day. The roads we traveled were great until we got to the last one. The road up to the lodge was pretty nerve-wrecking. The road had washed out in places so it was just dirt and potholes and LONG drops off the side of the road. Guard rails are not common in Costa Rica. I mentioned this to the clerk when we were leaving and she kind of chuckled and said ,"You just have to be careful." Obviously they were unfazed by this but for us it was an adventure and I was grateful that we rented a 4wheel drive vehicle. Leaving the lodge wasn't nearly so bad since that direction put us next to hills and not the drops.
The lodge itself was worth the drive. When we were taken to our room our jaws dropped. Our room was unlike any we have ever seen. Lots of wood and stone and waterfalls in our room. There was a gas fireplace with a beautiful hearth, it was perfect ! My favorite was the ceiling lights in the bathroom. It was like a metal flower sculpture that covered the ceiling with little lights and a dimmer switch, the perfect setting for a nice long bath. The detail to the decor was wonderful, very relaxing. It was everything you could hope for in a lodge setting.
The main restaurant was very nice, expensive,and did not have a lot of kid friendly food. There is a place by the humming birds that had a buffet that the kids loved and we enjoyed but it closed at 4, so it was a little early for dinner.
The park was amazing. We saw everything, we fed hummingbirds and toucans. The guys at the toucan area were especially great. My children loved the butterfly area, I have pictures of my kids with up to 5 of the famous blue butterflies on them. The waterfalls were impressive. There are a lot of stairs throughout the place but it is landscaped so beautifully all along the way.
My husband treated me to a massage in our room while he relaxed on our balcony. The woman [ Delia ?] was great. She came to our room quickly and made sure that I was comfortable.
It is such a unique property with so much to do that it's definitely worth the trip if you can fit it into your travel budget. While you're there make sure to see the Poas Volcano.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
238 reviews
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
843 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
16.5 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing