We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect last night of 15 wonderful nights in Costa Rica (o.k. 14 perfect nights)”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect last night of 15 wonderful nights in Costa Rica (o.k. 14 perfect nights)”
Reviewed January 10, 2008

An ABSOLUTE MUST!! We stayed two nights and it was expensive; but worth EVERY dollar. I was glad it was our last couple of nights because there is the opportunity to see SO MUCH of the elusive rain forest animals we had been glimpsing during our 15 night stay in Costa Rica. Toucans close up, red eyed tree frog jumping on your head, butterflies landing on your hand, feeding humming birds with vibrant colors and "some" enjoyed snakes slithering on their shoulders. (Not for me!)

In addition the rooms are MIND BLOWING examples of luxury meets rain forest! Waterfall showers, fresh water jacuzzi tubs on your own private deck with hummingbirds visiting all day and night! Walking trails by 5 fast flowing waterfalls. The food was great, the service was great it was truly PERFECT. We had to get up at 4:00 in the morning to make our early morning flight out of San Jose International; which was a little more than an hour away but it was SO worth it to have our last night be here.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 4FunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    118
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
426
577
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Ok first off i have to say, this place does not get one complaint in my book. I work at a 5 star 5 diamond resort in florida and peace lodge exceeded even my resort. You must stay here if you really want to experience costa rica. Let me start off by saying my family are very picky travelers and always stay at 5 star properties anywhere we go.

Peace Lodge provides beyond beautiful rooms, great service, and a great breakfast and dinner every night!! We never went to lunch but i heard it was also great. The staff is very friendly and attentive. there is free internet in reception which goes in and out (which is fine, no big deal). There are free 15 minute massages all day in reception as well. Each villa i will not go into detail with because otherwise this review would last forever, lets just use the word AMAZING!!!

The grounds are also amazing which the hotel owns. They are call the La Paz waterfall gardens it takes about 3 hours to go through the entire walk. They have all types of exhibits from snakes houses to hummingbirds right at your doorstep. Another activity at the hotel are the pools, which are abundant. They have a jacuzzi, warm waterfall pool, and cold pool at the hotel and down by the gardens they have two or three more (which are actually trout ponds). and yes u can swim in them. I dont know if you would want to haha.

we also stayed in another hotel in arenal which we loved too but not as nice as peace lodge. In Heredia we did white water rafting, biking, and the doka coffee plantation tour. Which were all great! Please please please feel free to email me with any questions!!!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheMiamiUrbEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

My wife and I traveled to Costa Rica for a wedding at the Peace Lodge Water Fallgarden. We were staying at a diffrent hotel because Peace Lodge was full for that weekend. But luck struck and somebody canceled and we got a room for the weekend. The Peace Lodge is awsome! the staff is great the view of the moutains forest are incredible plus waterfalls. The rooms were amazing, great view,fire place,balcony with hammock with a jacuzzi, bathroom was like a forest with waterfall shower, jacuzzi, and a built like cave shower with sound of your favorite music in the whole room. I say nomore just go to PeaceLodge.com.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank jgf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Wow! This place is sublime.

We were part of a group of 16 treated to a Costa Rican vacation to celebrate Grandma and Grandpa's 50th. 7 kids total-ages 4-12. We all loved Peace Lodge. Everyone wanted to stay longer. For most, it was the first nite in CR. An easy hour drive from San Jose airport. All employees were nice, knowledgeable and pleasant.

My family of 5 had 2 connecting standard rooms. Standard? Probably the nicest hotel rooms we have ever been in. Others in our group had the nicer rooms and the monarch villa. All are fantastic. Bathrooms are HUGE and have jacuzzis and great showers. Beautiful bed, chaise, couch, fireplace. Fantastic views from every room and everywhere on the grounds.

All rooms have private balconies. We loved the hammock and large jacuzzi. Spent lots of time out there and never had problems with bugs (think because of the altitude). Breakfast is included. For $1/person, they will deliver quite a breakfast spread to the rooms. We did this and ate on the balcony. It was really splendid. I sat out there reading and watching the nearly omnipresent hummingbirds.

We had a fantastic dinner in the main restaurant. Also a nice lunch at the pool restaurant. The kids fished successfully (and had them for lunch). We never even had time to swim in the pools, but enjoyed the rocking chairs and chaises nearby.

We only spent one nite and did not have a chance to experience all there was at La Paz. It was wonderful to do the waterfall walk prior to daytrippers arriving.

Find a way to stay here-we are going to try to find a way to return!

  • Liked — fabulous rooms, balconies. views-visiting waterfall grounds before daytrippers
  • Disliked — nothing-it's perfect
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed at the Peace Lodge for the second night of our Honeymoon, and we wished that we had booked it for at least another day, because there was so much to do!!

We got to walk along the slippery paths of the incredible waterfall gardens, view stunning butterflies in the butterfly observatory, and feed tiny hummingbirds in the hummingbird garden. The hotel also has a very large aviary in which they rehabilitate captured or mistreated tropical birds. When walking through the aviary, very kind and knowledeable staff members happily told us about the different species, and one even let us help him hand-feed the toucans. In addition, the hotel grounds boast two pools, a phenomenal restaurant (with free buffet breakfast for guests), a lunch buffet restaurant, and a replica of a traditional century-old Costa Rican house, complete with a cow whose milk is used to make cheese for the guests to sample. To top it off, honeymooners are given special wooden bracelets upon checking in (in addition to the standard wooden bracelets that all guests receive), and those on staff recognize them and congratulate honeymooners as they walk around the grounds. It made us feel extra special!!

As for accomodations, we stayed in a standard room, which was so fantastic that it could be considered a honeymoon suite in any other hotel. We had a huge wooden king-size bed, complete with a hand-carved step so that we could climb into it. The bath room had mosaic sinks, an oversized stone bathtub, and a separate stone room with a waterfall shower. The fireplace was controlled by a switch so that we could have a romantic fire any time we wanted. If the sattlelite tv wasn't satisfying enough, the front desk has a collection of over 100 DVD of recent movies that guests can borrow for free.

My favorite part of the room was probably the very secluded balcony. Each room has a private balcony with a view of the near-by Poas Volcano (which is incredible and definitely worth a visit), a private stone jacuzzi, and a small hummingbird feeder, so that there is always at least one hummingbird fluttering around at any given time. It was so luxurious!!!

The Peace Lodge is rather secluded and nestled into the countryside of the Costa Rican Central Valley, but it is within an hour of the international airport in San Jose. If you are going to Costa Rica, this is a must-see hotel!!!!

  • Liked — Location and Activities
  • Disliked — Dinner was a little expensive
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank travelbug_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

There are so many amazing things about this place, I don't know where to begin. I read so many positive reviews about the Peace Lodge and I was still blown away by its uniqueness. When you arrive, you can sit down for a free 10 minute massage..this free massage is available to you for your entire stay, and it is a GREAT massage, especially after you come back from strenuous activities. Also, at reception, is free of charge internet access. When we got to our room, we were amazed. Hummingbirds were all over the place on the balcony, eating from the feeder that is hung outside. On the balcony is a hammock, 2 rocking chairs, a table and a hot tub. The bathroom is HUGE, with 2 showers ( one of them a waterfall, shower combo ). There is a jacuzzi tub with a beautiful lighted waterfall coming down behind it. There is a small machine to put provided scented oils in, that fills the bathroom with cinniman, vanilla or other aromas. The room is equipped with a cd player and 4 or 5 cd's that fill the room and the bathroom with music. There is a dvd player in the room and hundreds of movies are available within minutes, free of charge, delivered to your room. I have read some reviews that say the food is not good here. I entirely disagree. I eat out at many quality restaurants in New York City, and the Peace Lodge hods it own. We ate at the Trout Bar, the main restaurant and room service. Everything was great. The restaurant has a giant backgammon set and chess set, near the bar that kept the kids and adults entertained. Setting the lights, lighting the fireplace, putting in a cd and ordering room service was like being in any fine dining establishment, and you are eating at a table at the foot of your canopy bed. Sitting outside at the trout bar, in the jacuzzi or on a chair in the pond was one of the most relaxing spots I have ever sat. You can swim in the trout pond or fish for a trout, with provided rods.The aviary, monkeys, hummingbirds, cats, frogs, snakes, butterflies, trails and more could keep you busy for days. I got amazing excercise walking the trails to the falls. Finally, the staff are the friendliest people I have ever met, as I am finding in most Costa Rican people I meet. The Peace Lodge should not be missed by anyone who travels

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fef5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We spent one night at the Peace Lodge during a trip to Costa Rica in mid-December. We should have planned to stay longer. Our room was large and very comfortable, the staff was courteous and helpful, and the grounds are amazing.

One of the benefits of staying at the Peace Lodge is the ability to walk the grounds of the La Paz Waterfall Gardens after the park is officially closed - or before it opens in the morning. The grounds are beautiful and full of birds and butterflies, and the waterfall trail is spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank guest023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
237 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
22.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
3.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing