We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a few days”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2007

The Peace Lodge is a great way to end a Costa Rica vacation. Loved the orchids, butterfly room, and waterfalls. Food was excellent and the staff was ver nice. Becuase of the location weather is not always the greatest. But despite the contant rain and clouds, it was still an awesome time! I got GREAT pictures.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank md3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2007

This is by far the most amazing place i have ever stayed. Not just the amenities, but the service, the food, the decor..ALL of it! I recently stayed here on my honeymoon and i am so glad i started my trip here and ended it here as well. Checking in was a breeze. We checked in late and they had sandwiches and fruit plates waiting for us.
Every view is amazing. The breakfast is always hot and fresh. I must say-those croissants are some of the best i have ever had! All of the staff are extremely knowledgeable and know everything about the area, hummingbirds, you name it!
The deluxe suite has a fireplace and 2 jacuzzis. Our favourite thing was the waterfall shower:)
I do suggest eating at the onsite restaurant as well. It is a set menu(if you choose) and is a decent price for some tasty food!
If you are in the area or not-make your way to the Peace Lodge. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank raisinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

My husband and I decided to stay here on our last night of our trip to Costa Rica and we were glad we did- it was a great way to end the trip. When we checked in a friendly employee gave us bracelets so we could explore the La Paz Waterfall Gardens. He explained that because we were staying at the hotel that we could see the jungle cats that afternoon. He took the time to tell us about the hotel and that we could get a free 10 minute massage until 8 that night. After walking to the waterfalls we went back to the reception to find out what room we were in and a courteous employee showed us to our standard room. Let me tell you the standard room is INCREDIBLE! The employee showed us how to use everything in the room which was helpful. We had: a fireplace, a shower that had two settings- regular rainfall or waterfall mode, a bath tub, an outdoor jacuzzi tub, essential oils you can mix to make a new scent in the bathroom, a humming bird feeder (it was fun to watch the hummingbirds in the morning), a dvd player and a card that listed a lot of movies which could be rented for free, a cd player with a few cds to choose from, a book light, stools to get onto the huge canopy bed with mosquito netting, and more. Our room in the off season with tax was $226. Since we were going to go to the waterfall gardens ($29 per person) which were included in our standard room rate, I look at it like the hotel really only cost us $168 ($226-$58). The breakfast in the morning was included too which was nice to have before we headed back home. If you are planning on staying here, book ahead of time as it can fill up fast and look at their website to see the strict cancellation policy.

Stayed: September 2007
6  Thank jessica51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I usually just read and get info on tripadvisor, but when I read some reviews of the Peace Lodge that were bad, I felt moved to share my awesome experience. We stayed at the Peace Lodge the frist night of our honeymoon and it was excellent! Due to a late flight to Costa Rica, we did not get to the lodge until after 1 a.m. We had called ahead and there were many friendly staff ready to greet us when we got there. Someone showed us to our room and showed us how everything worked. The rooms are AMAZING. From the waterfall shower to the hot tub outside among the huge trees, it was all perfect. The bed was large and comfy and the whole room made me feel like I was in a tree house, albeit a super fancy one. The next day we got up and toured the grounds( free since we had stayed there) and again were impressed with what we saw. We got to feed hummingbirds from our mouths, play with colorful frogs and experience many beautiful wateralls. I cannot reccomend staying here enough. It was absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gracie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

My wife and I spent 4 days at Peace Lodge from Sep 8 to the 12th. We were picked up at the airport by one of the Peace Lodge drivers. The ride took about 1 hour and gave us our first experience with the crazy (but necessary) driving on the Costa Rican roadways. There are so many hills and curves that if you don't drive aggressively it would take you forever to get anywhere. The ride was very scenic and literally took us from one climate to the next. Our driver (Erick) was very friendly and even offered to stop for us to eat and sight see before we arrived. All our drivers were like this. Our arrival at Peace Lodge was done very graciously and was processed within a few minutes. The rooms are amazing to say the least. The pictures posted online do not do the Lodge or the grounds justice. We stayed in a deluxe room which was easily 800 sq. feet. Attention to detail was obviously the intent in designing these rooms. Everything from mood lighting with dimmers to the rainforest bathroom was designed to make your stay comfortable and easy. The highlights are the outdoor tub which is absolutely wonderful ( and secluded) in the morning when the sun comes up and pretty much anytime of the day. The waterfall inside the bathroom is an amazing touch that added to the overall feel of the room. There are two showers but the waterfall shower is something that I wish I had at home. Spacious and relaxing.

The LaPaz Waterfall gardens are also first rate. Not one of the attractions is disappointing in anyway. Watch out for the Blue Macaw in the Aviary as he has an affinity for the ladies!! The Big Trout Bar has some very good food and the bartender (Hey Rolando) is excellent and will take care of you like a good bartender should.

We took one excursion and did the horseback ride with the zipline canopy tour. Again this was done first rate as our driver Javier was an excellent escort to the Sarapiqui valley and back.
Roberto was our guide on the tour and was very entertaining, informative, and reassuring for my wife on the ziplines. Fantastic experience.

You will walk and probably lose weight at the Peace Lodge but that makes the eating all the more fun. The food was very good and catered to both the local fare as well as providing for the foreign palate. There are steps everywhere and it is a walk to get anywhere but remember you are situated on the side of a
volcano.

There were a few draw backs but nothing that would take away from the 5 stars this place deserves. Our fireplace did not work three of the 4 night we were there but there were so many other touches that were part of the ambience that it really did not matter. I realize that some people may have had some poor experiences here but if you look at the reviews they were just isolated incidents that could happen at anyplace and at anytime.

I could go on and on but you just need to trust the good reviews as this place really does live up to the hype.

Stayed: September 2007
8  Thank neurotomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights at the Peace Lodge and it was wonderful. Our room was great and had a beautiful view. The property is great with the butterfly gardens, hummingbirds, aviary, serpentarium, frogs and cats.
We arrived late after the restaurant had closed but they brought us sandwiches and fruit which was great because we were starving.
The food was ok, but I'm picky, my hubby thought it was great. Breakfast is included and they will cook pretty much anything you want you just have to ask.
The staff was great. We went into the butterfly area and a gentleman came up to us and walked us around pointing out the different butterflies and eggs. We initially missed seeing the cats as you have to have an employee go with you and they only do it at certain times. However we mentioned it to one of the guys in the snake area and he offered to take us back to see them which was nice of him.
We did the Poas volcano and coffee plantation tour. We had a great guide who was very informative. But they take you up to a lake by the volcano which was a heck of a hike but it was well worth it. If you like coffee buy some here as they don't sell that kind anywhere else throughout the country and it is awesome.
They have 2 computers with free internet access which was nice to email the family and let them know how it was going.
We loved the fireplace. Yes it doesn't give off a ton of heat but it is nice to turn off the lights and have the fire going. The shower was a waterfall which was neat and the knobs had frogs on them.
Overall we loved it here and would recommend this to anyone. However be aware that to get to the front desk, the restaurant, the gift shop, the butterflies etc. all up or down several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Tenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We thought we "saved the best for last" and went out of our way to spend our last night at this most beautiful hotel before flying home the next morning. Big Mistake. Only the grounds are worthwhile, which you can see on a daytrip (1-2 hours outside San Jose by car). The staff were surly with the exception of one registrar. The bellman was annoyed that we removed our muddy boots when entering our room and when we requested he do likewise. We toured the grounds the day we arrived as we had drive to San Jose the next morning to make our flight. After about 3-4 hours enjoying the scenery and few exhibits our room was ready and we thought we were going to have a most romantic stay as the room is conducive to say the least. However, when the entire hotel staff make it known to you that you are intruding on their time it's a bit tough not to have an attitude (their rates aren't HoJo's if you know what I mean). The room had many features but no one to explain how to use them. Most of the CD's provided were warped. We never found the remote for the TV. The switch for the fireplace was self evident and we did enjoy the fire. We ordered room service and they did us a favor and delivered it in about 3 hours. We ordered baconwrapped filet mignons. It tasted good but evidently it wasn't. A few hours later both of us were heaving and had the runs throughout the night. So much for romance. We ordered breakfast the nite before as we had to drive to the airport early the next morning and even that was a joke. They didn't have bread nor did they offer anything as a substitute. I begged for a roll or something resembling plain starch and we lucked out they
included it on the breakfast tray. We each ate a piece of the omelette which was fine but needless to say we were pretty wiped out intestinally to bother with anything but the roll sans butter. We were in 3 different regions over 14 days and ate in modest and fine restaurants. We never got sick until we arrived at the Peace Lodge. Every Costa Rican we came into contact with was pleasant and tried to communicate and assist us and even enjoyed practicing their English and understanding my broken high school Spanish until we arrived at the Peace Lodge. Again, the property and rooms are sensational but don't be misled, there is NO hospitality at this property and the food preparation is suspect to say the least. Save your money, spare your health and if you must just make it a day trip to view the grounds. I think they charge $15 to tour it.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rickandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
246 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
694 reviews
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
15.8 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 7 in Heredia
62 reviews
15.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range: $279 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing