We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
SJO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“never ever”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I booked this hotel because there were good reviews. Oh, was that a mistake. No hot water for 4 days, we could hear every word spoken by other guests in ajoining rooms, and breakfast was badly cooked and often 40 minutes after the 7am breakfast time. The breakfast coffee was some of the worst I have ever tried to drink in Costa Rica, and one morning they served a sandwich with fake ham, plastic processed cheese and salad instead of something worth eating - clearly they have never considered being vegetarian. Some staff were very kind and attentive, others were grumpy and rude. I wish I had stayed at the City Express across the road - you will be paying a few bucks more but it will be sooooo worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
4
20
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is nothing special - rooms are okay (although ours was very dark with one small window into the hall, many others had nice windows). There was only hot water at night - morning showers, even at 7 am, were stone cold. Breakfasts were good and the staff very pleasant and helpful, but the owner and her daughter (?) seemed to have no interest in helping us and even complained about us in Spanish while we were in earshot when we asked if we could switch to a room with a window (I guess they assumed we couldn't understand?). The airport shuttle is overpriced (and again seemed to be an inconvenience to the owners). I am all for independent hotels and as a general rule avoid chains, but this time I wish I'd stayed somewhere else - for a comparable price there were many other options in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank botanybabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heredia hotels

Cusco, Peru
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel while attending a conference down the road. The hotel was full and the hotel hot water system could not accomadate that many people. There was no hot water in the morning for 5 straight days. The rooms are also very noisy and since you are next to the main highway you can hear cars and trucks pass all night. The family also has a small dog that barks during the day but is put away at night. A group of conference attendees was robbed at gunpoint at the supermarket down the street. Breakfast was good and the staff was helpful in organizing taxis, etc. Unless you need a cheap place close to the airport I would highly recommend not staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Puerto Del Sol was a good fit for our needs. We came in to the main airport at night and were picked up and transported to the hotel by the by the owner. The price was $15 which was probably similiar to or less than a taxi. We left the next morning to take a flight on Nature Air which flys out of the Tobias Bolanos airport which is about a 15 minute drive. The breakfast was typical Costa Rican and very good. The room was clean with air conditioning if needed, and had nice pillows that were welcome. The hotel is located behind the Country Inn and a couple of blocks down from the Double Tree. I checked the prices at these hotels and they were much more expensive. We repeated the process on the way home and it worked out great for us.

I recommend the Puerto Del Sol as a nice place to stay when you need one night between airports.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

As another review post mentions, this place definitely seemed better days and the price would fit if it was half. I booked this hotel on Hotwire as a mystery airport hotel for one night before leaving to go to our real destination. However, after realizing that I would have to pay for a shuttle service ($13 one way, but we were charged $15 because our flight was delayed) , I kind of regretted it because I could've just booked at a traditional airport hotel such as a Holiday Express that offers free shuttle service every 20 min for a similar price. However, the service was pretty good at least as well as the breakfast in the morning (Juice, sweet biscuits, eggs, mixed fruits, coffee). Host was very accommodating and very friendly!

The room itself was clean but outdated. Floors were evidently swept and sheets were crisp. It has a motel-esque feel to it because everything is old, but at least it's clean! However, I wasn't too excited to find little black ants all along the shower and the sink. Other than that, everything was functional. It has all the basic necessities you would need. I would recommend this hotel for a one night crash if your flight is getting in late.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EternityMoment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very Good location! (between the two airports) for me it was perfect because i arrived at the international airport and i left sanjose from the other airport.

They also provide a Transfer to airport for a fair price.
The BB is cheap and clean. the people are realy kind.

I was surprised about the good breakfest!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel rooms are basically clean and big, but all the structure is quite run-down and the furniture in the rooms is just ok. The landlords are nice, polite and helpful. Swimming pool is not really attractive. Breakfast is standard breakfast for Costa Rica, some fruit, a coffe, a juice and some dish like rice or eggs. The place could be good if the price was half

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giospud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
0.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#28 of 77 in San Jose
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartotel  La Perla
Apartotel La Perla
#50 of 77 in San Jose
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta del Sol Hotel

Property: Puerta del Sol Hotel
Address: Ciudad Cariari | Los Arcos, Rotonda No.1, No.17, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerta del Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerta del Sol is located in the prestigious hotel zone in Ciudad Cariari. Just 5 kilometers from Juan Santamaria International Airport and 7 kilometers from the city of San Jose. In our hotel you will have the opportunity to delight in a charming atmosphere. We have 22 comfortable rooms available ranging from doubles, triples and quadruples. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom with hot water, safe, mini refrigerator, cable TV, free wireless internet access and telephone with international calls. In addition, our hotel has a swimming pool for your enjoyment, access to tourist information and free private parking. * Fees are nonrefundable deals ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Puerta del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Sol Hotel
Puerta Del Sol Hotel Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing